Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide to basic skills
This book is a wonderful introduction for a beginner like me, as it offers a comprehensive guide to all the basic skills with lots of colour photos and clear illustrations, covering a wide range of topics such as navigation, equipments and tools, rope works and systems, rock climbing, summer and winter climbing, alpine climbing, crevasse rescue, big wall climbing, via...
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by Scriabinmahler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good platform
This book is a good platform book and certainly helpful when you have read others time and time again. It's also very useful for instructors who want alternative ways of teaching knots etc.

The book is a complete guide and does as it says, however if you want ones that are in more detail I'd recommend buying the specific summer or winter books.
Published 12 months ago by Tony T


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide to basic skills, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a wonderful introduction for a beginner like me, as it offers a comprehensive guide to all the basic skills with lots of colour photos and clear illustrations, covering a wide range of topics such as navigation, equipments and tools, rope works and systems, rock climbing, summer and winter climbing, alpine climbing, crevasse rescue, big wall climbing, via ferrata and expedition. The appendix includes gradings of various climbing styles in different countries. One important subject missing is; how to read weather systems, but it covers all other areas of climbing and mountaineering skills. It serves also as a good starting point to explore more advanced skills in each area with other complete guide books like The Complete Guide to Rope Techniques Revised Edition, for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New climbing book is excellent, 24 Dec 2008
This book is the best that I've ever seen on climbing and mountaineering skills and techniques. Although the word 'Complete' in the title may sound a bit like a tall order, it is certainly as complete as it could be. I found the diagrams to be excellent, the photographs inspirational and the way that Pete Hill puts the text across to be very clear and uncluttered.
It is by far the best technical book that I've seen on the market.
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, has everything expected, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Climbing and Mountaineering (Paperback)
The book was well laid out, easy to understand and really helpful for advice for a beginner looking to take climbing from indoor to outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice in my collection., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad, more of a coffee table book really, skirting around the basics.
What did I expect though in one book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic intro book with photos!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Climbing and Mountaineering (Paperback)
This is a wonderful intro book to mountaineering. My hubby has been teaching me the ropes the last few years but it was nice to read through everything and then have him demonstrate. Great photos and helpful descriptions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good platform, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a good platform book and certainly helpful when you have read others time and time again. It's also very useful for instructors who want alternative ways of teaching knots etc.

The book is a complete guide and does as it says, however if you want ones that are in more detail I'd recommend buying the specific summer or winter books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I can't leave it alone, 14 May 2013
By 
Mr. Colin Hoggett (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Climbing and Mountaineering (Paperback)
For anyone wanting an introduction to climbing this is a great book. As a climbing beginner this book gave me the chance to understand the terminology and techniques used in climbing before moving from indoor walls to outdoor crags. Nothing can replace expert tuition however this book gives you the chance to do a little homework as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Guide to Climbing and Mountaineering
The Complete Guide to Climbing and Mountaineering by Pete Hill (Paperback - 28 Oct 2011)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews