Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth every penny
Having spent many evenings looking at women that I would love to approach and in the end (through lack of confidence)often going for Women that I dont realy like, but thought would say yes (despicable I know), this book is a real godsend. The favourite chapter for me is "The hardest step" which outlines the psychology for approaching Women in clubs, bars etc. At...
Published on 9 Feb 2001 by mt203@fsmail.net

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promised So Much
I had such high hopes for this book. I'd read "How to Suceed With Women" by Ron Louis and hoped this would be the the UK equivalent of that useful and entertaining book. Not so. Whereas Louis's book gradually steps you up to approaching women for dates this book spends most of it's time telling you how to deal with a hostile attitude from women. In fact you get...
Published on 18 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promised So Much, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
I had such high hopes for this book. I'd read "How to Suceed With Women" by Ron Louis and hoped this would be the the UK equivalent of that useful and entertaining book. Not so. Whereas Louis's book gradually steps you up to approaching women for dates this book spends most of it's time telling you how to deal with a hostile attitude from women. In fact you get the impression that pretty much all the women you meet will be hostile and require witty comeback lines, be it the woman you are after or one of her friends. I think there are some good points in here, as the authors concentrate more on the bar/pub scene than Louis's book and of course their experience in with UK women. However the presentation is so poorly laid out that you have to work hard to sort the wheat from the chaff (mostly diatribe on how agressive the women are going to be). Interestingly these authors seem to think that making friends with women is the way to go, whereas Louis reckons that women put you in Friend or Lover category very soon after meeting you. In summary, I would buy this book for the UK take on the dating scene, but I'd also buy Louis's too to fill in the gaps that Withe & Co miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth every penny, 9 Feb 2001
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
Having spent many evenings looking at women that I would love to approach and in the end (through lack of confidence)often going for Women that I dont realy like, but thought would say yes (despicable I know), this book is a real godsend. The favourite chapter for me is "The hardest step" which outlines the psychology for approaching Women in clubs, bars etc. At the end of the day its a numbers game and they teach you how to approach Women in a confident way, what you are likely to encounter (both negative and positive) and how to deal with it. There is excellent advice on dealing with rejection, how to approach women in groups,and how to tell if a women may or may not be interested. At the end of the day, this books sounds like a cheap "pick up guide to Women" and although it can be used like that, it is meant to show men how to select women they realy want. They are doing a favour to both men and women by helping men to be more honest,and have the confidence to go for what they want. There are so many relationships that are based on men (and women) giving up on looking for their ideal partners and going for second best. The result is thousands of unhappy marriages. This book helps men get more choice and experience of women so that they can make a mature and balanced selection of who they want to be with in the longer term. Throughout the book, the words respect, love and honesty prevail in their approach to treating women. Isn't that better than the desperate b******t that many women recieve from inept men who have not refined their social skills in this area? The authors should do workshops for men on this topic, with real life practise sessions in clubs, etc and provide a feedback to other men that are learning these skills. I would definatley sign up to one. Anyone else interested? John from London, UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide., 12 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
Approaching and talking to a woman is hard. This book helps with that. It has all the "right" things to do if you're 'blocked". I would definitely recommened it along with "How to Make Any Girl Want You" and "Understanding Women". This is a good one to add to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well writen, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
I have a good job , a good standard of living ,a car ! but I have foundit hard in the romantic area ! Ive read all the lads mags with thereglossy pages and cheesy lines! and self help books to no avail! but as Iwas to give up finding true love,and change my profesion and become amonk! I stumbled acros this book and became so engrossed in this book !ibought it! The book is well writen a mixture of humour and seriousnes.and ther is a lot of practicle advice. Although my only complaints werethe name of the book ! dosent do justice to the book! But over all Ithought it was well writen well done!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to the mysteries of the dating game, 28 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
I'm in a happy long term relationship, so I'm maybe not the target audience for this book, but after a sceptical start I really enjoyed it. As some of the other reviewers have said, some of the relationship information is basic but there is many a sharp insight littered through the book to make it more than worthwhile - even for men who think they know how to communicate with women. There is a lot of attention paid to important scientific and cultural theories of behaviour in the dating game which maybe many men just don't understand. And rather than being a laddish pick-up manual (which is what I initially thought) the book justifies a lot of its claims; that the application of some simple theories in communicating/interacting with women will pay dividends. Even I found some of the chat-up lines funny, so I guess they might work on women too. One of the most important things that does come through from the book is that the authors really do like women which, as they say, is the strongest pull of attraction any man can have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost everything, 26 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
What woman doesn't want to know what men think of them? After reading a newspaper article on this book, I just flicked through it to satisfy my curiousity and was so pleasently surprised I bought it. The authors clearly have a wealth of dating experience and their breakdown of what women want is realistic, well researched, well-written (though the style takes getting used to) a lot more balanced than I thought it would be and often, very funny. The downside is that it seems like one (or maybe two) of the authors can't write for toffee, so for every 6-7 pages of solid advice, that I would think can only help a man's confidence and help him to get more (or better) relationships, there's half-a-page of boring obvious (and sometimes just plain wrong) stuff that throws the reader off. I can see that most of the lines would work (if said the way the authors suggest) but some ot them are OTT or stinkers. Still the writers put more emphasis (rightly) on conversation than one-liners and overall I think it's a very good book (especially the conversation scenarios) and is definately value for money, it's just that without the rubbishy bits, it could easily have have been great. Advice like "be prepared to risk" and "don't be too clever" is invaluable. I've lost count of the times I've met men who turn me off by try to tell me what I'm thinking or what I want in life and as for risking, you can stare all night at some men and they still won't come over to say hi.
Some of my female friends think it's insulting to be reduced to a handbook, but that may be because the book is so upfront about how the dating game really works. The real problem is that I have dated many men who need the advice in this book, but of course, being men, they won't buy it. The one thing I agree with my friends about though, is that the anti-social title is a real turn off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide to women, 23 July 2003
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
If like me you are shy and/or feel intimidated around women then this book may hold some very useful advice for you. Even if you feel ok around women but seem to be the one who never scores then again it could be useful. The book is short enough not to be boring but long enough to cover some decent ground. The main thrust of the book is how to approach women and handle the various types of personality you may encounter. It's geared more towards "cold" approaches such as in a pub or club where you have no prior relationship. In my opinion these techniques hardly ever work, and they hurt the ego a lot too. But the advise in this book can be also put to great use when you generally meet women in social situations through friends etc. There is also some decent info on biology thrown in to back up the advise along with some tips on what to do when you finally get a date. Some of the chat-up lines are very corny, but they are fun to read!
It's not about exploitation it's about giving yourself a chance to meet a woman and overcome the usually frosty response you get. The authors write with good practical knowledge and they always treat women with the respect they deserve and ask you to do the same. It's a fun read that will entertain as well as educate, it can also be read again and again to boost your confidence before a certain occasion. Unlike certain other books it is geared towards the etiquette of the British, which I found I could empathize with more next to the cheesy sit-com feel of American books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Title - Good Book, 17 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
The title simply doesn't do this book justice. It sounds as though women are a quest -- the holy grail or something to conquer. The book is a bit more sophisticated than that.
I really give credit to the authors for giving a level-headed approach to dating and relationships. There are so many awful books out there probably written by single men who think they know stuff but are single because they dont.
Another excellent book is The RoMANtic's Guide by Michael Webb. It has tons of creative ideas that are really classy and heart-felt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definately worth a look, 26 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
This book is actually quite good. It looks at the bigger picture and gives a balanced insight into approaching women and forming relationships in general. Quite well written and actually funny in parts (well I thought so anyway!). The best thing about this book is that it isn't simply another "jack-the-lad's guide to getting laid" unlike many other patronising offers of the same genre. Would recommend to anybody looking to kick start their love life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book is a good read. Humourous and well worth the price, 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know (Paperback)
Very controversial advice but at least women can see exactly how they are perceived through the eyes of their male counterparts. I did have to agree with some of the points even though I didn't want to. On the whole, I found it funny and quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know
Women- the Final Frontier: Everything a Man Needs to Know by Denzil Lewis (Paperback - 13 Nov 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews