Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


211 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential reference
Wow! A dressmaking book that is clear and easy to use. It includes basic techniques through to more sophisticated tailoring. The diagrams and photos are the only ones I have found so far (I have lots of dressmaking books) that are easy to follow. It gives great tips on achieving better finishes and the kind of problems most people encounter trying to follow patterns or...
Published on 30 Nov 2008 by J. Beszant

versus
154 of 160 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best
I was given this as a present by a thoughtful friend. It had been on my wishlist for a while, and so I was qutie happy to receive it. Until I opened it.

It's spiral-bound and small, which makes it handy to handle (although it still doesn't bend backwards, it does keep its page when opened flat), but greatly reduces image size and detailing. Instructions aren't...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Ms E. Exintaris


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

211 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential reference, 30 Nov 2008
By 
J. Beszant "culture vulture" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
Wow! A dressmaking book that is clear and easy to use. It includes basic techniques through to more sophisticated tailoring. The diagrams and photos are the only ones I have found so far (I have lots of dressmaking books) that are easy to follow. It gives great tips on achieving better finishes and the kind of problems most people encounter trying to follow patterns or creating your own designs. Includes a chart of body shapes and the kind of clothes that suit them. Also diagrams of different styles of clothes and the techniques that are required to make them. Excellent for both beginners and as a reference for more experienced dressmakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


154 of 160 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Ms E. Exintaris "bibliophile" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
I was given this as a present by a thoughtful friend. It had been on my wishlist for a while, and so I was qutie happy to receive it. Until I opened it.

It's spiral-bound and small, which makes it handy to handle (although it still doesn't bend backwards, it does keep its page when opened flat), but greatly reduces image size and detailing. Instructions aren't as detailed as they could be and I often found myself going "HUH?" when looking something up or randomly reading. And I have a fair amount of experience, as I make my own dresses (!!).

My personal recommendation, whether you're new to sewing or more experienced would be to get "The Sewing book" by Alison Smith instead (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sewing-Book-Alison-Smith). Large images, brilliant step-by-tiny-step explanations... and some advanced projects at the end of the book to inspire you to go further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome - a must have reference book!, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Karen Jane (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
This is a user friendly book:

* neat size
* spiral bound making it easy to use as one is working
* excellent diagrams and step by step guides to techniques

The book also advises how to choose styles to suit each body type.

This invaluable book would be suitable for all - as a guide for the beginner or reference for the more experienced dressmaker. I am employed in a sewing room but have returned to dressmaking for myself recently - this is just what I needed to refresh my memory.

I will not need another reference book - this truly is a 'bible' for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stuuningly helpful little book!, 4 July 2009
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book based on the first review and WOW - it certainly is fantastic, clear and practical too ... the spiral binding allows it to sit open next to the sewing machine as I use it. I've been sewing for years (self taught) and this is one of the most helpful sewing books I have come across - lovely clear photographs and explanations. I forget techniques I haven't used for a while and wanted a book that would save me from time-consuming practice and material wastage. It's exactly what I wanted. Thank you to Lorna Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Techniques, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book for my daughter who has just started making her own costumes. She refers to it all the time! The spiral spine and hard cover are ideal as you can prop it up and use both hands to do your work. I recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dressmaker's Technique Bible, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
As a dressmaker for over 40 years and the owner of many dressmaking/sewing books, I was delighted with this book.
It is so user friendly, with clearly defined graphics and marvellous techniques. I have already implemented some
of the techniques shown and the results were very successful and professional. Also the A5 size makes it very convenient as I can have it next to my machine for immediate reference.

My compliments and thanks to Lorna Knight for a really great book.

Maria Morrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book because the reviews were favourable. Very disappointing. A lot about stitching seams we never use anymore and very little about actual sewing. Expecting a sewer to sew a whole dress lining explained by 3 tiny drawing is ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for beginners and experienced students, 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
This book is great for students to use - good diagrams and photos, and clear explanations - I have recommended it to many of my students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does everything!, 20 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. K. Johnston "K. Johnston" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
Just recieved this book today and I'm so impressed. Althought I know how to do all the different types of seams and I'm not a beginner, I had forgotten a few of them. This is a great book for inspiration and makes you want to take the extra time to use different techniques instead of just sticking to old faithful. The only problem was that some of the pages were stuck together as its a ring bound book, so I tore some of the little bits holding it together. If you pull the pages apart as if you were reading from back cover to front before you read it I find they dont rip as easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The dressmakers technique bible, 7 April 2010
By 
N. Sellars "Fashionista" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques (Spiral-bound)
It is what it says on the book, it has everything in this book, I love the size of the book because you can carry it around with you. This book is very easy to follow and it explains things very well. Not only does it show you sewing techniques but it also tells you about fabrics and equipment that you may need, very good book worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dressmaker's Technique Bible: A Complete Guide to Fashion Sewing Techniques
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews