Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars17
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2008
This handy little book contains a list of the inflected forms of common verbs in alphabetical (Greek) order.

It does not purport to explain or teach you anything, but if you happen across an inflected verb in a sentence and you cannot find it in your dictionary, try this book. The listed form might be aorist or imperfect, perfect or pluperfect. Find the verb that is afflicting you with woe and the central column in this book will tell you the tense, mood, form and number. The right hand column then gives you the dictionary form (first person singular present indicative active / deponent) which you can then look up in your conventional dictionary or lexicon.

I should stress that those students of Greek with some knowledge, say intermediate, will gain more benefit than complete beginners. Sometimes the form given in this book is not the identical one you are seeking (number might be different). But a little common sense will allow you to recognise the root, and then you can find the dictionary form as mentioned above.

I have found this book has become more and more useful as my foray into the world of Classical Greek becomes more ambitious.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2002
If like me, you have just got through learning all the grammar of Ancient Greek and are now starting on the real texts, then this book really is for you.
Learning vocabulary is one things but when it comes to Greek verbs it's so easy to get lost: some forms appear to bare no resemblence to the present!
However, don't worry, "All the Greek Verbs" provides a long list of over 13,000 verbs which you you may not recognise when you come accross in the text. Each verb is analysed, telling you all you need to know to accurately translate your text.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
This book is an essential for all students of ancient Greek who find looking up unrecognisable inflections of verb forms a boring hassle. All are listed, along with the simple present tense form from which they are derived. I cannot think what kept the author, N. Marinone, going...needless to say he is the only one to date to attempt this thankless task. Consequently some of the text is in his original Italian, but thankfully the abbreviations of the parsing need no translation, and the small amount which does is dealt with in the publisher's preface. This is an indispensible reference work.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
Despite the misgivings of the purists, I have found this a most useful companion in reading classical Greek. True, I would not need it if I had all forms of all the verbs at my finger-tips but it is very handy having a memory-jogger like this, that at times enables me to by-pass those verbal impasses that can stop the reading and enjoyment of a text in its tracks.
In addition, I have had no trouble with the standard of reproduction in this printing - it is all quite clear, even to my 64 year old eyes.
Overall, an excellent purchase.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
When reading Ancient Greek texts I would not want to be without this book for a quick look-up. However, there are a few errors and also some notable omissions (such as the sometimes confusing forms of the words for "to sit"). So beware! In case of doubt I always cross-reference with LSJ, or online through the search tools on the perseus/tufts website.

Further note: Since I reviewed this book I have now come across a far superior work of the same type: "An Index of Greek Verb Forms" by J J Bodoh. First published in 1970 and just issued as a reprint in 2011 by Goerg Olms Verlag. Although published in Germany the book was written in the US. It is not cheap, but if you can bear the expense it is well worth it, as it it is far superior to the Marinone book:
- extremely comprehensive
- compounds are listed fully (unlike Marinone's annoying and often useless references)
- a far superior system of structuring and referencing to clear and easy tables of endings
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
Great book especially for Greek beginners who struggle from time to time with the forms of the anciant Greek verbs. Look them up in this book and you'll find out from which verb the form comes from.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
The problem with this book is its unprecise titel. There are several kinds of greek: classical ancient greek, biblic greek, modern greek and intermediate forms for specialists. For students interested in classics this vocabulary seems to be quite useful. For learners of modern greek its useless.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
The copy of the book the supplier sent was in exemplary condition, though I had paid a tiny bit more for just that.
"All the" must trump "501" any day, though it's an extravagent claim, even for a (so-called) "dead" language.
Recommended by many teachers, the book itself is just engineered to get you to roam through the language.
The only real sign it's not originally from an english source is in the abbreviations - things like Act (active) become Att (attivo) - mainly very easy to live with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Its good finding the different times and their aberration but why oh no translation what the words means I had snowed that would not have bought it. It's great to find the different irregular verbs even more useful if one know their meaning or how the time is translated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
This book is copied from an original source. The copy is almost illegible. However it does say at the front it is copied but it really is a bad copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)