Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Techniques and Tips!
Do not be put off by the main title of this book. If you love using your sewing machine, but only use it for basics and you are not sure what else it can do, then this book will help you explore possible uses of all those decorative stitches. There are over 35 well-explained machine techniques and whether you choose to make a quilt or just have a go at some of the...
Published on 9 Jun. 2010 by J. K. Wilson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five star content. Check version you receive
Fabulous book clear instructions and truly inspirational. Dropped stars as my book was not up to standard the templates are not accurate due to someone messing around with the printing. My book was printed by Amazon not David and Charles. Make sure you get the David and Charles edition with accurate templates not the shoddy Amazon version. FIVE STARS for the David and...
Published 7 months ago by S. Webb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Techniques and Tips!, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
Do not be put off by the main title of this book. If you love using your sewing machine, but only use it for basics and you are not sure what else it can do, then this book will help you explore possible uses of all those decorative stitches. There are over 35 well-explained machine techniques and whether you choose to make a quilt or just have a go at some of the smaller projects, there are lots of exciting things to try.
Try trapunto, add tucks to your fabric, try appliqué, cording and pulled thread work as well as experimenting with a twin or wing needle with your decorative stitches. I would not have believed it so easy to sew in circles with the help of only a drawing pin and a piece of sticky tape had I not read about it; you can even make your own lace.
If you do want to make a bed quilt then Pauline suggests you make individual blocks first and then join them in a `quilt as you go` method. Whatever you do, her book will help you get to know more about what your sewing machine can do and to create work that you will treasure for many years to come. After I got my copy I met Pauline at a quilt show; now I'm looking forward to her next book!
Judith Wilson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual techniques, 20 Jun. 2010
By 
Elizabeth A. Ireland (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
I am really pleased with this book. I have quite a collection of quilting books but this one is by far the more informative than any of the others.

I have learnt some new and interesting techniques that I have not seen before. The instructions are well laid out and easy to follow. I am looking forward to using the fancy stitches on my machine. This book comes thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really lovely book on the subject, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
Blokes don't normally make a load of quilts, but my wife does, and she tells me that this book is wonderful.
It's very well illustrated and the projects are very easy to follow. This is largely helped by the excellent templates included, and it all adds up to a book that she would not be without.

Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny !, 19 Sept. 2010
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
I found something new to learn on every page...and as I've been sewing for over 50 years it was a real eye-opener to find out how many different ways there are of using even a basic machine. I can thoroughly recommend this book to everyone of all abilities because the techniques will amaze you. I always wondered how to "quilt as you go" and now I know ! Clear explanations and beautiful illustrations .....but not over-complicated. A good addition to your sewing library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Dec. 2011
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
A new sewing machine and wanting to do something very different from making curtains and blinds led me to this book.

I was totally inspired. Each section is very easy to read and contain step by step instructions. At the back of the book is a very helpful techniques section that goes through all the techniques required to make the quilt in more detail. Throughout the book there are some some amazing pictures of the quilt and blocks.

The book is split into sections that form the blocks for the quilt and at the start of each section is a list of all the fabrics etc required. However, if you are looking to make the whole quilt the easiest option is to go to Pauline's website, [...] and download the order form. Pauline can supply you with most of the supplies you need to make the heirloom quilt and the service I received was excellent - I got my order with 3 days. The quality of the fabrics provided is excellent.

If you are not looking to make the whole quilt, and are looking to learn some great sewing techniques the book is still a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 23 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
This book is not for the feint hearted! It is for perfectionists.
The standard of workmanship is awesome but it offers a step by step
method of all the techniques used with smaller projects to try the
techniques out on first. It offers beautiful pictures of projects and techniques,
sound instructions and patterns. This book is for those who wish to expand
on existing knowledge or want to try different techniques.
It is unique and offers the intermediate sewer a meaty challenge. 'Well Done'
Mz Ineson for sharing your work and presenting it in a very pleasing way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book for those wishing to learn more than just piecing blocks., 7 Jan. 2012
By 
P. E. Mallett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
I do enjoy making quilts and found this book giving me so many ideas on more advanced methods than just piecing together shapes of fabric. The book describes how to make a really super-duper quilt out of silk fabric, however I am sure that much of the tuition could be used in a more economical way with cotton fabric. The book gives details of every procedure in a very clear and concise way with plenty of diagrams to assist the user. I would certainly recommend it as a useful addition to any quilt makers library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Create an Heirloom Quilt, 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
I happened upon this book by chance and was immediatley drawn by it. It is laid out in very easy to understand chapters detailing every technique used. It also provides instructions for smaller items that incorporate the techniques which enable you to practice them first before tackling the larger quilt.
I was lucky enough to meet the author at the recent Sewing for Pleasure show, held at the NEC Birmingham. I joined in two workshops where some of the techniques were demonstrated. I had a great time and am now looking forward to taking part in a course on Heirloom sewing held by Ms Ineson.
I fully recommend this book and also encourage people to have a look at her website for more information on her courses.
In short Brilliant.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Create an Heirloom Quilt, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
I bought this book after seeing a picture of the beautiful 'Trapunto cushion' in another publication. This is not a book for the absolute beginner, but if you're ready to take your quilting/needlework to a new level, there is plenty here to keep you busy and improve your skills. Much of the emphasis is on machine techniques, including the use of a wide range of fancy stitches, cutwork, fagotting, smocking, puffing (yes, really!), pintucks and stuffed and corded quilting. While the Heirloom Quilt itself is a pretty demanding project, there are plenty of suggestions for smaller pieces using the same techniques. I have now made a pair of 'Trapunto cushions' and did find the instructions a little out in one or two places - surely you should stuff the centre and sew up the slit BEFORE attaching the calico backing! Nonetheless, I'm very pleased with the results. A word of warning - I have a mid-range sewing machine with which I've hitherto been pretty satisfied, but I must admit that I'm beginning to covet something a bit more ambitious (and expensive!)....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars patchwork, 7 Jan. 2011
This review is from: How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt (Paperback)
This Quilt is fabulous, I found the instructions slightly difficult to follow and had to concentrate, but the finished article is beautiful. I made mine in cotton and it worked just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Create an Heirloom Quilt: Learn Over 30 Machine Techniques to Build a Beautiful Quilt
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews