Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good walks for serious walkers
I've now done about half a dozen of the walks in here and really like the book and the walks. They are pretty well spread across the UK, so there is likely to be something near you, but I really wanted these walks so that when on holiday or visiting friends I would have a couple of local options rather than having to buy a new walk book for every part of the country and...
Published on 21 May 2012 by Tim in Glasgow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not cover the Midlands adequately
Bought this as a present for a friend, as we are both walkers. We live in the Midlands though and there were barely any walks local to us, which we found very surprising. Geographically it is muddled and does not group walks together in a logical manner. Otherwise, as promised, it is hardy and nice looking.
Published 2 months ago by PeacheyStar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good walks for serious walkers, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
I've now done about half a dozen of the walks in here and really like the book and the walks. They are pretty well spread across the UK, so there is likely to be something near you, but I really wanted these walks so that when on holiday or visiting friends I would have a couple of local options rather than having to buy a new walk book for every part of the country and in that respect it works well.

The selection of walks is good, although there are quite a lot of mountains in there, so while definitely being for walkers and not climbers, if you find gradients a challenge then this might not be for you.

There are a few shorter walks of 2-3 hours, but the majority are around the 4-5 hour mark, with a fair few of 6-7, so these are definitely for people who want a full day out.

The maps are taken from the OS maps (although it's a good idea to buy the OS map too), and the descriptions are concise and clear. I really like the ring binder format, which means you can just take one sheet of paper with you rather than having to carry the whole book and the paper is quite hard wearing.

The walks I've done so far have been pretty stunning in their geography, and it makes you realise what a beautiful country we live in. I have quite a few walk books on the shelf, but this is definitely my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great format and very useful, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
Like the format and loose leaf approach - you can simply take out the page for the selected walk and its waterproof too. Would have given 5 stars but have found a couple of annoying editing errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walks in Britain, 25 April 2011
By 
Roger Stringer (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
Good book. Brought for a present, much appreciated by recipient. Ring binder type of book is very practical as too is the plastic/waterproof paper on which it is printed. Would be good if there were other in this series, or ones that were region specific and not UK wide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useable, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
Nice sized book with great walks included. Pages are designed to be removed, so you only need to take the page you need and not the whole book! Pages are showerproof too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
Brilliant. Maps could be more detailed but overall great present for a walking enthusiast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does not cover the Midlands adequately, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
Bought this as a present for a friend, as we are both walkers. We live in the Midlands though and there were barely any walks local to us, which we found very surprising. Geographically it is muddled and does not group walks together in a logical manner. Otherwise, as promised, it is hardy and nice looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I have only managed to do a few of these ..., 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
I have only managed to do a few of these walks. Found that the maps are not very clear and managed to get lost a few times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
Bought as a gift - item came very quickly in perfect condition. Recipient said book was excellent with lots of info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great walks, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
A really good book, with excellent walking ideas. The book is a handy size, but the maps could be a little clearer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good gift for a walker, 3 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) (Loose Leaf)
I bought this advanced gift but it looks well made and the person I gave it to said it was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking)
100 Greatest Walks in Britain (Country Walking) by "Country Walking" Magazine (Loose Leaf - 28 May 2010)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews