Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best !
There are many good, some very good, books providing advice upon taking photographs of wildlife. I have read many and been pleased that I have done so. Then I read this offering from Guy Edwardes and realised that here was something special. Every one of the 100 ideas is illustrated with one of Guy's images and they alone are worth the price of the book (see the 2020...
Published on 8 Jun. 2010 by Peter Warne

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you have/can afford all the equipment!
Lovely photos and potentially useful guidance. Just be aware the photos and specifications are from a Canon camera and the author uses a lot of very expensive equipment to achieve his results. While there is some general guidance on taking a good photo, mostly it relates to how to use the difference lenses etc - which may or may not be useful to you!
Published on 3 Jan. 2012 by JacquelineAmber


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best !, 8 Jun. 2010
By 
Peter Warne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are many good, some very good, books providing advice upon taking photographs of wildlife. I have read many and been pleased that I have done so. Then I read this offering from Guy Edwardes and realised that here was something special. Every one of the 100 ideas is illustrated with one of Guy's images and they alone are worth the price of the book (see the 2020 vision website for free examples). Each photograph is suitably annotated with both text and the conditions under which the picture was captured and so one not only picks up the message he is trying to convey, but also, multitudinous ways to experiment with taking original pictures. Heed the warning, expenditure will not stop with this book but any enthusiast will find a bundle of things to try out and have a lot of fun in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing photos and loads of tips!, 8 May 2010
By 
I discovered the work of Guy Edwardes when I borrowed the book "100 ways to take better landscape photographs" at my local library. I loved the photos and the accompanied explanations and I bought my own copy soon after. When I heard about his new book, I added it to my wishing list and got it as a present and I haven't been disappointed!

This new book uses the same format as the first one. On each page, Guy Edwardes gives some advice on a specific subject, such as composition, lighting, equipment, and illustrates it with a photo and an additional text related to how and where the photo was taken. I particularly like the technical detailed info for each photo (aperture and speed settings, lens, use of a tripod, extender, hide, flash, location...). I also like the way the author tells us about the conditions and the difficulties behind the photos. The text is fluid, not too technical and is written like a short story. The photos are amazing and very inspirational.

Wildlife photography is not easy and while it can be the result of luck, Guy Edwardes provides a lot of precious tips about preparation and research to increase the chance to take great photos.

A book for any photographer interested in taking better photos and to anyone who likes to look at beautiful photos of nature and wildlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual treat with inspiring and practical advice, 26 Aug. 2010
By 
Ade H (Cider country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though I have never had a very active interest in this particular subject matter, I bought this title anyway, simply because I have always liked the work of Guy Edwardes. This is a book that can be judged by its cover, because most of the images that it contains are at least as eye catching as that photo of a Godwit. And not only did the images impress me, but so too did almost all aspects of this book.

Given the subject matter, and my experience of some other titles, I half-expected to be told that I should purchase a collection of equipment the value of which would buy a luxury yacht, else I would be doomed to fail. Edwardes tactfully avoids this: he briefly describes his current choice of equipment and what he used when he began in wildlife photography and, while he is realistic about what the subject can demand, he remains fairly realistic about what you really need and what can be achieved with a more modest budget. (Though that is a relative term, so take care if this book hooks you!)

There is a slight impression of some overlap as a result of aiming for a nice round number: I would have been just as likely to buy it if it contained fewer than 100 tips. But that is no matter, because the information is of top quality throughout: clear, realistic, specific, and practical. This is exactly what all guides to photography should aim to achieve, but some otherwise decent books fall a bit short in this respect and end up being rather indistinct and uninformative.

Similarly, this book gets another good mark for providing a good quantity of essential information, including an approximate location, alongside each image. Failure to provide enough data is all too common, but this book does much better than most. The only obvious omission is the time of year at which each photo was taken: I would have found that interesting and very useful, but it is rarely mentioned.

It concludes with the almost obligatory advice about digital post production, but these last few tips are general and as relevant to the subject as all of the others. Edwardes has avoided the usual "this is how you do it in Photoshop" step-by-step instructions that are almost irrelevant to anyone who chooses not to spend so much money on Photoshop CS. Instead, there is only advice that is worth considering when working with wildlife images.

All in all, this really is a very good read, and one which I am sure would be constructive for any relative novice who has never experimented with wildlife photography and may be unsure whether to get into it. On the other hand, it does not patronise the more experienced reader and there is bound to be something here that will make you think. There are some photography writers who could learn a thing or two from Edwardes's concise, focused, and engaging style that delivers practical and encouraging, often inspiring, advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for beginners, 18 July 2010
By 
Andrew W (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
An excellent book for beginners in wildlife photography. Clear writing style, great photos. The "100 ways" format also makes things clear and isolates each particular point, which works well. Although the format sometimes means subjects aren't explored in quite as much detail as would be ideal due to the limitations of how much text can be fitted on a single page (for each "way").

If you have read other books on wildlife, you will probably find most of this is familiar to you - and in that case you might want to flip through it before buying. It would also be worth getting a book from another wildlife photographer e.g. Andy Rouse or Chris Weston, who has a different style and emphasises slightly different things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book written by a truly great photographer, 3 May 2010
Sadly, many books on photography appear to be written by people whose efforts as a photographer don't match their writing abilities!

Before buying books on photography I always take a look at a range of images the author has written - and very often I don't rate them as much better photographers than myself.Not so with Guy Edwardes. It was after taking a look at his images on the web that I was persuaded to buy his first book and I wasn't dissapointed - it's still one of the few books I still dip into frequently.

This latest offering is equally impressive. The amount of information supplied about each image makes it a useful book for both the beginner and the professional photographer. I particularly like the idea of each chapter containing one 'tip' - a review of the index is a useful quick reminder of the skills you will learn in this book.

It covers the whole range of nature photography from birds in flight to macro photography and is a very welcome addition to my bookshelf. Every image from this clearly talented photographer deserves 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff but.............., 3 Jan. 2012
By 
J. Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Ways to Take Better Nature & Wildlife Photographs (Paperback)
Took delivery of this book yesterday. Photos are outstanding and I agree with another reviewer that you really do need a high quality 500mm lens & sometimes a 2x converter to get close enough to the subject. So if your looking for tips to take those truely great shots, you will need access to some seriously expensive gear. The lens he uses most is only £5-6,000, converter another £400, and you'll need a hide and a lot of patience. Personally I like the book, good value for £10 and the content inspirational and gear aspirational. Err.. Guy can I borrow your lens please Ta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good tips, great pictures, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. T. Pile "Timbo" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The various tips and succint and well written, and the accompanying pictures are excellent.
The post processing tips are especially useful, and Guy is pragmatic on the types of post-processing you can do to a natural history image.

Guy lists the camera, lens, ISO, shutter speed/aperture and even the tripod head used with each picture, which is quite useful if you are starting out in the field.

Overall a good book, well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Ways to take Better Nature & Wildlife Photographs, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
R. Portman (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ways to Take Better Nature & Wildlife Photographs (Paperback)
A really excellent book for the keen photography. Not only beautifully presented with marvellous photos but with good descriptions of the photographers intent in taking his photos and then the very useful technical detail of how the camera was set up to take the photo. This provides real data that can be very helpful in practising different approaches.

There are many excellent books around for the wildlife photographer to buy but i recommend this book above others and it is excellent value for money , particularly when brought through Amazon .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expert camera settings for taking wildlife photographs, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ways to Take Better Nature & Wildlife Photographs (Paperback)
This book is essential for beginners and advanced photographers alike. Each photo is accompanied with all the camera settings, for example wether a tripod was used or hand held in fact every detail you need to know before taking the shot, this helps enormously for example where you might be in a situation requiring a long shot using a converter but no tripod to hand, in fact this book covers every aspect that you may come across. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you have/can afford all the equipment!, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Ways to Take Better Nature & Wildlife Photographs (Paperback)
Lovely photos and potentially useful guidance. Just be aware the photos and specifications are from a Canon camera and the author uses a lot of very expensive equipment to achieve his results. While there is some general guidance on taking a good photo, mostly it relates to how to use the difference lenses etc - which may or may not be useful to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Ways to Take Better Nature & Wildlife Photographs
100 Ways to Take Better Nature & Wildlife Photographs by Guy Edwardes (Paperback - 25 Feb. 2011)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews