Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and informative Guide to GCSE Astronomy!
When I first started to read this book I found that the style of writing was excellent. All of the text explained clearly what was going on. The harder mathematics involved was even more clearly explained. The diagrams which accompany most explanations were clear and easy to understand. Overall, this is an excellent introduction to general astronomy and, indeed, GCSE...
Published on 15 Mar 2001

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book for beginners
Unfortunately this is the only proper textbook for GCSE Astronomy, and its pretty disappointing to say the least.

As a beginner, I find the explanations often unclear and confusing. It takes a while to get used to PM's style of writing, of which, you'll either love or hate.

The diagrams are good, but everything including the photos, is in b & w. The...
Published on 8 April 2007 by Globetrotter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book for beginners, 8 April 2007
By 
Globetrotter (Herefordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
Unfortunately this is the only proper textbook for GCSE Astronomy, and its pretty disappointing to say the least.

As a beginner, I find the explanations often unclear and confusing. It takes a while to get used to PM's style of writing, of which, you'll either love or hate.

The diagrams are good, but everything including the photos, is in b & w. The layout could be improved, for example, with subheadings so you don't end up scanning the whole chapter for an explanation.

All in all, a disappointing book and not recommended for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and informative Guide to GCSE Astronomy!, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
When I first started to read this book I found that the style of writing was excellent. All of the text explained clearly what was going on. The harder mathematics involved was even more clearly explained. The diagrams which accompany most explanations were clear and easy to understand. Overall, this is an excellent introduction to general astronomy and, indeed, GCSE Astronomy. Once again I will thank the authors for producing such a splendid and informative book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moore and Lintott�s GCSE Astronomy - A High Recommendation, 4 Oct 2002
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
As a teacher of science and maths with students ranging in age from 13 to 84, if there's anything I've learned about selecting textbooks, it's this: it is very, very rare that a text comes along that not only presents its subject matter with clarity and wit, but actively engages the imagination and inspires the mind. Moore and Lintott's GCSE Astronomy is just such a text.
The narrative style is friendly, conversational, and inviting; sometimes delightfully playful. The material is extremely accessible without compromising information content or attention to detail. The authors assume no previous experience with astronomy, but avoid the all-too-common errors of tragic over-simplification or stuffy condescension. And, perhaps most importantly of all, it's the kind of book to which one returns, long after one's studies are complete, because it's interesting, it's alive, and it's just so darn fun to read.
I recommend it unreservedly to students, teachers, and anyone who has an ounce curiosity about the world around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Astronomy for GCSE by Patrick Moore, 9 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
I teach GCSE Astronomy and am disappointed to find so little choice by the way of textbooks. It is great then, that Patrick Moore has written one and by and large it is useful as a teaching tool but I would not buy it for my students as I find there are several problems with it. Though this book covers all the GCSE topics thoroughly, it is a matter of opinion whether you like Patrick Moores style of writing. The book is quite dull and colourless and the prose a little protracted with no clear sections, making it difficult to find a reference point within a chapter. GCSE age students find this textbook very difficult to use and I am not the only teacher of Astronomy to think so. However, it is the only textbook I have found so far that is written for GCSE Astronomy and I am grateful that Patrick Moore appreciated the need for it and is supporting this excellent course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
This book (well, the 1st edition) holds many fond memories for me. In fact, it marked a turning point in my life. I first picked it up during a casual walk around a library in October 1995. I took the book home and started to read it. It was the smoking gun for: a passionate interest in Astronomy; returning to evening classes to do GCSE maths, physics,english,,a corrospondence GCSE astronomy course,,,A levels in maths, physics,, and eventually going to uni and getting a 1st in maths and then becoming a teacher. For me, this book kind of reads my post '95 educational life story. I often wonder what life would have been like if not for that casual walk around a city library 16 years ago and picking up this book. Such fond memories wrapped in fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 6 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
I'm 13 and can understand this book. I thought from another review that it might be difficult to understand but didn't find this to be the case.It covered all i needed for the exam and was in logical order.As there aren't any other books available for revision go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, comprehensive book, 21 Dec 2011
By 
J. Wilcock (Kilnwick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
I found this an excellent book to work through, although it could have benefited from some editing. In particular Chapter 5 is very difficult to understand, and Chapter 8, Question 4(b) is ambiguous. In view of the recent developments in Astronomy it is surely time for an update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good astronomy book, 13 May 2009
By 
Mr. Alan Southall (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
I bought this book to help my son with his GCSE revision. There are very few books out there on GCSE level astronomy (only one exam board offers it I think), however this is an excellent book, also for anyone interested in Astronomy.

I started reading it in order to help ask questions for his revision, and found it hard to put down. It is very readable, straight-forward and builds knowledge in right-size steps. Most sections have revision style questions at the end, and well worked out examples for the calculations of astronomical time.

I hear the syllabus for astronomy is changing next year, however, this is still a very good book and cannot recommend it more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
A useful guide to have when studying for your GCSE in astronomy - but also a good beginner's guide even if you're not studying for an exam, as it breaks the subject down into small, manageable parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculas Prices !!!, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: Astronomy for GCSE (Paperback)
Book only cost 12.95 Brand New !!!! you really are having a giraffe !!! Patrick Moore would be turning in his grave !!!

The Book itself is good and informative however the same information can be found in numerous places - and its FREE !!!! These Con artists need to get their feet back in the real world and not out in the cosmos !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Astronomy for GCSE
Astronomy for GCSE by Chris Lintott (Paperback - 1 Feb 2001)
Used & New from: 9.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews