Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful! Ideal for the the armchair cloudwatcher.
This is a fantastic book and I was glad I bought it. The foreword is very informative and well written and doesn't boggle the reader with too much science. This book is ideal for those armchair cloud watchers who know a bit about clouds but need to further their knowledge. This book is an essential guide to cloud identification and provides some stunning photos of the...
Published on 4 Sep 2008 by S. Clout

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a coffee-table book than a page-turner
First the good points: The Cloud Book is very professionally finished, with a large number of beautiful photos illustrating the different types of cloud described in the text. The introduction is well-written and interesting, and overall this is certainly an attractive-looking book; something I would definitely pick up and browse through while waiting at the doctor's...
Published 8 months ago by .


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful! Ideal for the the armchair cloudwatcher., 4 Sep 2008
By 
S. Clout - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book and I was glad I bought it. The foreword is very informative and well written and doesn't boggle the reader with too much science. This book is ideal for those armchair cloud watchers who know a bit about clouds but need to further their knowledge. This book is an essential guide to cloud identification and provides some stunning photos of the clouds themselves. The book is also handy for being able to forecast the weather as you will soon get to know the cloud types and the associated weather that comes with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sky's the limit, 27 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Recently I found a book that I could only dream of as a child, but which didn't seem to exist. Then I was fascinated by the weather and wanted a book classifying the cloud types with the correct names, symbols and pictures to demonstrate. Richard Hamblyn's "The Cloud Book" does all these things. The beauty of the photographs means it easily qualifies for the coffee tables of the less geeky among us, while neatly illustrating the text for the cloud afficianado. It is not often that you can say a book is perfect in all respects, but may be this is one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 21 Jun 2009
By 
Joanne K. Pilsworth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
I suggested that my son bought this for his father for Father's Day, as my husband has always been interested in clouds and weather formations. It did not hurt that it had received some pretty good reviews on Breakfast News also.

Excellent book. Good clear photos, as one might expect from the Met Office, straightforward explanations, and a few surprises in terms of understanding the role of clouds in issues such as global warming.

Overall, good book for the coffee table, or somewhere it can be grabbed for quick reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book., 20 July 2009
By 
B. Close (Liverpool.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
If you like clouds you will love this book. Theres clear photographs and simple(ish) explanations about each type of cloud, how they are formed and their names. I found this difficult to put down and am forever reaching for it when I see a cloud I recognise or one that I dont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars know your weather, 1 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
A simple to understand and very comprehensive explanation and easy means by which to identify cloud types - outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I ever wanted to know about clouds, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Ann Cross "Hillgazer" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Written in association with the Met Office, this book is factual and beautiful with 'photos and information from all over the world. I bought it for my husband so that I could enjoy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Valerie Stephenson (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Excellent book. Easy to understand text written by a member of the UK Met Office. Beautiful colour photos. A real 'must have' for anyone interested in cloud formations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of a coffee-table book than a page-turner, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
First the good points: The Cloud Book is very professionally finished, with a large number of beautiful photos illustrating the different types of cloud described in the text. The introduction is well-written and interesting, and overall this is certainly an attractive-looking book; something I would definitely pick up and browse through while waiting at the doctor's surgery, or if I found it on a friend's coffee table.

The problem is that I wouldn't read it for much longer after that. The reason is that after the introduction (which is a few pages long) it has more the structure of a catalogue than a casual reading book, with most of the book given over to describing a list of different "cloud types", which doesn't really help you to "understand the skies", as claimed on the cover: it just gives you names to associate to different cloud forms. Unfortunately, reading through a list of cloud classifications does not really do it for me: it doesn't tell you a story, it just gives you facts. Put simply, there is no real reason to turn the page.

On top of this, the author uses a range of meteorological concepts without properly explaining them. As someone who has followed a couple of courses on Meteorology at university, even I struggled to keep up at times. Of course it is possible to not understand all the terms and still get some understanding out of it, but it makes you wonder why the author did not spend a few pages (at least!) explaining some basic concepts in meteorology, rather than diving straight into cloud classifications without giving the reader a solid base of knowledge to build on.

I would give it three stars still because as a coffee-table book for picking up and browsing it is very good, the problem is it's hard to keep interested after half an hour or so of browsing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, accessible and attractive introduction to nephology, 6 Jun 2011
By 
C. Dearden (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
LOOKING up into the skies represented, for me, a gaze into the unknown. Whilst I understood, like any student of British secondary school geography would, the basics behind cloud formation, convection, thermals and cloud types, the idiosyncrasies of each cloud, and the effect they have on weather, generally escaped me.

Hamblyn's book has changed that. To pick up, The Cloud Book is instantly accessible with some truly stunning pictures adorning its pages showing off the 27 cloud types, and numerous other cloud-related phenomena (parhelions, lightning, auroras to name but a few) and offers up some interesting reading for even the most casual nephologist. On further inspection, this book shines as a tome of very interesting but not overly complicated descriptions of the cloud types, their implications for the weather and their likely transformations. That is one of the strengths of Hamblyn's book, that it affords you the opportunity to immerse oneself as far as one likes - either scratch the surface of learning cloud types or begin to piece together the bigger picture of cloud transformation and amalgamation.

Each page is handily given over to a particular cloud type or phenomena and everything described by Hamblyn is accompanied by a wonderful full-colour picture. The text is digestible, the pages are well set-out and it is difficult to offer any criticism of the design and layout of the book.

At times, admittedly, the book assumes some scientific knowledge of clouds which necessitates one reading over the same paragraph a couple of times to ensure understanding of the metamorphosis of ice crystals, Noctilucent clouds or whatever phenomena is at hand, but generally the book's accessibility is of great credit to Hamblyn.

This was the absolute starter book for me and Hamblyn has achieved a deal of success in leaving me yearning for more knowledge on the subject. Fortunately my time with this book was accompanied by some terrific thunderstorms, offering me the opportunity to reflect on my reading in the shadow of some of the most incredible clouds offered up by the earth. I foresee this book serving as a very useful reference book for some time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Cloud Book, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. G. Windle "Gilly" (Oxford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies (Paperback)
Very interesting book,very detailed and some really good pictures.I bought it for a xmas present along with a Weather Station and 2 sensors,so it ties in together,they were very well appreciated. It is good fun looking at the skies cloud watching,I had no idea they were all so different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies
The Cloud Book: How to Understand the Skies by Richard Hamblyn (Paperback - 28 Mar 2008)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews