Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful! Ideal for the the armchair cloudwatcher.
This is a fantastic book and I was glad I bought it. The foreword is very informative and well written and doesn't boggle the reader with too much science. This book is ideal for those armchair cloud watchers who know a bit about clouds but need to further their knowledge. This book is an essential guide to cloud identification and provides some stunning photos of the...
Published on 4 Sep 2008 by S. Clout

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a coffee-table book than a page-turner
First the good points: The Cloud Book is very professionally finished, with a large number of beautiful photos illustrating the different types of cloud described in the text. The introduction is well-written and interesting, and overall this is certainly an attractive-looking book; something I would definitely pick up and browse through while waiting at the doctor's...
Published 4 months ago by .


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars everymans guide to clouds, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
bought this on impulse and has turned out to be a great gift. very useful guide to understanding all the different clouds, how they form and what they represent in terms of weather. very useful to the climbers in our family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cloud Book, 14 Jan 2013
By 
P. A. Ward "patsywoo" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
I bought this book for a friend who is interested in clouds.

She thinks it's brilliant. Helps her to identify all sorts of clouds and she's trying to teach me about them now,....aaaaaaghhhhhh.

'Would recommend to anyone interested in the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice summary of the WMO International Cloud Atlas, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
"The Cloud book: How to understand de skies" is a nice summary of the WMO International Atlas, with very representative pictures and short explanations of cloud behaviour. As the book progresses, the author seems to be a bit overwhelmed by the terminology, mixing definitions of clouds, such as in page 100, when Altostratus are wrongly coded, despite the same code appears four lines below, correctly referring to "Cirrus uncinus".
The book is meant for quick consults, instead of read through, as many text, such as the weather-motto "mare's tails and mackerel scales...", is repeated profusely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for identifying clouds, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Easy to use listing of all major cloud types with good sized photos to help in identification. A must for anyone interested in clouds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cloud Book, 21 Sep 2010
By 
S. Noble - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
An excellent book for anyone wishing to know more about the weather and clouds. Would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and beautifully produced, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Clouds are something we see frequently in the UK. How lovely to finally have some names to describe the outstanding variety of clouds in our skies.

The photos in this book are beautiful and there is just the right balance of detail in each description to interest an amateur on an appropriate level. A great gift too - my father and father-in-law were both very pleased with their copies on fathers' day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloud Book, 28 Feb 2010
By 
Sheila Draper (Clacton-on-Sea, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Wonderful book. Tells you everything you need to know about clouds in clear, simple language. Photos are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very beautiful and very aggravating, 29 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
As so many others have said this is a lovely book with beautiful illustrations.

But it is the most aggravating book I've ever read. It is bound in "landscape" type mode, so although you pick it up like a normal book you have to read it on its side. Not a problem for a reference book - but the text on each page is oriented so the bottom of the page is away from the binding - so that to read it you are constantly having to turn the book round by 180 degrees. Even if there is no text on one half of a double page (so that the full page picture is used to illustrate the text on the other half) the image is upside down.

I keep trying to read it to learn more about this fascinating subject, and I keep putting the book down in frustration.

If it was reprinted in a more sensible format I'd buy it again with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great balance of photos and text, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Jyfgjc ugxhgd iyduyduyd udtdjgdjgdjgc uf uf gjgj ug ut gu ug jg j gu jg jf jg ug j fu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cloud Book, 27 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
This book was the perfect accompliment for the weather station that I also bought as a present for my boyfriend. He was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies
The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies by Richard Hamblyn (Paperback - 28 Mar 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews