Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


272 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read - guaranteed to impress
As the title suggests - down to earth guide. You can really relate to the author and the information goes further than the usual veg books, rather than the usual colour photos of tools, veg etc, its crammed with tips and advice that are usually passed down from generations. There are diagrams and sketches when needed - simple clear and easy to follow. Another thing I...
Published on 9 April 2008 by Paula Cooke

versus
61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very misleading Title
I'm afraid I was very disappointed by this book. I purchased it on the title and reviews expecting what it said on the box. A book that took me, a newbie to all this, through the season month by month.

Well yes there is a small section with perfunctory descriptions of tasks for that month. This is little more than one chapter of the entire book however and not...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by Baron Bratby Immortaleye photo...


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

272 of 274 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read - guaranteed to impress, 9 April 2008
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
As the title suggests - down to earth guide. You can really relate to the author and the information goes further than the usual veg books, rather than the usual colour photos of tools, veg etc, its crammed with tips and advice that are usually passed down from generations. There are diagrams and sketches when needed - simple clear and easy to follow. Another thing I liked was the author covers all methods and doesnt 'preach' a certain method, just gives the facts so you can choose yourself. VERY highly recomended and very thorough. Easy to read and a book I will keep close at hand - fits in the handbag. Such good value for money, every page has been used to its full. Well done John Harrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it with free seeds!, 11 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. M. D. Bullard "hungovermatt" (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I can second all other positive comments on here but let you all know that if you get it from www . allotment . org . uk / book / index . php it will cost you £6.99 including postage but, and here's the good bit, you get £10 worth of seeds with it for free!!! (apologies for putting spaces between all the dots and slashes but I have a feeling Amazon don't let you submit reviews containing web links)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 24 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
This is a really useful guide in straightforward user-friendly language. I am new to vegetable growing and find the guidance in this book invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


164 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grass Root Gardening!, 29 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. R. Cannon "'Down the Lane'" (Ashford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
You can spend three times as much as this book costs and get lots of glossy photo's and an impressive looking bookcase., but that's all. I doubt if this Book will spend much time on the bookcase anyway.

The joy of this Book is that it gets down to basics, is well set out and unlike some books, you can get to where you want to easily.

Mr. Harrison obviously runs a very efficient vegetable garden. I would imagine he is very well and healthily fed through his practical knowledge!

Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 28 May 2008
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
Have to say the book is written in a way that it is an easy, engaging read, which puts across an interest and detail in the subject that is rather infectious. It gives explanations & descriptions in plain English, as if the author is standing next to you holding a conversation with you rather than talking at you. It doesn't have lots of glossy pictures of marvellous gardens and plants, but it has something far more important: necessary information put across in a way that as a beginner, I felt I wasn't being talked down to in a way some celebrity gardeners do tend to do IMO. The information given is incredibly useful and practical. It's going to be one of those books I pop in and out of when needed, and will be come well-thumbed and well-used. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and sensible size, 29 Mar 2008
By 
Am Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I thought this was very good value - puts some rivals to shame. It's the right size for you pocket or shed too. Sensible advice without being bossy.
I would recommend this to beginners and more experienced gardeners alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 1 Aug 2008
By 
D. Caston "eagerbeaver" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
Written by a real gardener, it's thorough, concise, inexpensive, well-laid out and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane, 21 Nov 2008
By 
Jane (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I bought this book and was really happy that I had. It isn't full of glossy photos but it has lots of information and really tells you what you need to know to get growing. I would recommend this to anyone who wants no nonsense information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 29 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
This is such an informative book, full of tips and recommendations, I would recommend this to any allottment holder, particularly someone just starting out, you can't possible go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 19 Jan 2009
By 
D. Burns (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable Growing Month-by-Month: The down-to-earth guide that takes you through the vegetable year (Paperback)
I am very new to all veg growing, so when I read the reviews on this book I sent away for it. It is great, easy to read and understand, I just cant wait now to get started on my growing.
So if you want an easy to read/understand book with lots of tips and help, go for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews