Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book
An unpretensious and cheap little book. Very useful little nuts and bolts guide. You'll get more from it than many five times this price. No glossy photos, but clear line drawings. No overly poetic musings on the philosophy of the hunt or the part fishing played in the author's finding of themselves. Just a straightforward "how to". Finally!
Published on 2 Aug 2006 by doublegone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Depending on your level of knowledge !
If you are an accomplished or avid fly fisherman, or an angler who has gone beyond the novice stage, there are no secrets in this book !
Having fly fished like my life depended on it , with complete passion for over 3 years , I didn't find a single thing in this book that was new to me. Disappointing.
However, if you are in the first year or even 18 months of...
Published 6 months ago by Parkerjon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 2 Aug 2006
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
An unpretensious and cheap little book. Very useful little nuts and bolts guide. You'll get more from it than many five times this price. No glossy photos, but clear line drawings. No overly poetic musings on the philosophy of the hunt or the part fishing played in the author's finding of themselves. Just a straightforward "how to". Finally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good concise guide, 6 Feb 2002
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
This guide is perfect for the beginner as well as those with more experience. It sticks to the job in hand and is never boring or verbose.
Great for keeping in a pocket or chucking in your backpack - Good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 8 Feb 2009
By 
James A. Brodie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for a friend who had never done fly fishing before and it was a great help in getting him started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No froth, just facts, 24 Sep 2009
By 
D. Nye - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
Great starter and general help book, as said elsewhere, very concise, covers the things beginners need to know in enough detail to feasibly get them out fishing. Although some of the technical info is slightly outdated, the rudiments of tackle etc are well covered, much better in fact than some more contemporary works, and with a little supplemental reading of the latter, all bases would be pretty much covered. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Depending on your level of knowledge !, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Parkerjon (Cheshire,UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
If you are an accomplished or avid fly fisherman, or an angler who has gone beyond the novice stage, there are no secrets in this book !
Having fly fished like my life depended on it , with complete passion for over 3 years , I didn't find a single thing in this book that was new to me. Disappointing.
However, if you are in the first year or even 18 months of self taught 'Fly fishing' then you may find this book very helpful.
Tight lines...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough book, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. R. Mcmanus (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
This book, in my view, is as much a long term reference as a one off read. It has a detailed section on entomology of insects eaten by trout - but also invaluable sections on tactics etc. Some of the snippets are really enlightening and can be skipped over too quickly first time through to realise what gems they are. I would recommend this with Getting Started at Fly Fishing for Trout by Alan Sefton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Read useful fly info, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
Not a bad book by any means however a lot of obvious information that could relate to any number of fish. Would recommend to someone with no knowledge of the habits of fish in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A satisfactory product, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
There is a great deal of information here about the 'target' and the means of attracting it. I found this book to be very informative, easy to access and of serious practical benefit. I am a novice trout fisher, and this book will give me a great deal of much-needed information - although will not necessarily improve my technique! But I will try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars secrets of fly fishing for trout, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
Good basic information, but printed on poor quality paper and illustrations are simple drawings. Would be OK for someone starting out in fly fishing but not for the experienced angler. Not too many secrets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
As a beginner I found this book great. Good information and explanation of the basics of fly fishing. Lots of things in this book that I never knew. Probably not any use to anyone that has been fishing for a while. I also bought this for my friend and she thought it made her more aware of movement and senses of the fish. Great tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.)
Secrets of Fly-fishing for Trout (Right Way S.) by Ian Ball (Paperback - 16 Nov 2004)
5.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews