Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on bridge you will find
I bought The Right Way to Play Bridge because my new partner did and it seemed sensible that we work from the same book. I now own a copy of every book this guy has written.
I had owned Basic Bridge by Ron Klinger for some 12 years (!) already but had never managed to plough far enough into it to gain any real understanding. With The Right Way to Play Bridge I was a...
Published on 13 Mar 2006

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but concentrates more on bidding than play
Like all Mendelson's books, this is clear and well-written, and excellent value for money in the Right Way format. However, a couple of words of warning. Firstly, some knowledge of bridge is assumed, so if you're completely new to the game, you should start with Mendelson's Bridge for Complete Beginners. Secondly, this is not a book which gives you a balanced picture of...
Published on 3 April 2008 by Mr. Ian C. Kemp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on bridge you will find, 13 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
I bought The Right Way to Play Bridge because my new partner did and it seemed sensible that we work from the same book. I now own a copy of every book this guy has written.
I had owned Basic Bridge by Ron Klinger for some 12 years (!) already but had never managed to plough far enough into it to gain any real understanding. With The Right Way to Play Bridge I was a reasonable player literally within weeks.
Mendelson's writing is first-class. He builds steadily from the basics, in a logical and clear manner, internally cross-referencing topics so that you soon begin to grasp not just the facts but the whole basis of the Basic Acol system. Over the table this helps enormously because you don't need to recall discrete bits of infomation, you apply your understanding.
This is not a bridge workbook, but a very readable introduction to all aspects of the game. Mendelson gives just enough examples to clarify his points and has an uncanny knack of anticipating all your questions.
The book says it's for improvers, but you actually don't need any prior knowledge so I wouldn't bother with Mendelson's Bridge for Absolute Beginners. My advice, if you're interested in learning the game, is to buy two copies of this book, one for you and one for your partner of course, and to use no other until you know absolutely everything in it. Then buy two copies of the superb Control the Bidding, by the same author, which will take your game firmly into the intermediate level. Mendelson also offers Play Your Cards Right, focusing on card play alone, to bring it all together.
These three books are fully complementary and consistent and at such a low cost are, in my opinion, clearly the best way into the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for learning the game (though knowledge of the very basics is assumed), 14 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
If you want to learn how to play, and already know the very basics (that there is an auction, then you play for tricks etc), then this book is excellent.

Knowledge of the very basics is assumed (and Mendelson has also written a book for those who know absolutely nothing about bridge). If you are anything between somebody who knows these very basics, and a novice club player, then I strongly recommend reading this book.

The bulk of the book discusses ACOL bidding, including how to bid your hand naturally, and some conventions that every bridge player should know.

There is also a bit on the card play, offering a few tips again which every bridge player should know.

If you consider yourself to be an intermediate club player, then read Mendelson's books on "Play your Cards Right" and "Control the Bidding". In any case, I think he's a fantastic author of bridge books on the ACOL bidding system (which is what the one most commonly used in UK), and has written great books for bridge players of all standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but concentrates more on bidding than play, 3 April 2008
By 
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
Like all Mendelson's books, this is clear and well-written, and excellent value for money in the Right Way format. However, a couple of words of warning. Firstly, some knowledge of bridge is assumed, so if you're completely new to the game, you should start with Mendelson's Bridge for Complete Beginners. Secondly, this is not a book which gives you a balanced picture of all aspects of playing bridge, although the title implies this. The book concentrates almost entirely on bidding; card play is just given in one chapter (out of 14!) though the basics are well summarised. It's no use bidding to good contracts if you can't make them! So you should get Mendelson's book Bridge: Winning Ways to Play Your Cards as well. Thirdly, like many bridge books, it covers unopposed bidding much more thoroughly than competitive bidding. In particular it describes what responder should do after opponents double, but not if they overcall, and the important negative double is not mentioned at all. The solution is to read his Control the Bidding: The Right Way to Secure the Battleground in Bridge, which is absolutely excellent for improvers upwards. For general modern Acol, I personally prefer the EBU's Really Easy Modern Acol, while Klinger's Guide To Better Duplicate Bridge (Master Bridge) is more thorough.

Some of Mendelson's ideas are a bit non-standard and might puzzle partners, particularly his suggested method for opening 4441 hands, so this is actually my least favourite of his four books in the Right Way format. Also he does not mention some fairly widely used ideas such as transfers. As with most bidding books, it does not warn you where some players may use different methods, so if you expect a new partner to bid precisely as given in this book, you may get surprises from time to time - the Acol system has varied a bit over the years. It does give enough information for typical rubber bridge, but not quite enough for an improver playing duplicate. Still, at this price, you can't go far wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, simple explanations, keep it handy!, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
An excellent guide to bidding. Easy to read and simple to understand. Mine is constantly by my side whilst playing bridge online.
Quick at-the-table bidding guides are provided, assisting there and then!
The friend that sent me this book, wrote "Happy Bridging, just to make sure we are singing off the same sheet". I'm still singing....
Another book by the same author is brilliant alongside this one. 100 Tips For Better Bridge by Paul Mendelson - another easy reader with simple explanations.
Maria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY readable, 18 May 2000
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
Highly readable and easy to understand. Not only instructs WHAT you should do but WHY you should do it which makes remembering the rules so much easier. Quite the best in its class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book to improve your play, 23 Mar 2006
By 
Mrs. C. Harris "brit_kris" (Carlisle; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
I've read a lot of bridge books but this one stands out from the rest. Like the author's book on bidding - Control the Bidding - this book quickly shows you how to improve your game. Not only is it full of excellent examples, but it is written in a clear style, that is easy to understand. Whether you are a relative beginner, or an improver, you will learn a lot from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Addition, 27 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
Easy to follow and an excellent reference for all players.Great summaries. For someone returning to Bridge after 50 years it is the perfect book to restart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRIDGEALCOHOLIC, 21 July 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Blane (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
I have been playing club bridge for just over a year and find this book invaluable as a reference guide. Having borrowed several books by different authors from my local library, I decided this one was the easiest to follow. Purchasing my own secondhand book, which came in excellent condtion, has improved my playing and knowledge of the game tremendously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Right Way to Play Bridge: Complete Reference to Successful Acol Bidding and the Key Principles of Play - For Improving Players (Right Way S.) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews