Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and inspiring book
This lovely book of Notons best work is perfect for any photographer needing a bit of inspiration. Beautifully detailed colour images and interesting text are combined for a perfect match of creative and technical skill. The journal entries are engaging and make this lovely edition much more than just your average photography book.
If you buy one photography book...
Published on 14 April 2008 by A. Auburn

versus
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great
I'm fairly new to more serious photography and ordered a few photography books including this one at the same time from Amazon. Of the three I ordered I would put this at the bottom of the list. It's ok, there are some great pictures and some entertaining stories, but there is little technical information on each individual shot apart from the camera and lens used i.e. no...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by SM Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that great, 24 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm fairly new to more serious photography and ordered a few photography books including this one at the same time from Amazon. Of the three I ordered I would put this at the bottom of the list. It's ok, there are some great pictures and some entertaining stories, but there is little technical information on each individual shot apart from the camera and lens used i.e. no information on aperture, shutter speed or filters used.

I also ordered Ian Camerons 'Transient Light' at the same time and found this much more interesting and useful. I think Ian Cameron tries to share his experience more through his book whereas I feel David Noton's book is just more of a showcase for his work. There is more useful information on David Notons website and you can also view most of the pictures in this book there as well, so slightly disappointed...

Just for the record, the other book I ordered at the same time was the RSPB guide to Digital Wildlife Photography. If you also have an interest in Wildlife Photography, it's worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and inspiring book, 14 April 2008
By 
A. Auburn (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography Essentials: Waiting for the Light (Hardcover)
This lovely book of Notons best work is perfect for any photographer needing a bit of inspiration. Beautifully detailed colour images and interesting text are combined for a perfect match of creative and technical skill. The journal entries are engaging and make this lovely edition much more than just your average photography book.
If you buy one photography book this year, make it Waiting For The Light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 May 2008
By 
Ian Hutton (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography Essentials: Waiting for the Light (Hardcover)
David Noton is well known both for his photography and for his very accessible articles in a number of photography magazines. This book doesnt disappoint on either score: a range of fantastic photographs, each with an illuminating backstory, accompanied by longer sections that give some real insight into David's approach to photography.

Great to dip into when looking for inspiration and a good read to boot - the best photography book I've bought in quite a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're into Landscape Photography, 30 Jun 2009
Then you will enjoy this book. Noton is a well established Landscape Photographer and this book not only shows off his work it gives an insight into the thinking that created each image, the life of a proffessional photographer and more importantly, for me, some useful (i really mean useful ) tips from the trade. I recommend this book to anyone aspiring to take a landscape image whether it be for private, public or for profit, there is much in it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable book, 29 May 2009
By 
A really enjoyable book on a number of different levels and fully merits the 5 stars others have given:

Images are great and the book would be a good one if there was nothing more than this: the pictures are nicely printed and of a reasonable size (not the case in many books), the glossy paper helps.

Very good insight into the thinking behind how David Noton creates his images without going into lots of technical detail. He has an easygoing accessible style and a sense of humour.

Gives you a good view of what life as a photographer might be like (involves a lot of dedication and hard work).

Can be read straight through or almost as a series of articles: It's a nice mix that includes photo essays and journals- Good value as it is only the price of 3 or 4 magazines. I'm thinking about buying the DVD and landscapes are not my specialty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting For This Book, 15 Nov 2009
By 
LB Graham (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photography Essentials: Waiting for the Light (Hardcover)
I cannot remember when, if ever, I have reached the last page in a book only to return immediately to the first page and start all over again. Waiting For The Light is a rare gem - a fusion of incredible art combined with the words and thoughts of a man who lays bare his passion, and who writes of his endless hours and days waiting for that one, right, fleeting moment when nature contrives to present the photographer with an image so rare that only one person may be there to capture it. David Noton is the Michelangelo of landscape photographers and this book is truly a work of art. The narrative is fascinating; the photography breathtaking; and the combination of both makes for a book that cannot be recommended highly enough. One can only hope that there will be more to come from this gifted and talented man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - inspiring, 1 May 2008
By 
Mr. N. A. Ball (Nantwich, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Photography Essentials: Waiting for the Light (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely superb. Notons photographs are amazing to say the least and you can tell he plans for many hours before pressing that shutter button.

A great coffee table book

I also recommend you invest in his DVD 'Cahsing the Light' no available on Amazon I'm afraid at the moment but on his website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great work from my favourite photographer., 12 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photography Essentials: Waiting for the Light (Hardcover)
A fabulous book.
I just wish it was available in a larger format so none of the photos were spread across two pages.
No matter - if you like landscape and travel photography you're bound to be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Pictures, 20 Jun 2011
By 
G. McColl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
""Waiting for the Light" is a breathtaking visual celebration of photographer David Noton's work to date, including some of the world's finest landscape photography." - Absolutely

"David offers amateurs and professionals inspirational and practical advice on how to achieve this in their own work." - not so much.

Another reviewer said the same thing, fantastic images and showcase of the mans work.
Info about replicating it or learning - not much.

Inspiringly gorgeous images landscape wise though. Most taken with a film camera , a panoramic one no less, No mention of how to replicate such a feat with a standard digital frame. (okay it's easy but still, think it would have got a mention).

I'm semi pro for reference (if that makes a difference)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actually Quite Good, 21 Aug 2010
By 
G. S. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is quite good.

It is written in an enjoyable, conversational style, just like that used by the late Patrick Lichfield in his book 'Lichfield on Photography'. David Noton doesn't bamboozle the reader with unnecessary technical details, or techno-babble as he calls it. As you read the text of each chapter, and the notes of the photographs, he gives guidance on the making of a good photograph - "creating strong images" - as if he were speaking to you person-to-person.

Again and again you will read in this book that to take a good photograph you will need more than just a camera and other equipment: as he rightly points-out, a camera is just a tool of the job. Mr Noton is not just an accomplished landscape photographer: as he provides details of what is necessary during a day's shooting, there are many snippets of useful techniques that too many snappers are not aware of. Clearly, in many of his photographs, Mr Noton uses the direction of the light to show the form of the subject, a fundamental principle taught in art and photography but the unenlightened follow the myth that 'the sun must be behind the photographer'. It is difficult to find advice on this matter. Eventually I found, towards the end of the book, "To have shot earlier would have given me flat frontal lighting, which I hate....". I agree with the author about the best lighting in forests.

In the 'Mechanics' chapter he points-out several facts, for example in the RAW versus JPEG/TIFF debate, but continues not to over use technical details.

You will soon realise, and several times whilst reading this book, why he chose the title 'Waiting for the Light'. This book gives inspiration as well as guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photography Essentials: Waiting for the Light
Photography Essentials: Waiting for the Light by David Noton (Hardcover - 28 Mar 2008)
Used & New from: £6.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews