Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty designs
This book has some great ideas on how to incorporate crochet into sewing projects, whether using it to add texture or colour to bags and cushions, or for giving your clothes a new lease of life by adding a crocheted trim or embellishment.

The book has 200 crochet patterns, each one with a picture at the top, step by step instructions underneath and a diagram at...
Published on 17 Jun. 2011 by Sewing Directory

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely book but
This is a lovely book, well set out and with good quality pictures but the stitches are not well explained nor are the patterns all easy to follow. Some degree of knowledge is required not recommended for beginners.
Published on 2 Mar. 2012 by Willow


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty designs, 17 Jun. 2011
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
This book has some great ideas on how to incorporate crochet into sewing projects, whether using it to add texture or colour to bags and cushions, or for giving your clothes a new lease of life by adding a crocheted trim or embellishment.

The book has 200 crochet patterns, each one with a picture at the top, step by step instructions underneath and a diagram at the bottom. The book is split into 4 sections: Flowers, Trims, Fabrics & Motifs. There is a useful section at the front with stitch instructions, a guide to following crochet patterns, advice on choosing yarns and your colour palette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get creating!, 1 Aug. 2011
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
Great ideas for making quick brooches as gifts, however, it is an American publication so remember to convert to British crochet stitches ie single crochet in America is equivalent to British double crochet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 12 Nov. 2011
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
As someone who is fairly new to crochet this book has introduced me to lots of patterns I never knew existed, I've tried a couple and thanks to the easy to follow and well written instructions they have turned out perfectly. I can see this being a book I will dip in to a lot for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely book but, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
This is a lovely book, well set out and with good quality pictures but the stitches are not well explained nor are the patterns all easy to follow. Some degree of knowledge is required not recommended for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more versatile than the title suggests, 31 Dec. 2011
By 
Feline (South West England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
I don't make a lot of flowers so wouldn't have instinctively bought this but it has turned out to be really useful for a number of projects. There are excellent examples of how stitch patterns can be created so you can use it for the basis of scarves, cushions etc. with extremely clear photographs.
The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that the terminology is written for American crocheters rather than European, so you do have to take care to "translate" it into UK terms. But there are lots of nice clear diagrams so it's easy to double check what you're doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely illustrated, 23 Jun. 2012
By 
Craftaddict (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
Nicely illustrated, but confusing patterns, have had to try some several times, not clearly explained, and I am an experienced crocheter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a joy, 4 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
This book is a real delight for all crochet & knitting addicts - which I am. But even if not the artistry & skill behind the work presented is there for all admire. I have aleady completed several of the flowers, and am planning several of the the butterflies soon. The instructions with diagrams (for the crochet) make it really very simple.

Definitely a VERY good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Nov. 2012
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
A book for the crochet-er.

First of all, the book is a collection of patterns for flowers, leaves, trims, and stitches that can be added here and there to make everything look pretty, the best thing being that it gives you ideas on how to use them.

Each section in the book is colour coded for easy finding. It contains a very useful intro covering the basic stitched, yarn weights and textures, pattern reading, and generally useful ideas and information to stimulate crochet creativity. Despite this I would not really recommend it to the absolute beginners, I believe that a basic knowledge of pattern-reading can go a long way here and make it more enjoyable.

The patterns are really easy to read, each of them consists of a colourful picture (it seems silly, but when you look at different rows the fact that each row is a different colour makes the pattern more clear), written instructions and a graph (before reading this book I found graphs to possibly be the scariest thing about crochet, but they make the patterns so much more clear it's unbelievable). These three things together make it virtually impossible to make the pattern wrong because you have so many ways of checking and rechecking it. I of course managed to wrong a couple of times, but I know it's my own fault for not liking to follow instructions: I'm a rebel you see.

Over all I can't find any major fault with this book, but if I really wanted to I could say that it should have contained more patterns for the simple reason that they are so beautifully written that you get fantastic ideas on how to use them just by looking at the pictures -cough, cough, yarnbombing, cough. All I can say, really, is go buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great (although American) instructions, 12 Feb. 2012
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
Loved this book once I realised the instructions are American - thankfully before I started anything! Very clearly written with both text and diagrammatic patterns. Made several flowers and a scarf from the "fabric" section the day I got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 200 crochet flowers, etc, 18 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims: 200 Designs to Add a Crocheted Finish to All Your Clothes and Accessories (Paperback)
A very informative book well presented and a must for the crochet lovers. Been unable to put it down. One of my better buys. A recommended purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews