Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 28 May 2011
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
I love Japanese fabrics and designs so I was very excited when I came accross this book. Fortunately I was right to be so, this book is amazing! It is full of absolutely gorgeous Japanese fabrics and stunning photography really showcasing the quilts and other projects in the books.

There are 10 different quilt projects based on traditional Japanese sources and inspirations as well as other projects such as bags, cushions and a table runner to the rear of the book. Each of the projects have detailed instructions as well as several colourful diagrams and useful tips scattered throughout.

There is an introduction to Japanese fabrics & motifs at the front of the book as well as a techniques guide at the rear of the book. The quilts are designed to let the fabrics be the focus, using the easiest methods to create the maximum effect. If like me you have a love of all things Japanese hurry and buy this book now!

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 9 Nov. 2011
By 
P. Smith (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
I bought this book because a friend is "into" all things Japanese and I wanted some inspiration in order to make her a quilt as a present. I am so very glad that I did, and ended up making two quilts as gifts, using some of the block patterns and ideas to create two quite different "quillow" lap quilts (smaller quilts that fold up into a pocket to make a cushion when not in use - the book doesn't actually give "quillow" instructions, I hasten to say, but they're easy to make and instructions are available from beginners' quilting books). I haven't yet given them to their recipients, as they are awaiting special occasions towards the end of the year, but have shown them to lots of people, all of whom have been very generous with their praise, so I'm pretty sure they'll be well received.

The book not only gives clear instructions for making the quilts (and some smaller items as well), but provides interesting reading matter, giving lots of information about the origins of the block patterns, with their names, and about Japanese life and traditions. The illustrations are sumptuous and inspiring, showing the quilts in lots of alternative fabrics and colourways. None of them seems to be greatly complicated, and most of them could be managed by a competent quilter with only a little experience.

An unexpected bonus for me was that, on my visit to the Chilford Quilt Show, near Cambridge, at the beginning of this month (November 2011), to my surprise and delight, all the quilts shown in the book were exhibited (and many were offered for sale as well)! Even though the photographs in the book are wonderful, I was amazed to find that the originals are even more beautiful! Even those which didn't immediately grab me in the book were an absolute knock-out when seen hanging there in front of me! Absolutely every last one was gorgeous. I wish I could have afforded to buy one - but I shall just have to go ahead and make a big one for myself! This is a really marvellous book and I absolutely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just had to have this., 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Max's Mam (Crook, County Durham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
Saw a pattern from this book in a magazine and decided to order it, not the most advanced projects but some nice ideas for using "Japanese" fabrics. Also included is a little background information on each project which I found interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Japanese Quilt Inspirations, 2 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
A truly inspirational book - beautiful quilts with full instructions and helpful hints. Also includes interesting background information about the more traditional designs and a list of suppliers of authentic Japanese fabrics. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by Japan, 10 May 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
Susan Briscoe presents her own inimitable interpretation of Japanese style with patterns featuring fat quarters, strip rolls and more. The book features 10 quilts, floor cushion, tote bag and table runner. I liked some but not all the designs. The instructions are clear, the photography is good and overall this is an excellent book which should lead you on to develop this theme further. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars feedback, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
pretty quilts htough soe looked like tradional Japanese style i did think there could have been more picture quilts with perhaps samurai or other Japanese icons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quilting book, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
great projects with easy to follow brilliant instructions, love all of Susan Briscoe's designs.

recommend to all quilters requiring Japanese themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best price for a useful book, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
Quite simple designs for highly effective quilts. Should be able to make a quilt quickly. Other people have bought this book after seeing my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
C (WARWICK, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics (Paperback)
A lovely book , with inspirational pictures to wet your taste buds for making a quilt that is a little bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to a textile artist's reference library, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple, adaptable and full of inspiration. A great addition to a textile artist's reference library?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Japanese Quilt Inspirations: 15 Easy-to-Make Projects That Make the Most of Japanese Fabrics
£15.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews