Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but slightly chaotic
As a relatively newcomer to the world of DSLR photography, I was generally impressed and inspired by the techniques described in this book. The accompanying photos are great. The text itself is generally excellent, but is slightly oddly pitched, with some parts assuming quite an advanced knowledge already, while other sections seem quite basic.

The A-Z gimic...
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by Tim

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Camera Never Lies.
This might be the `A-Z of Creative Photography', but nine letters of the alphabet don't get a mention. Whether there's anything that could have been used for those missing letters is something I can't comment on, but what I can do is to say that if you're looking for a beginners guide to photographic procedures, look elsewhere. This revised edition of Lee Frost's book...
Published on 19 Sep 2010 by Quiverbow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring but slightly chaotic, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a relatively newcomer to the world of DSLR photography, I was generally impressed and inspired by the techniques described in this book. The accompanying photos are great. The text itself is generally excellent, but is slightly oddly pitched, with some parts assuming quite an advanced knowledge already, while other sections seem quite basic.

The A-Z gimic seems a little clumsy, not adding anything positive to the book, and resulting in some strained titles and a completely random ordering to the chapters: e.g. "Grain is Good", "Hands", "Harmony and Discord".

Each chapter is between two and four sides long, which makes this an excellent book to dip in and out of. (The lack of structure across the chapters also encourages such an approach).

The writing is generally clear and to the point. Some of the technical discussion of f stops gets a little dry, and there are occasional slips - the picture on page 17 was apparently taken "soon after sunset on a tranquil summer's morning".

The book claims to be "updated for digital photography" and is very much tailored to DSLRs.

My biggest criticism of the book is the presumption that the reader has access to some quite expensive software, lenses and filters. A mention of some of the lower budget options, such as free graphics editing software (the GIMP etc.) would have been nice.

Aside from these minor quibbles, I found this an inspiring book which has given me lots of ideas to try out. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 17 Oct 2010
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Creative photography books have to do two things, in my opinion. One is to inspire with great images, and the other to provide helpful technical direction on how to achieve the effects shown. The A-Z of Creative Photography delivers on both fronts, with some great pictures (grainy portraits, sheltering skies, paint peeling on fishing boats), plus well written directions on the techniques employed (backlighting, panning moving subjects and blurring, to name but three). It is a revised version of Lee Frost's original guide, to take into account the massive increase in popularity of digital photography.

I found the technical information given in this book much easier to follow than a lot of other photography guides I've read, and think that for that reason, this will suit beginners (to dslr) more than some other publications. If you have a basic point and shoot, though some of the compositional advice will still apply (e.g. framing), other aspects of the book won't be for you (e.g. polarizing filters).

Topics covered include abstract art, architectural details, candid camera, urban detail, silhouette photography, poster art, physiograms, low light shooting, long shots and even mobile phone pics. I particularly liked the section on digital pinhole photography and the accompanying rather ghostly images (a doorway in a dark courtyard and an imposing lion statue, both with a very ethereal feel).

It's common for photography books to mention post-production and image manipulation - but again, this book gives more detail than most, with a step by step guide to producing your own calendar that doesn't just show the finished article, but recommends specific software to download, system requirements, and then talks you through the process, step-by-step.

Overall, the layout is very clear with black text in a decent font size, liberal colour and black and white photographs, plus hints in 'tip boxes' dotted here and there. I recently reviewed another photography book - Creative Composition by Davis - which was also chock full of engaging images, but think this 'A-Z' has the edge in terms of explaining what to do and how to do it. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book to dip into - not a beginners guide, 15 Oct 2010
By 
K. Galvin "loolabub" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
I don't have a digital SLR camera but as I was getting a new compact camera I got this for a bit of inspiration to help me put a bit more thought into my "snaps". For this purpose it is great. Being an A-Z it is actually in no particular order! It is therefore good to dip into at random, rather than being a comprehensive guide for a beginner or pro.

The book covers an interesting and varied selection of techniques from basic rules of composition, to toning and effects in editing software, to specialist lenses, lighting and equipment. Lots of stuff I'd never heard of or thought about. Each technique is set out as a project with details of what you need, an explanation of how it is done, top tips and of course lots of photographs. I like the pieces on composition, colour and subjects especially as you don't need much specialist equipment for these.

I liked this book because it is very much from the author's perspective. He even congratulates himself frequently on his achievemnets! They are all his own photos and I found the fact that this is a revision of an earlier book interesting as it is an old pro bringing himself into the digital age with a new enthusiasm.

You would need a lot of expensive kit to embrace all the projects in here but for a bit of inspiration it is good. You can adapt quite a lot of the photoshop stuff for cheaper and free software and the book gives ideas without you having to copy step by step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty to try, 18 Nov 2010
By 
Peter Roxburgh (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
this is a great book if you are a photographer who is looking to increase soome of their creative techniques and get some interesting shots.

Each section has a few examples of how the pictures could look using the techniques described, along with a step-by-step description of what to do to get the shots.

For example, to use the pin-hole technique, there are a few pictures of what pin-hole pictures will look like. they also describe how to make your own home-made pin-hole cover and then how to set your camera to make the best use of it.

Some of the techniques assume you have certain bits of equipment which means that unless you have the equipment or are willing to pay out for it, you need to skip over the page.

There are also techniques on photo editing as well which will appeal more to some than others.

Overall though, if you are looking to get more creative with your photography, this book would give you some great ideas. The quality of the of the printing, and cover means that this book will take plenty of battering before it falls apart - so it should last you years!

hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some neat ideas well described, 15 April 2013
By 
C. Nellis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
I bought this after flicking through the pages in my local bookstore and liked what I saw. Some people have mentioned that there are some inconsistencies in the text (setting up in the morning for a night shot etc.) but that aside it has fueled my photographic creativity, especially in the field of ND filters and some other effects I'd usually fudge in Photoshop after the shot was taken.

For a quick bit of inspiration I'd definitely recommend this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Camera Never Lies., 19 Sep 2010
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This might be the `A-Z of Creative Photography', but nine letters of the alphabet don't get a mention. Whether there's anything that could have been used for those missing letters is something I can't comment on, but what I can do is to say that if you're looking for a beginners guide to photographic procedures, look elsewhere. This revised edition of Lee Frost's book gives 51 inventive techniques, ranging from looking down at the detail on which you're standing as another way of taking unusual landscapes; making a pinhole camera using a body cap and a piece of foil (and it works rather well); and the urban detail in street furniture and road signs.

One good thing about many of the subjects the author has chosen is that you don't necessarily need a DSLR. Some techniques can be undertaken with a mobile phone, others with a compact and yet more using a 35mm camera. To assist you in your quest to copy the techniques listed, each one tells you what you need to accomplish the task in hand, even though it amounts to only camera, lenses, filters and accessories.

One complaint that can be laid at not only this book but also many others like it is the assumption that everyone owns a copy of Photoshop, or some other type of manipulation software. Whilst this book is aimed at those familiar with aperture, speed, ISO, etc, there really are some people who believe that composition and trial and error is best. Thankfully, the use of anything Photoshop related is minimal.

Is this book useful? If it makes you go out and try some of the things mentioned here, then yes, but don't expect a `walk through' for each technique, as the text is nominal and they are by no means "explained in full".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Book, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
There really is nothing to dislike about this book, its easy to follow with loads of simple common sense approaches it full of good ideas and if your a creative sort anyway it will inspire you even more - really all the props we ever need for creative photography are right under our nose. I have given this book 5 stars and will be buying a further copy as a present for a chum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and helpful, 19 Sep 2010
By 
G. Lewis "mgjjl" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When you first start getting into photography, you may look at the works of others and wonder how they did it. I certainly did and I wish I had this book back then.

The A-Z of Creative Photography is broken down into two to four page sections, ranging from Abstract Art & Backlighting to Urban Detail & Winter Wonderland. If you've spent time trawling the internet and wondered how a shot was done, chances are it was covered in here. The author has included a healthy supply of images along with the camera, lens and the settings used as well as a few paragraphs and bullet-point tips explaining the techniques.

It's an "almost A4" book spread over 160 pages and includes 51 different sections (minus the introduction & index) with what it claims is more than 70 creative techniques. That's a lot of techniques and not a lot of pages, so it doesn't go into a great deal of depth on each. I'm still going to find it useful though, especially as a source of inspiration. If I ever find myself struggling to find something to photograph, I'll just dip into this book and see what jumps out at me.

This edition claims to have been updated for digital photography yet it is quite sparing with the Photoshop references - it certainly doesn't assume you've just spent a small fortune on software. One example is the black & white section titled "Mono Magic". It talks about a program called Silver Efex Pro, but the examples can be replicated in Photoshop Elements, Aperture or other alternatives. There are a few sections that are focussed on post-processing and making calendars from your images, but the rest is useful regardless of whether you shoot film or digital. One section even shows you how to create a pinhole cap for your SLR.

It's a useful all-rounder and good for starting you off, but if you need depth I'd look for something more focussed on what you want to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for beginners, 23 Sep 2012
By 
sb (Lancaster) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've found this book to be extremely useful as I learn how to take better pictures. The topics each have three or four pages devoted to them, so they don't go into great depth but cover the essentials. Because of this short topic length, Ive found that it's very convenient to dip in and out of the book everytime I have a problem or want to look at how to do something.

Very useful book, would recommend to any one who wants to take their photography to next level above just point and shoot picture taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everything a beginner could want and a lot more besides, 18 May 2012
By 
i wrote this "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Just flipping through this book was a good experience. The photos and presentation are done very well. All the techniques I was interested in our covered in some detail, and there are lots of others too. It's not the sort of book that I read from cover to cover, but so far as a reference resource I've found it very helpful, and the odd flick through has also inspired me to try some new things. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New A-Z of Creative Photography: Over 50 Techniques Explained in Full
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews