Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars310
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on 29 January 2009
This is such an informative book, full of tips and recommendations, I would recommend this to any allottment holder, particularly someone just starting out, you can't possible go wrong!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2008
This is a brilliant and very cheap little book. It doesn't take much reading and has all the area you could require for a simple garden. The A-Z of vegetables is clear; just what is needed to go with the month by month guide. It is also helpful to deal with any problems one might come across. All together a well rounded book! Some of the diagrams would perhaps benefit from some colour though. Carla x
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
This is a great little book, but not to a lot of peoples tastes as there'e no colour pictures in it. It covers all the basics and that's all it needs to do.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
Due to the financial and ecological climate, these days, we decided to try and grown our own veggies and some fruit. I have already created a small herb garden, so far so good.
This book is great, especially for beginners. Its very clear and easy to follow ... in fact it's great. Full of very useful information and learnt things that I would not have even thought about. Great book .... Im sure it'll get worn out from plenty of use :-)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2015
This is a good little book written in a simple, accessible style. It explains in plain English how to tackle most vegetable growing jobs in the allotment or garden.

One of the things I like about this book its explanatory style. Where some authors might say 'harvest your parsnips no later than January' and leave it that, this book explains that in mild winters, parsnips still in the ground can start to regrow, and it is best to lift them before that happens. John Harrison offers reasons for the advice he offers; explanations rather than instructions throughout the book.

Though it is pitched as a 'month by month' work, the vegetable year is just one (longish) chapter: 46 out of the 256 pages. The rest of the book is taken up with advice on why to grow vegetables, how to get the best out of the land, the tools to use and brief guides to the most commonly grown vegetables. A lot of the content is illustrated with small line drawings, in black and white. So, there is more here than the cover implies.

This is a paperback book and the paper itself is quite light: not a book therefore for taking to the allotment but for reading indoors prior to going. The good thing is that the style is so clear that a few minutes reading up on your chosen vegetable will suffice. It's one of those books where you end up feeling that the author really is trying to help, rather than show off how much he knows.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
A book with personality. I personally enjoyed it and it is great to take everywhere with you. The month by month concept works well and I refer to it on a regular basis. Worth buying especially if you are a beginner.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
I like this book. The author clearly writes from experience and is not at all afraid to say what he thinks even if it means sounding a bit old fashioned. For example he has tried the much touted "three sisters" practice of growing squash, beans and sweetcorn together and found it not suited to the typical British summer. He doesn't simply repeat what he has read in other books, but instead records his own findings.
With this book you don't get glossy pictures at the expense of substance and good sense. What you get instead is a pretty good section on "how to" followed by the "when" in the month by month. I actually particularly liked the month by month section and found it very readable.
I am not a complete beginner at growing vegetables and have given this four stars rather than five as I am not sure it is all that a beginner would need, but I think it would be a good start at a sensible price and not money wasted on colourful pictures and trendy ideas. Money well spent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2008
This is an excellent purchase, what would you get for under a fiver nowadays? As a novice gardener I found the chapters on planning the gardening year and getting the most from your land absolutely vital.This guide covers the basics in a very comprehensive manner indeed and although a little lacking in the visual side of things the quality of information contained more than compensates.The brief guide to vegetables is excellent and I can safely say this guide will continue to be used as a reference even after my garden is well established.Worth every penny.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
A gift for my boyfriend who has just started growing veg in the back garden. He loved the no-nonsense, down-to-earth approach of the book. A good handy reference book that is kept in the shed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
This was an excellent publication and an extremely useful present for a will be 'grow your own' person
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)