Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Knitting Bible
I am an nexperienced knitter and I have few knitting books, but this one is by far the best, even if it is written in American English. Clear pictures, brilliant colours and extremely useful comments. A must for someone who wants to improve techniques and learn about colour composition, and wants to start experimenting with more challenging projects and creating own...
Published on 11 Dec. 2009 by La Fata

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for beginners, gets complicated early on
I knitted when I was very young, basic. Having just got into again, I decided to buy this based on reviews. Although it is promising, I feel that this book would benefit people who used to beable to knit all styles and have lost practise or for people who have more experience-this book got too complicated and algebra like early on despite my eagerness and commitment to...
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by Missy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Knitting Bible, 11 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
I am an nexperienced knitter and I have few knitting books, but this one is by far the best, even if it is written in American English. Clear pictures, brilliant colours and extremely useful comments. A must for someone who wants to improve techniques and learn about colour composition, and wants to start experimenting with more challenging projects and creating own designs. Would highly recommend it even to beginners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for any knitter's library, 23 Sept. 2010
By 
Pa Bastin "CatBastin" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
A thoroughly great book - not only are the patterns great, the advice is good - as an experienced knitter it was nice to have relevant information and advice rather than the usual half-book rehash of how to knit from scratch. Having said that, the advice is sufficiently easy to follow for knitters of all abilities to follow. Gorgeous illustrations, clear patterns, and good inspiration for your own projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid book!, 14 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a reference book for anyone who wants to design any knitted item, and the subject is colour. It probably says all you really need to know about colour and knitting as it covers so many different techniques. The instructions are very clear, the diagrams and photos are excellent.

It's very good on choosing colours to use together, knitting with different coloured yarns and multi-colour yarns and the effect stitch choices have. Also creating pattern effects in the colour, or random effects, and then special techniques: stranded knitting, intarsia, helix knitting, shadow knitting, mosaic knitting, twined knitting, double knitting (two layers at once), designing with modules (a.k.a patchwork knitting), entrelac.

There's a nice "design workshop" section with basic garment design and most appropriately it ends up with finishing touches. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring ideas for using 'stash', 26 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
Plenty of colour illusstrations to help you blend or combine colours using small quantities. Good stitch guide to show how colour choices can be used. An excellent book for using up stash as well as creating really attractive items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive colour knitting guide, 15 Nov. 2011
By 
E. Hartley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
This book is a great overview of colour knitting techniques, including the obligatory colour theory section at the beginning (it's well done, but colour theory is never that exciting). This book introduces colourwork techniques from basic stripes and varigated yarns through slip stitch patterns, intarsia, stranded work, twined knitting, shadow knitting and more. The chapter on finishing techniques is worth the price of the book however - techniques I've previously only seen on technical knitting blogs, explained and presented in an easy to follow manner.

This would be a great buy for an adventurous beginner, an intermediate knitter looking to add their own stamp to patterns, or an experienced knitter looking for inspiration or to brush up on techniques. The only possible downside is that the projects included call for yarn from a small US based supplier - though with the guidance on choosing yarns and colourways included in the book, finding suitable substitutions shouldn't be too much of a trial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colour Knitting, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
Although this book is a paperback, the pages are thick, hardwearing and pleasantly smooth to touch. The print colours are very clear, important when the subject is about colour knitting. The focus of this book is about how to use stitches with different coloured wools rather than teaching how to knit or presenting really fancy designs. A clear graph for each patterned stitch is displayed on each page: the instructions couldn't be clearer. In addition to the stitches and advice on colour, there is information on design in general. I have found this book very useful for developing my own creative thoughts with the variety of wool that I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for beginners, gets complicated early on, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
I knitted when I was very young, basic. Having just got into again, I decided to buy this based on reviews. Although it is promising, I feel that this book would benefit people who used to beable to knit all styles and have lost practise or for people who have more experience-this book got too complicated and algebra like early on despite my eagerness and commitment to learn. I have given this book a 3 star due to my personal experience of not engaging with it, but it is an incredible book so would recommend if your more of a confident knitter or fast learner. I am returning it and going to purchase Knitty Gritty: Knitting for the Absolute Beginner by Aneeta Patel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that keen knitters will be keen to have., 10 July 2012
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
This is a very attractive and extremely useful book, providing plenty of practical advice and inspiration for using colour. I took it to my craft group where it was enthused over. Acessible to beginning knitters, it nevertheless provides lots of ideas for experienced knitters to develop their skills. Instructions are clear and very well illustrated. A glowing gem of a book, it makes your fingers itch to get knitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lots of practical advice, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
the book goes from simple stripes to complex stitch and colour patterns. I got it becasue I wanted a guide to knitting with multple colours and how to do intarsia - it not only has that but lots of clever tips for fixing mistakes and finishing projects. Well illustrated and very clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring!, 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques (Paperback)
This book has lots of good ideas in it, the photos are clear and so are the instructions ... at least for the couple of things I've tried so far. The section on using the colour wheel to select colour schemes is helpful for both my knitting and my art. I'm glad I bought this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques
The Essential Guide to Colour Knitting Techniques by Margaret Radcliffe (Paperback - 28 Aug. 2009)
Used & New from: £69.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews