Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Republican Romans, 18 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
This book is meant to be a short introduction to the society of Rome during the late Republic for A-level and first year university students. As such I expected it to be a rather dry and academic work, considering I've never done a course on the Classics.

Instead I found this book to be lively, readable and interesting look at the social trends taking place within the Roman Republic from the days of Tiberius Gracchus to those of Octavian.

It covers subjects such as religion, political institutions, politics, the aristocracy and Roman imperialism in a few short chunks.
Mary Beard is an expert on this period, and she's a great writer to boot. Michael Crawford also lends his expertise to the title, presenting some rather complex ideas in a digestible and easy to understand manner.

Too bad they didn't include any photographs or illustrations, but I suppose they'd have to increase the price if they did so.

If you are a Classics or Ancient History student then this book is a must. Interested amateurs like myself will also find this book a useful guide to the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 13 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
This book I found very useful for the period concerned. In my second year of Classical studies it provided an accessible introduction to the late republic and a look ahead to the early empire.

It is a short book and the beauty of it is it's concise narrative. It is not a chronological history but a thematic history covering topics such as the Social Order, Religious interests, Political Institutions, and the Working of Politics. It also has a chapter on the provinces.

If you are looking for a comprehensive study of every single thing of the late empire this is not you're book. But as I said it is a light and clear introduction, indicating the fundamental issues and prompting where an enthusiast should search for information with an impressive and extensive Bibliography of both ancient and modern sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Roman Capital!, 13 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
I purchased this on the recommendation of the Open University. For me it's a good introduction to the late Republic of Rome.It has six chapters covering Roman aristocratic culture, the socio-political and the socio-religious life as well as the workings of the political institutions and Rome's relations with other countries. There is some focus attributed to the influence of Greek culture on the Romans particularly in the area of literature and an insight into the problems of interpreting history.Additionally, Beard and Crawford provide footnotes and plenty of further reading. Overall, there are 120 pages,21 of which contain the bibliography. Very approachable, as it is not like a textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative in illuminating this period dramatic period of Roman history is very clearly written helping to raise new issues for my essay writing,worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
Delivered on time. Difficult to find books on Rome's late republican history that are easy to digest and this book was perfect for some fast revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Olde Rome., 6 Aug. 2011
By 
K. Bates "Kev and Kerryanne" (Caistor, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
My wife has this book, as part of a collection of set books, that she requires, for her Open University module A219 Exploring the Classical world. She has found it informative and well written, in language that even a complete novice, like herself, can understand. Unfortunately she has been told, that it only has a small amount of usable information, that is relevant to her module, but nevertheless,she said it's still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good quality., 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
Quick delivery, good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different take on Rome, 13 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
Bought as part of the O.U A219 course but a very interesting read for everyone, some controversial ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Senate - Rome/US, 10 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. Warren D. Hearder "Wazzarsa" (UK Northwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome in the Late Republic (Paperback)
Again, what an eye opener and the difference I could detect between the US senate and Rome Senate..... 2000 odd years.... LOL

Very intersting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rome in the Late Republic
Rome in the Late Republic by Michael Crawford (Paperback - 27 Jan. 2000)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews