Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and of high quality
This is a very enjoyable book. The photos are varied and highly intriguing. A few are famous ones and one or two thought to be fakes, whereas others are simply mysteries, with it seeming highly likely in many that a ghost really has been caught on film. The narration is excellent too; just the right length to read bit at a time, with intelligent analysis and historical...
Published on 12 Dec 2007 by Mindpower

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit let down by this one
I liked the first volume but this 2nd edition had too many whacky pics for me. This series should stick to paranormal images in the currently understood meaning of the description, and not include substantial numbers of images of daft clouds that look like elephants, cherubs supposedly hiding in a bunch of flowers, or waterfalls/reflective glass windows that supposedly...
Published on 24 July 2009 by M. Huggins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and of high quality, 12 Dec 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
This is a very enjoyable book. The photos are varied and highly intriguing. A few are famous ones and one or two thought to be fakes, whereas others are simply mysteries, with it seeming highly likely in many that a ghost really has been caught on film. The narration is excellent too; just the right length to read bit at a time, with intelligent analysis and historical background. All in all this is a super book and one which turned out to be even better than I had expected. Great fun, and eerie to boot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really love this book!, 19 Sep 2009
By 
E. Hanby "hanbeeee" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
I am a great fan of ghost photos and for fellow fans this book is sure to not disapoint. The photos are a nice size and the authors views on each photo is written in plain English and tries not to be more than it is.

All in all well worth the money even if it is just to scare your younger siblings witless (hehehehe)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts Caught On Film: Photographs of the Paranormal?, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Paul Hammond "Paul" (Wolverhampton,West Midlands,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
I like the book but its abit bulky in size to hold to read but still very interesting to read & i like the Photos included,If you like this type of reading with or without the photos the would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ghosts caught on film, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
bought as a gift for my daughter, she has enjoyed it . Although has scared her ....isn't that the idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
i bought this for my brothers birthday i know he will love it hopefully he has not got this already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit let down by this one, 24 July 2009
By 
M. Huggins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
I liked the first volume but this 2nd edition had too many whacky pics for me. This series should stick to paranormal images in the currently understood meaning of the description, and not include substantial numbers of images of daft clouds that look like elephants, cherubs supposedly hiding in a bunch of flowers, or waterfalls/reflective glass windows that supposedly resemble madonna to mention just a few.
The inclusion of pics like these just lowers the impact of the serious images that simply take your breath away - like the amazing Hampton Court CCTV pic.
I've seen most of the good pics (not all) before on the web, but I guess they are nice to have in a book anyway.
My other problem is I wish this author would get off the fence and just be truthful about what he believed are genuine paranormal pics, which are likely to be environmemtal and which could be faked.
A lot of people will buy this book because they hope that some of the photos they already know might be explaimed by somebody who is supposedly an expert in the field of paranormal images. Instead they will be just as confused after reading this because the author invariably leaves the decision each time to the reader - talk about a cop-out!!
Mind you most of these "experts", especially certain sites on the web, are usually self-proclaimed prima-dona's on a powerkick who enjoy telling would be contributors that "his or her photo is or isn't paranormal", well guys sorry to say this but judging by your contributions to this volume perhaps your judgement and so called expertise could be very debatable?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not overly impressed, 14 July 2008
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
There are some interesting photos in this book but I found quite a few instances where the author makes sweeping statements like 'mechanical failure can be ruled out' when discussing a blip on a piece of CCTV footage or 'why would a vicar choose to photograph someone dressed like they were wearing a Hallowe'en spook costume, and at the wrong time of year?' really naive and annoying. Machinery can develop faults at any time, and perhaps the vicar decided a bit more publicity for his church wouldn't be a bad thing?

Double exposure, lens flare, bits of dust and moisture in the air and mechanical failure can explain A LOT of photographical anomolies (not all, I accept). Leaving a camera to take a long exposure can give a person time to duck into and out of a photo leaving a spooky blurred/ semi transparent image behind.

But when all's said and done, if you're after a bit of light relief and a book to grace your coffee table at Hallowe'en, this book will probably put a smile on your kids face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A+, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? (Hardcover)
It arrived promptly and in time as it was required for a present. I am very happy with the service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal?
Ghosts Caught on Film: Photographs of the Paranormal? by Melvyn Willin (Hardcover - 28 Sep 2007)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews