Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


269 of 271 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read - guaranteed to impress
As the title suggests - down to earth guide. You can really relate to the author and the information goes further than the usual veg books, rather than the usual colour photos of tools, veg etc, its crammed with tips and advice that are usually passed down from generations. There are diagrams and sketches when needed - simple clear and easy to follow. Another thing I...
Published on 9 April 2008 by Paula Cooke

versus
61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very misleading Title
I'm afraid I was very disappointed by this book. I purchased it on the title and reviews expecting what it said on the box. A book that took me, a newbie to all this, through the season month by month.

Well yes there is a small section with perfunctory descriptions of tasks for that month. This is little more than one chapter of the entire book however and not...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by Baron Bratby Immortaleye photo...


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. K. J. Cayless "karen" (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
not as helpfull as i thought it would be, it doesn't give you much idea at what time of year to plant your seeds, you have to go to his website to get more information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only 45 pages of 'Month by Month', 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I managed to get round to reading this over Christmas, and it was a massive disappointment. Out of the 12 or so chapters, there is actualy only one Chapter which goes over what to plant or do on a month by month basis. The rest is an overview of equipment, techniques, etc. I would suggest you save your mony and buy a Joy Larkin instead. Much better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D.Lane, 22 April 2009
By 
D. Lane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
Absolutly LOVE this book. A must have. great if your in the midlands growing stuff, well packaged. very impressed by how quick it arrived, 10/10. xx thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT what it says on the cover!, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Whitefern (Ashdown Forest, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
Very very weak content. Out of almost 300 pages only a couple of pages are devoted to each month ! The rest is fluff and filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as Hyped, 25 April 2010
By 
Pjoleary (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
After reading all the positive remarks regarding this book I could not wait to get my hands on one.
Apart from the front cover this book is dross,very poor quality and layout.There are many better books than this
1950's type effort.Dont waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great source of info., 25 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I ordered this book to help me get more organized about my veg plot and it is starting to do it's magic. It arrived in a timely manner and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep buy it, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I bought this one because I liked
Low Cost Living so much, also because
I am growing my own this year, or as much as I can.
good tips, get a copy and keep close by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vegetable Growing, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I purchased this book after reading other reviews and I have not been disappointed. I would recommend this book to other gardeners of all abilities. Go on, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars vegetable growing month by month, 5 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
returned the book as I found it not very visually stimulating. No colour pictures for example. Wanted it for a present so didn't think it would be suitable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for beginers maybe, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. C. A. Craig "CC_R" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
This book looks OK but actually the first chapter or so describes the tools you need etc, not quite what I had expected. Rather less on the vegetables themselves and advice on crop rotation etc. Maybe good for an absolute novice but space wasted on very very basic info which was not so useful for a more experience gardeners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1b8830c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews