Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracker, 24 Mar 2009
This review is from: Digital SLR Expert: Landscapes: Essential Advice from the Pros (Hardcover)
A beautiful book of quality rather than quantity that concentrates on the subject matter (rather than padding out with endless chapters on choosing memory cards and the like, which is the downfall of many books). The use of different authors for each subject matter is an interesting touch. The images throughout the book are both beautiful, and yet achievable for (what I would expect to be) the 'target audience'. The examples used in the book clearly illustrate the technical and artistic points raised within the text.
My only gripe - and it's a fairly inconsequential one, directed at the editorial department as opposed to the authors, is that there are still a few rather pointless pages on the digital vs. film debate. Anyone not convinced by 2009 is not likely to buy this book - for the next edition, fill that space with some more shots!
I should say that the book is directed, as the cover implies, at the intermediate to expert photographer: I'd be very surprised though, if anyone who picked it up, did not get some valuable advice or inspiration. I am pleased that I bought it!
(As a complete aside, my seven-year-old flicked through the book and noticed that a lovely image of David Noton's is taken from the same cave location of one of the dramatic opening scenes of Narnia - Prince Caspian (page 46). Apparently Mr Noton is now the coolest 'tog ever.......)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - happy with purchase, 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Digital SLR Expert: Landscapes: Essential Advice from the Pros (Hardcover)
This is a great book.

Beautiful pictures throughout with helpful insight into recreating the same effects. There are really useful 'handy tips' throughout it and it will definitely inspire you to go out and do loads of shooting.

Well worth the money - a lovely purchase for yourself or as a gift :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 1 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Expert: Landscapes: Essential Advice from the Pros (Hardcover)
Good book, very good in fact. I liked the fact it was written by various photographers each of whom gave their own perspective on the subject. It is also primarily a book about photography not about cameras, which is becoming increasingly unusual nowadays. On the whole I'd definitely recommend it.

Just bare in mind these guys are good, in part, because they have the time to sit and wait for the right conditions and light, if necessary for days at a time. We mere mortals are unlikely to have the time or the commitment to do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usefool book, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought to progress my knowledge of landscape photography and I found it really useful. Recommended to those who want to bring to higher level landscape photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Digital Landscape photographers, 30 Dec 2010
This book is fantastic, it covers every thing that you need to know about Landscape photography in great detail. The images in the book are excellent and as it is written by more that one photographer you get lots of varied insight into different areas of Landscape photography. I can not fault this book I have now read it several times and each time I learn a little bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning guide to landscape photography, 21 Nov 2010
I love the stunning quality and the printing of the landscape photographs in this book. The details of these photos are very informative and the "tips" very useful. I also like the fact that this book is written by a variety of photographers with different views. The only reason I gave this book 4 out of 5 is because I found the printing rather small and those of us with poor eyesight would probably struggle to read it. Nevertheless a very nice book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital SLR Expert: Landscapes: Essential Advice from the Pros (Hardcover)
An excellent book that gives clear information on how to achieve more with your camera. Tom Mackie's books never disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Landscapes, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a reasonably competent photographer but wanted to know more about taking good landscapes. This book is full of good tips and advice for photographers of all abilities from beginners onwards. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 31 Jan 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As soon as you open this book, you are confronted with fabulous photos - the kind you wish you could take. This book gives tis, techniques and some demonstrations to use your digital SLR to its full potential and also how to sharpen your Photoshop skills. Find interesting effects such as duotone, crating a monochrome from a colour shot and more besides. It's a book I shall return to more than a few times and I find it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Landscape books, 9 Sep 2010
I found this book to be well written and informative. It's an excellent choice for a beginner like me as it keeps the subject relatively simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Digital SLR Expert: Landscapes: Essential Advice from the Pros
Digital SLR Expert: Landscapes: Essential Advice from the Pros by Tony Worobiec (Hardcover - 26 Dec 2008)
Used & New from: 18.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews