Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!
I am a professional photographer, and, slightly arrogantly - didn't really think that much of this book when given it recently as a present.
. . . Big mistake! This book is a revelation.
Firstly - none of the 50 suggestions are rocket science. Most people who own a camera of any sort will be able to get through something in this book with some success...
Published on 27 July 2010 by B&W

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new camera is not a new technique or idea
Buying a new camera is not the way to jolt your way out of a photography rut. So goes the general wisdom.

11 out of the 50 suggestions here are about using a new camera (including a scanner). Using a toy camera is included twice. Panoramic cameras are included twice (once for vertical use).

5 of the suggestions are not about taking photographs at...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by Steven R. House


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 27 July 2010
I am a professional photographer, and, slightly arrogantly - didn't really think that much of this book when given it recently as a present.
. . . Big mistake! This book is a revelation.
Firstly - none of the 50 suggestions are rocket science. Most people who own a camera of any sort will be able to get through something in this book with some success.
Whether using film or digital media, all of Lee's suggestions are very un-exclusive. You don't need to be a massively creative person to make beautiful imagery - because the book will show you how.
Secondly - even if you are a relatively experienced amateur or professional - I would be very surprised if you were already aware of ALL the techniques in this book. Many are well-known. Some are quite commonplace
- but a lot are simple, easy-to-understand but creative practices. With not too much difficulty, your results should be a presentable, even 'frame-able' image & isn't that really what most people are after when doing personal work?

If you buy this book, or are bought it - set aside some spare time. You are likely to be making quite a lot of beautiful pictures in the near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class 'Frost' again. !!, 21 Jan 2011
By 
A tongue-in-cheek purchase that turned out to be a gem. Lee Frost really
does try to author interesting and fresh photography books, with his 50 projects
he has done it again. The book presents neatly presented and inspirational
projects dealing with a diverse range of subjects. I am sure there will be
of plenty of digital only advocates who may not want use the film suggestions
but the idea of the book is to get you out of the point and shoot doldrums
and get discipline into your photography endeavours without stifling creativity.

I would certainly recommend this to anyone who is willing to try new ways with
their imaging making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of ideas, 25 Feb 2010
An interesting book with a lot of different ideas. The author wrote this book after being "stuck in a rut" with his photography, I bought it whilst feeling the same. I don't think that all the "projects" in here really are (eg - buy a Holga), but there's certainly plenty of inspiration. Now it's just a case of getting out and shooting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, loads of fantastic ideas with helpful steps, 6 Feb 2010
This is a lovely book with lots of different ideas to test out. Also comes with direct tips on exactly how to recreate the effects/ideas.

A beautiful book with wonderful pictures throughout and great advice and tips - I am really pleased with my purchase :)

Would make a wonderful gift for the keen amateur or buy it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new camera is not a new technique or idea, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Steven R. House "up a creek" (Aylesham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buying a new camera is not the way to jolt your way out of a photography rut. So goes the general wisdom.

11 out of the 50 suggestions here are about using a new camera (including a scanner). Using a toy camera is included twice. Panoramic cameras are included twice (once for vertical use).

5 of the suggestions are not about taking photographs at all: mixed media printing, montage, three of a kind, making a blog and using print-on-demand services.

It takes 5 sections to get across the idea of simplicity in composition: isolation, details, keep it simple, patterns and shapes.

It takes 5 sections to talk about light: dawn, dusk, storms, night and low light

That leaves 14 about subjects and 12 about technique.

One section is about "Taking a holiday". That's just taking the mickey.

All in all a lazy and unsatisfactory book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give Yourself a Challenge, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Photo Projects: Ideas to Kick-Start Your Photography (Paperback)
If your photography is in the doldrums this book amke kick start your interest and give you some ideas to challenge yourself with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book to get started., 27 April 2011
From the perspective of an amateur snapper that has yet to learn all of the tricks of the trade, this is a fantastic book!

It is full of useful information and some really great ideas to help kickstart or advance your hobby so even if you have a fair bit of experience, then it's definately worth a look.

Although if you are very advanced in your craft, please don't be put off by my comments. This could well be usefull for even the most professional photographer, I'm just a little too green to be able to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great book, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Photo Projects: Ideas to Kick-Start Your Photography (Paperback)
This was bought for me by my son for Xmas and I think it's a fantastic photography book. I haven't had much chance to try much from the book yet but I'm c we certainly going to doing lots from it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Photo Projects: Ideas to Kick-Start Your Photography (Paperback)
At first glance at the headings, i wasn't that impressed but reading it and getting into the book my mind was running with ideas. So glad i bought it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 30 Dec 2013
By 
P. Wightman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Photo Projects: Ideas to Kick-Start Your Photography (Paperback)
Have learnt a lot from this book, some great ideas as I love experimenting with my camera this book came in very Handy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50 Photo Projects: Ideas to Kick-Start Your Photography
50 Photo Projects: Ideas to Kick-Start Your Photography by Lee Frost (Paperback - 26 Aug 2011)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews