Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the novice and the experienced stitcher, 4 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
I gave this to my mother, an experienced needlewoman of some 60 years who has recently taken up Cross Stitch. She has found it incredibly useful for the finer points of technique and has benefited from the experience encapsulated in this volume. Well laid out and illustrated she was delighted to receive it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
A cross stitch book with some good examples and tips to making successful sewing projects. Worth having if you want to build up a cross stitch library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Useful item, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. Really useful for those wishing to learn more about this craft. I showed it to other stitchers who said that they would consider buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide and project book, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
It is the best and most comprehensive guide of this particular craft that l have come across - why clutter your book shelves with anything lesser?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loved it!, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
I bought this book as part of my wife's birthday present. She has always enjoyed doing cross stitch, but even so seemed over the moon with the book, taking it to show her friends and our daughters! This is despite the low price and it being only a small part of her present. I know nothing about cross stitch but I've given the book 5 stars on the basis of my wife's reaction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
Good book and seller!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New Cross Stitcher's Bible, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
Very informative book, just what I need. All the paterns I could wish for, including numbers, the alphabet and stacks of motives. So pleased I ordered it and would recommend to any cross stick enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For beginners and advance alike, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
Cross Stitch is another one of my hobbies, and this book is a must-have if you are a beginner and need the basics but also if you are intermediate and either want to take your hobby a step further or (as it happens often with me) have to look up a particular stitch.
Jane Greenoff is the Founder of the Cross Stitch Guild in the UK and she is a regular at the cross stitch fairs around the country. You can usually find her at her stall, chatting to cross stitch enthusiasts and given out advice and just 'chatting cross stitch'.
The front cover states the book is a manual of essential cross stitch and counted threat techniques, and this is exactly what you get. If you are already an accomplished cross stitcher, it may be too basic for you. Still, I bought the book after doing cross stitch for quite a number of years and would still refer back to the book - mainly to look up a particular stitch which I don't do often (i.e. hemstitch - no idea why I can never remember it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have reference book for Cross stitchers and Hardanger, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
Comprehensive on all aspects of Cross stitch and other related techniques and lots of patterns and stitch instructions. Brilliant book for those already experienced and for a beginner as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not happy about the jagged edges, 21 Feb 2012
By 
John Meanwood (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Cross Stitcher's Bible: The Definitive Manual of Essential Cross Stitch and Counted Thread Techniques (Paperback)
A friend at work has been trying to get me into cross-stitch because it is something she does on an evening when she is stressed and does not want to watch TV. I had a look through her earlier edition of this book, the one that is spiral bound, and bought this so I could have a more in-depth look. This edition is not spiral bound and will therefore not stay open unless weights are put on the corners, why have the publishers done that?

The book looks very informative with advice on fabric, threads, needles, hoops, frames (I would recommend one of these) and kits etc, going on to starting stitching, designing your own patterns with quite a lot of examples you can photocopy and have a go at yourself (and include which DMC numbered threads to use), and stitches you can do around the edge of your work.

Although I believe cross-stitch will be very therapeutic and relaxing, I can't get over the jagged edges on some of the patterns. If the edge of something is not perfectly straight horizontal or vertical, a jagged edge is most apparent (the cabwould really annoy me and the grass isn't brilliant neither) and it is something that I would not be able to do without trying to correct it; I'm a bit of a perfectionist, I'm afraid.

I have since 'got into' Crewelwork which I find easier and more satisfying, with no jagged edges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews