Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffett Revealed
"Buffett" is a biography of one of the most important and successful people in the business world. Buffett's life is a story of success of the most impressive kind, not a single lucky hit but a career going in stages mostly (but not always!) from one victory to another. One would be quite irrational to miss an opportunity to take a closer look at what made him the person...
Published on 2 Aug. 2009 by Ford Ka

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with spelling issues
While I have enjoyed reading this book I cannot ignore the many spelling and grammatical mistakes in this kindle version. Frankly speaking, the book is riddled with them. There is even a rogue sentence that pops up randomly and far too frequently from about halfway through the book. At one stage, the same sentence appeared erroneously in 4 or 5 consecutive paragraphs, and...
Published 5 months ago by SCOTT MITCHELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Buffett: unique individual and inspirational read, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the modern world, principle, ethics, in depth analysis, and a long term view, rarely coalesces with capitalism. Buffett shows that that need not be. In a world of derivatives, sub prime mortages, bankers bonuses, huge executive payouts where computers solves all, his success, seems old guard. However if evidence is billions earned using "Graham" investment techniques modified to the times, then go no further. And if you emulate his success, principle will require a philanthropic gesture of giving most to making the world a better place. Truly a unique individual and his biography, an inspirational read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Insight but a little tedious writing, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Peter Alexiev (Phialadelphia, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book based on other works of Roger Lowenstein. I expected that he would stress more the financial analysis of Buffett. He tries to go deeper into personal view. This is acceptable for a biography but for me the writing itself isn't up to it, it just feels as if it is dragging along. Nevertheless, I can recommend this book to anyone looking to discover the man behind the investments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Kindle edition is riddled with typos, 3 Dec. 2013
An interesting book, I think it comes second to Alice Schroeder's biography of Buffett, but it is an entertaining read nonetheless. It's a shame that there are so very many typing/spelling errors in the Kindle edition - I don't know whether this is a reflection of the paperback's content too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 12 Feb. 2011
I would strongly recommend this book. It is an easy read even for novices to business and finance like me. My only negative is the kindle version is full of typo errors which sometimes makes it hard to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Tom (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book about a modern, single-minded genius. I found the section on Salomon's a bit over-long, it almost felt like a book within a book. Overall, highly recommended though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lessons To Learn From the Greatest Investor, 23 Nov. 2008
By 
Dr. J. Sims "drsims" (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth) (Paperback)
As someone who is lucky enough to have recently semi-retired having made fruitful and well-planned financial investments(and hopefully more in the future), reading this book was still insightful. I was much surprised to read that Warren Buffet holds many of the principles of life that I believe in - not least that having faith in your instincts is the most important ally you will ever have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 4 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth) (Paperback)
I was not really a book reading person. Watched someone reading it in the train, so bought this one. Very inspirational and quite nicely written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth)
Buffett: The Biography (Duckworth) by Roger Lowenstein (Paperback - 11 Sept. 2008)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews