Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


177 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bag making bible? absolutely!
You might question how a book of only 160 pages can call itself a "bible" but don't, because that's exactly what it is!

It has everything you need to know in order to make your own bags from the patterns included in the book and to understand how to put your own ideas together to create your own bags should you feel inspired. I've been waiting (not so...
Published on 27 Aug 2010 by Green Book Addict Librarian

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but a few niggles
First the good bits:
The bags are really lovely and the patterns do work well, once you get your head around them.
I also like the way that Lisa Lam describes the processes and goes into great detail about the materials and components.
Now for the niggles:
As others have mentioned, aarrggh - that pale grey font! WHY oh why is it everywhere at the...
Published 5 months ago by inthekitchenatparties


‹ Previous | 116 17 1827 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, good for demonstrating techniques, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
I haven't yet made any of the specific bags as explained in this book, but I have been using it to explain different techniques and give me ideas for my own projects. Good clear instructions and pictures; I have learnt a lot about how to put zips in and what a difference interfacing and wadding can make to a project. And the discovery of plastic grid for bag bases (or in my case to give strength to a small tool case) has been a revelation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful and addictive, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
excellent and useful book. Should come with a warning that you'll want to make them all. Sometimes the instructions weren't that clear. You need to read your pattern thoroughly all the way through and not make the mistake of going step by step like i did,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bag making bible., 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
Have read the book from cover to cover and find it both interesting and inspiring.Am at present just collecting fabric/buttons /buckles etc. from charity shops before I get started probably in the winter months ahead. Am looking forward to producing great bags and being the envy of all my friends and will certainly reccomend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear explanations and basic stuff., 30 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
Clear explanations and basic stuff.
Good for beginers and no so novel....Some projects may not be very stylish but as use of techniques and so on is a very complete book, well and clearly explained , step by step, photos...I reccomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bags of bags!, 17 April 2012
By 
Ann (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
A super book for anyone interested in making their own bags. Well illustrated with easy to understand instructions make this a must for those who need help with the technical side of things. Lots of different styles presented in a way which makes you want to get sewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So many ideas!, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
Although this books was an impulse buy it didn't disappoint me. It is very thorough and has guides on how to contruct lots of different elements of a bag. It also has information about the equipment and components that you will need as well as many tips. I haven't made anything yet simply because there are so many bags to choose from and I don't have enough time!
The one thing that is missing for me(and that is because I am a visual learner) is more photos of each step. It does have lots of photos in it but I would have loved step-by-step photos - the book doesn't always have one photo per step. But I would strongly recommend this book - I would definitely buy it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for beginners and experts, 17 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
One of the best craft books that i have purchased. The instructions are clear and easy to follow with good
illustrations. I have made one of the easy bags and can't wait to get on to something a little more complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bag Making Bible, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
This book is a must if you love making bags. Great pictures and schematics, clear instructions, treasure trove of useful tips, exciting bag making projects. I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a real bible!, 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
The book is absolutely great, a real bible. I am a beginner and i managed to make all the bags and to make mine patterns so as to make some adjustments. It needs a lot of practicing though.Don't worry if you won't like the bags in the book. After learning all the techniques explained in this book you can make whatever bag you like.
In my opinion it is the best book that someone could buy so as to learn how to make bags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to get started., 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bag Making Bible: The Complete Guide to Sewing and Customizing Your Own Unique Bags (Paperback)
I saw this book whilst shopping but had to leave it as I was running late. Got home and ordered it straightaway and at a better price! The book is amazing giving every detail you would need to succeed. There are patterns included for making some bags. The descriptions and pictures are very helpful. I plan to start making bags for Christmas presents. Of course the first will be for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1827 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews