Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say goodbye to looking up and wondering what's coming next!
If you've ever wondered aloud what sort of cloud was drifting across your field of vision as you lay back in your garden lounger. If you've ever seen clouds rolling in as you pass the point of no-return between your house and the pub and wondered if you should have brought a coat. If you've got fed up with other 'spotting' hobbies because the focus of your hobby keeps...
Published on 24 Aug. 2010 by C. Hatfield

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not very clear
I did not like the book I wanted a book to help me identify clouds and this one did not suit me it was hard to make
Published on 20 Dec. 2012 by dianajedi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say goodbye to looking up and wondering what's coming next!, 24 Aug. 2010
By 
C. Hatfield (Leafy Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
If you've ever wondered aloud what sort of cloud was drifting across your field of vision as you lay back in your garden lounger. If you've ever seen clouds rolling in as you pass the point of no-return between your house and the pub and wondered if you should have brought a coat. If you've got fed up with other 'spotting' hobbies because the focus of your hobby keeps flying or buzzing away before you can get an identification book out. Then cloud spotting and this book is for you.

The guide is very logically laid out with each cloud having its own section. There's a handy quick reference bit at the front with small pictures of clouds and the pages you need to turn to for a more detailed identification. Each section has a description of what a particular cloud can tell you about the weather due to come your way. This is one of the clearest and best laid out books, of its type, I have ever seen.

I've bought several copies for other people who, upon seeing my copy, have asked for their own. There's quite a group of us at work across the world who now are members of the cloud spotting fraternity and have copies of this book. I can't help but feel that this is how loony cults start!

Buy this book and join us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars learnig about clouds, 22 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
I wanted a straightforward, but well-informed book about clouds. This would enable me to identify different kinds of cloud, with some ideas about what that might mean for the weather in the short term. This book fulfills that wish admirably. The photographs are of a high quality, and the text is very clear. The book slips easily into a jacket pocket, so is readily accessible while outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Met office cloud book, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
V. Howard (Berkshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
A really useful and compact little book. I also bought one as a gift for a friend who is a 'cloud fanatic' and she loves it. Clear illustrations and explanations and a compact size to fit in your pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compact review of clouds, 19 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
This is a simple, clear, and well-written book of the 27 classified cloud types. With the old adage of a picture speaking a thousand words, this book succinctly explains and identifies each cloud type with a masterful colour photograph of the archetypal example. Keeping the contents to a minimum enables a true pocket book to be kept in your coat or any bag, for reference and enjoyment.

Perhaps surprisingly, clouds are essentially just symptoms of what is going on in the atmosphere - clouds themselves do not really comprise of 'the weather' itself. The reasons for the cloud shapes, altitudes and behaviour (rain or otherwise) are the changing airmasses, temperatures, pressures (highs and lows, etc.) and humidity levels, whose complex resultants produce patterns above our heads (usually) that we call clouds.

Unfortunately, given the brevity of the book - which is a winning formula as just a book on clouds - there is no space to explore and impart a greater understanding just how and why such clouds form, which would surely have raised this book to 5 stars.

For a primer on clouds, as a reference and guide to viewing and starting to understand meteorology by starting with cloud viewing, this is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for cloud gazers, 16 Feb. 2011
By 
david b dumble (chelsea, victoria, AU) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
The title says it all - This is the ideal companion for anyone who likes watching clouds but doesn't know what the various kinds of cloud mean. Small enough to keep handy when traveling, it covers pretty well any cloud types you are likely to see & tells you what effect they are likely to have on the weather. The quick reference pages are particularly useful for rapid identification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy little book., 2 May 2011
By 
J P. McHugh (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
Nice little book you can carry around in your pocket when out walking or just sky gazing. Plenty of colour pics and good explanations.

Nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Book, 8 Sept. 2011
By 
Gm Howard (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
I've always found clouds very interesting but knew nothing about them. This book has enlightened me. It is so informative, yet easy to follow and understand. I don't suppose I'll ever be an expert in the cloud business but this little gem will keep me well informed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is lovely but..., 20 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
As said it fits in your pocket and is good but now,having become a bit of a cloud fan and being a total newbie at it I've found there are more accessible books available which include much more information which for me is really useful.
So I have this, the Collins Gem and the Cloud spotters guide which give me a broad field of information to fill in the gaps that this book has in that in comparison I find it rather dry.
I hope that in the future this handy reference will come completely into it's own.
The reference pictures at the front are already particularly useful
I would recommend it whole heartedly but a little foreknowledge would help in my opinion.
And some time later having bought a couple of other 'cloud' books this one has come into it's own.

I can only speak for myself but the various classifications can be really confusing without the basic (and I mean basic as in coming from a place of no knowledge) underpinnings and that was what I lacked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 28 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
Very portable reference book for instant identification of cloud formations. Some great pictures too which make it a pleasure to browse through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A handy guide, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
G. Dellar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book (Hardcover)
A useful and well-illustrated pocket guide, bought by a sometime met observer for a teenager who has shown an interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book
The Met Office Pocket Cloud Book by Richard Hamblyn (Hardcover - 28 May 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews