Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sew recycled fabrics
This book is very simple in terms of items to make, and how to make them, and as always with David & Charles craft books the presentation is good. When I first looked at it I wasn't sure about the content - not really inspirational and when one project starts with "take one pair of unlined ready made curtains" I wonder why you wouldn't buy a suitable pair in the first...
Published on 4 Nov 2008 by Elaine B Reader

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fabulous fabric, not much sewing
(Mrs Techdoc David says....)It was a bit of a disappointment - largely the same/similar appliqued motifs added to a variety of items - so long as you can do a zig zag stich nicely round the edge of things, you're sorted.
I felt that the book showcased beautiful but unobtainable fabric (I understand the idea of the book was to recycle old fabrics, but my old fabrics...
Published on 22 Feb 2009 by TechDoc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sew recycled fabrics, 4 Nov 2008
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
This book is very simple in terms of items to make, and how to make them, and as always with David & Charles craft books the presentation is good. When I first looked at it I wasn't sure about the content - not really inspirational and when one project starts with "take one pair of unlined ready made curtains" I wonder why you wouldn't buy a suitable pair in the first place?

Apart from that one puzzler I've decided I like a lot of the projects after all. One project is a sunflower applique picture decorated with beads,and complete with instructions and templates, on the same page there are 2 other pictures - one of a poppy and another of a pansy - these can also be made. The flower corsages, bags and purses are lovely, there's a delightful soft toy dog (made from soft woollen check fabric and white wool), also included are a couple of aprons made from several different pieces of fabric nicely constructed(odd fat quarters would work well). A patchwork cushion with an embroidered centre, and a wall height chart are included.

I've already have a request for the pegbag (appliqued with a clothes line of washing). Some items could be made by children if an adult took care of the machining and there are opportunities to involve children in making several of the items. Templates are given at the back - the downside is that all must be enlarged - if you can cope with re-drawing them, or pay for them to be photocopied OK - if not you may want to give this a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fabulous fabric, not much sewing, 22 Feb 2009
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
(Mrs Techdoc David says....)It was a bit of a disappointment - largely the same/similar appliqued motifs added to a variety of items - so long as you can do a zig zag stich nicely round the edge of things, you're sorted.
I felt that the book showcased beautiful but unobtainable fabric (I understand the idea of the book was to recycle old fabrics, but my old fabrics don't look like that!) and maybe a chapter on fabric/colour/pattern matching to achieve the beautiful results shown would have been useful.
The instructions are too vague for absolute beginners, and if you're more advanced in sewing, while nice to look at, there's nothing overly novel in the book.
Again, as a previous reviewer mentioned - the patterns in the back of the book aren't full size, so you have to enlarge by 300/400% - even for the little patterns that would have easily fitted on a page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'Sew' Fabulous Book!, 25 Nov 2008
By 
S. Hall "Sal" (Devon ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book and in my opinion is worth more than the 5 stars that I am giving it. I loved it from the moment I opened it. Not only does it inspire,it gets one's imagination working to the full.
The ideas are there to be built upon and as a starting point for further wonderful crafting. Well done to the authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars patterns, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
A lovely book. I just wish someone would bring out a book with full size patterns included. Having to fight with a computor and cellotape before i start sewing a real bind.A great book for the use of scrap fabric,old clothes curtains ect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sew Pretty!!, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Crafty Girl, (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
I was given this book by a girlfriend and it is really amazing. I don't often buy sewing books (except as presents) but this might change the habbit of a life time. All the photography is wonderful and the projects really cool and 'Kath Kidson' like. (The draft excluder is a bit odd though, what happened there??) Alice and Ginny really give it life, soul and colour. I understand there is another book by them coming out soon. I will be first in the queue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit old fashioned and basic, 27 April 2011
By 
Sandra Miller (Norfolk, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
This book has easy to follow instructions but all the things in it seem a bit old fashioned to me. The templates have to be enlarged on a copier, which I don't have access to and though there is a lot of variety in the items, none of them appealed to me much. Pretty basic stuff like bunting and scented hearts that are so easy to make there is no need to waste space in a book on them. Some of the bags are ok but I already have an entire book on bag making, so there was nothing new or useful in this book really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 31 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
gave this to Mum for a gift. it is really good, lots of helpful info and lovely ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Sew Fabulous Fabrics, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Moose (Cornwall uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
This book is very inspirational and lovely to look at. Lots of ideas that can be adapted to other items to give a lovely home-made gift. I'd reccommend this book to anyone who loves sewing and giving gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good mix, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
Some easy stuff, some more complicated, but it's a good mix. Not sure I would use it very often as once you've made something unless it's very quick, which most of these designs aren't then you'd probably not be inspired to do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great projects.., 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend for her Birthday and liked it so much, I bought myself one too! There are lots of loves projects to do and I particualy love the peg bag and the door stop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sew Fabulous Fabric: 20 Charming Ways to Sew Fabrics into Your Life
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews