Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars37
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Loose Leaf|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2012
I've now done about half a dozen of the walks in here and really like the book and the walks. They are pretty well spread across the UK, so there is likely to be something near you, but I really wanted these walks so that when on holiday or visiting friends I would have a couple of local options rather than having to buy a new walk book for every part of the country and in that respect it works well.

The selection of walks is good, although there are quite a lot of mountains in there, so while definitely being for walkers and not climbers, if you find gradients a challenge then this might not be for you.

There are a few shorter walks of 2-3 hours, but the majority are around the 4-5 hour mark, with a fair few of 6-7, so these are definitely for people who want a full day out.

The maps are taken from the OS maps (although it's a good idea to buy the OS map too), and the descriptions are concise and clear. I really like the ring binder format, which means you can just take one sheet of paper with you rather than having to carry the whole book and the paper is quite hard wearing.

The walks I've done so far have been pretty stunning in their geography, and it makes you realise what a beautiful country we live in. I have quite a few walk books on the shelf, but this is definitely my favourite.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Like the format and loose leaf approach - you can simply take out the page for the selected walk and its waterproof too. Would have given 5 stars but have found a couple of annoying editing errors.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Maps are good for short walks but are too small for longer walks as they are compressed so much to fit that it is very hard to see the detail. Quantity of text is adequate. Spread of walk selections is adequate. Has quite good key maps at the front showing the locations of all the walks for planning purposes, but they could be improved substantially by putting a few towns on them for reference for visitors from overseas who are not familiar enough with UK geography to be able to identify locations from coastline and amalgamated county boundary shapes. If you are only visiting a limited number of counties in UK you may not find enough walks in your area so you would probably be better off with a region specific guide. But if you are covering a large area and just want to do a walk or two here and there, the book fills the bill nicely. Would have rated 4 stars except for the undersize maps - since the pages are removable they could have been made larger to allow for bigger maps.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
Good book. Brought for a present, much appreciated by recipient. Ring binder type of book is very practical as too is the plastic/waterproof paper on which it is printed. Would be good if there were other in this series, or ones that were region specific and not UK wide.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Nice sized book with great walks included. Pages are designed to be removed, so you only need to take the page you need and not the whole book! Pages are showerproof too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Everything you need to for a walk in the country is not quite how I would describe this volume. The first suggestion is the your buy the OS maps for whichever area you are walking in. The OS map extracts in the book are so small, that even if you had a strong magnifying glass they would be insufficient for navigating a walk.

The purple blocks for text background, make whatever is written on top of them impossible to read.

I like that it is loose leaf, and that you can just take the page for the walk you are planning on doing with you.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Brilliant. Maps could be more detailed but overall great present for a walking enthusiast!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
Bought this as a present for a friend, as we are both walkers. We live in the Midlands though and there were barely any walks local to us, which we found very surprising. Geographically it is muddled and does not group walks together in a logical manner. Otherwise, as promised, it is hardy and nice looking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
I have only managed to do a few of these walks. Found that the maps are not very clear and managed to get lost a few times!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Bought as a gift - item came very quickly in perfect condition. Recipient said book was excellent with lots of info
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)