Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self employment
Being self employed requires certain skills and to be successful often needs a great deal of help. This book gives practical guidance and useful tips which should help anyone grow their business. It should be a part of any business persons survival kit. The easy to read style complete with relevant quotes makes this book an improvement on the other books on the subject...
Published on 1 Sep 2008 by A. R. Durtnall

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Going Self-employed
Good starting point for some one who wants to start their own business, but it was not what I was looking for I needed more a step by step procedure on how to become self-employed. So it looks as if I wil have to continue to seek help from my local job centre, on the procedure for becoming self-employed. But it had some interesting points about small businesses and...
Published on 15 Sep 2009 by renaissance man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self employment, 1 Sep 2008
By 
A. R. Durtnall "Accountant" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
Being self employed requires certain skills and to be successful often needs a great deal of help. This book gives practical guidance and useful tips which should help anyone grow their business. It should be a part of any business persons survival kit. The easy to read style complete with relevant quotes makes this book an improvement on the other books on the subject of self employment.

Anyone considering or who has just started self employment will benefit from reading Steve's book.

Alan Durtnall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Self Employed, 15 Aug 2008
By 
P. W. Bishop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
I've been involved with helping business start up's for nearly twenty years; and started a few myself. There are plenty of books out there that aim to support these fledgeling businesses but non so well as this one. Its frank and positive approach is refreshing and a must for anyone thinking of or just starting out in business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get off to a flying start., 14 Aug 2008
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
If you are considering going into any kind of business for yourself, this book is a must read. It is full of `on the money' practical advice and has been written with a human touch, informative and humorous in delivery. The author clearly knows his subject matter and has packed the modest 156 pages cover to cover with tips explanations and genuinely helpful suggestions that will get you up and running with all the major questions answered. The fact that this book is small is a real bonus as it can sit in your laptop bag or briefcase as a quick reference guide unlike some weighty tomes which look impressive yet gather dust on a shelf. This little gem can be easily carried into battle where you are likely to need it most (I take my now dog eared copy with me everywhere!). This book is like having a knowledgeable friend to turn to for sharp succinct advice. If you are looking for in depth examination of business strategy, move along, this is not the book for you. If however you want to stop procrastinating and start that business of yours you can read this book in a day and know everything you need to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 6 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. J. L. Wood "Spaceflight and History Enth... (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
I am so glad that I bought this book. My daughter and I are in the planning stage for our own business and this book has been a real gem. It's actually fun to read with a style that is simple, clear, well-written and straightforward without treating the reader like an idiot. This was my holiday reading and I was on the beach one day when a couple of students came over to me to say that they had been given it to read at school. It's given me ideas I'd never considered and made me rethink others. I still have a bit to read but am already convinced that what I've learned so far will be so valuable, it could be the difference between our business just ticking over or really going places. I don't think anyone can afford NOT to read it. Sadly, Steve Gibson died not long ago but this book is one heck of a legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Going Self-employed, 15 Sep 2009
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
Good starting point for some one who wants to start their own business, but it was not what I was looking for I needed more a step by step procedure on how to become self-employed. So it looks as if I wil have to continue to seek help from my local job centre, on the procedure for becoming self-employed. But it had some interesting points about small businesses and things you need to know, about the day to day running of a business especially if you are the only person involved in the output of the business and just have lots of customers or lots of work in your chosen self-employed field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And Not Before Time!, 18 Aug 2008
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
There are countless books about starting a business, and which do not get near the realities of Self-employment. All too often they provide a hotch-potch of academic topics which are frequently inappropriate, or even irrelevant, to the great majority of individual start-ups. This was always true but now especially so as more people adopt "portfolio" lives and start "life-style" businesses. Steve Gibson is a practitioner in the world as it really is - and it shows.Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! The language is welcoming; the advice is practical; the topics are relevant - and above all, the book is friendly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and informative, 8 May 2008
By 
K. A. Wills "avid reader" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
Packed full of information and advice whilst being an entertaining and humourous read. All the essential facts and a bit of fun too. This book is a must have for anybody in the process of or thinking about setting up their own business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars being funny about self employment, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
This book was great! loved the Humour the author had put into the book to keep us from falling asleep!
i bought the book after starting my business and realised how much i hadn't done!

this book is a great survival kit for anyone wanting to start up in business.
I've passed the book on to a friend who wants to start her own business too!

loved reading and am looking for more like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Going Self-Employed, 10 Sep 2011
By 
A. S. Freeman (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
This book is a basic practical way of starting your own business, it doesn't go into great detail but the book doesn't state to be that. The "case study" examples are really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit basic, 12 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed! (Paperback)
This book was ok, easy to read but a bit basic for my liking. However having worked as an accountant, I probably have more basic knowledge than most on the subject covered.

I would recommend this book to anyone wishing to go self-employe, but haven't got business/accounts experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Self-employed: How to Start Out in Business on Your Own - and succeed!
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews