Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abridged trial transcript
The first chapter of this book introduces the moors murders case (as best as author Jonathan Goodman could in the early 1970s, so much new information has subsequently come to light but the author told the main facts that were known at the time) and very swiftly moves on to the first day of the trial of Ian Brady and Myra Hindley, introducing the key witnesses, as well as...
Published on 28 May 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Transcript of the trial - factual, explicit but hard-going and out-of-date
If you need to know the detail of the original 1966 trial, its defence and prosecution, of these two sadistic killers, this is the right book for you. It would suit journalists, crime writers, lawyers and someone like me who has been caught up in the mythology of this case but has never known the facts. But it is dated. It was published in 1971 and my edition in 1986. I...
Published on 5 Mar. 2007 by Mum of the animals


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Abridged trial transcript, 28 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The first chapter of this book introduces the moors murders case (as best as author Jonathan Goodman could in the early 1970s, so much new information has subsequently come to light but the author told the main facts that were known at the time) and very swiftly moves on to the first day of the trial of Ian Brady and Myra Hindley, introducing the key witnesses, as well as the victim's family members that chose to attend.

This book is worth having if you are interested in the case as it tells you exactly what happened during the trial, and is very specific about the questions that were asked. The result is an interesting read and one that makes this an unique book. It should be noted though that the transcript was abridged, but all of the important and key moments were included.

I must warn that the book is rather graphic in places, and the full transcript of the twisted couple's tape recording of one of their victims in also included. The book is illustrated, and contains unique and interesting material such as a letter that Ian Brady wrote to his employer to explain why he wouldn't be at work (the day after the final murder) and a plan of the couple's home.

The trial happened like it did, and so the transcript of it will never be out of date, unlike the introduction. 'The Trial of Myra Hindley & Ian Brady' is a unique and valuable resource for anyone researching this appalling case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moors Murders: The Trial of Myra Hindley and Ian Brady (Hardcover)
I am very interested in the Moors Murders. I was born in Ashton and lived in both Ashton and Stalybridge. I was 7 when Pauline Reade was murdered so maybe this is why I have an interest in it.

Anyway, I had read almost every book ever written on the subject, then I came across this. I must say it opened my mind to many details of the case. I never thought I would have any changes of opinion of any of it, but this book changed that.

If you are interested in Brady and/or Hindley then I would say this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for those interested in real crime, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always been interested in reading about real crime, especially the investigations and trials.
This book was originally written and published in 1973, a few years after the convictions.
Much has been written about this case, which shocked the nation at the time, but I found some of it contradictory. This book gives the facts of the case, at that time, and helps to understand some things better. Some of the passages are quite graphic, especially the post mortem evidence but I found the book generally helped me to understand the case better and why Hindley was so vilified for the rest of her life.
The book is dated having being written before it was established that these two had killed more. Pauline Reade and Keith Bennett, of course, and Keith is yet to be found.
An interesting and slightly disturbing read. A must for those interested in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars horrible, but informative and a godsend when I was ..., 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Basic facts are reproduced, along with an "edited" Trial Transcript - harrowing, horrible, but informative and a godsend when I was writing my dissertation - as this book does give the correct facts, not the ones twisted and turned in a lot of books since. Warning - does contain some highly emotional and horrific content such as tape transcripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transcripts of the trial of ...., 11 Oct. 2014
By 
ReviewMan "Large" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like what are perceived to be 'facts', as opposed to interpretations of interpretations, then you will get some benefit from this book. Personally, I liked it - but - my friend found it to be too clinical for her tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Transcript of the trial - factual, explicit but hard-going and out-of-date, 5 Mar. 2007
This review is from: The Moors Murders: The Trial of Myra Hindley and Ian Brady (Hardcover)
If you need to know the detail of the original 1966 trial, its defence and prosecution, of these two sadistic killers, this is the right book for you. It would suit journalists, crime writers, lawyers and someone like me who has been caught up in the mythology of this case but has never known the facts. But it is dated. It was published in 1971 and my edition in 1986. I am still not wise to the up-to-date facts. Did they ever plead guilty? Were they found guilty of the murder of Pauline Reade, 16 and Keith Bennett, 12 who they were not charged with initially. If you need the whole picture you need a different book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More detail than most books, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
Stephen Bloom "Steve B" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As this is a review from the actual court transcripts it sheds some extra light on the evil doings of these two murderers. It also clears up a few minor mysteries not found in most books about the murders, though much of the transcript is abridged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moors Murders: The Trial of Myra Hindley and Ian Brady (Hardcover)
thank you very much for the item and the speedy delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only real true coverage of these grisly events, 20 April 2014
By 
Anne Roche (Leixlip, County Kildare Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ThiS IS THE ONLY BOOK TO BUY IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN THE MOORS MURDERS. aLL THE OTHERS, AND THERE ARE A LOT OT OTHERS, ARE ALL COPY AND PASTE VERSIONS. bUT THIS ONE GETS DOWN TO THE NITTY GRITTY AND EXPLORES THE BACKGROUNDS OF THE 2 MAIN CHARACTERS AND HOW THEY CAME TO BE THE MURDEROUS COUPLE THAT THEY DID. vERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moors Murders: The Trial of Myra Hindley and Ian Brady
The Moors Murders: The Trial of Myra Hindley and Ian Brady by Jonathan Goodman (Hardcover - Dec. 1986)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews