Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous book on the Gaelic Garden of Eden
Lewis-Harris, two isles in one...lol, one of the most beautiful, breathtaking places on earth. The vivid extremes of colours and landscapes just boggles the mind. Frankly, I did not think a slim book could really portray the soul inspiring beautiful so well, but Francis Thompson's Lewis & Harris does just that.
From the white sands, to the turquoise waters, the...
Published on 9 Sept. 2004 by Deborah MacGillivray

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One Sided...
This is quite an informative book if you are interested in Lewis, however be prepared to be dissapointed if you are interested in Harris. It spends most of its coverage on Lewis and devotes few pages to Harris. We are left with a sense of frustration as the history of Harris is barely mentioned whilst Lewis is dealt with in gushing terms. If the author had difficulty...
Published on 20 Mar. 2010 by R. Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous book on the Gaelic Garden of Eden, 9 Sept. 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Lewis-Harris, two isles in one...lol, one of the most beautiful, breathtaking places on earth. The vivid extremes of colours and landscapes just boggles the mind. Frankly, I did not think a slim book could really portray the soul inspiring beautiful so well, but Francis Thompson's Lewis & Harris does just that.
From the white sands, to the turquoise waters, the green rolling lands, to the jagged rocks, this island is mesmerising with this constantly changing beauty. If that is not enough you have Calanais (Callanish, the Stonehenge of the North). Sorry, Calanais is much older, and stirs the mind and soul in a way Stonehenge never did. When you toss in the other stone circles, Duncarloway broch, here history collides, Bronze Age, Iron age and good golfing!! lol
This is simply a beautiful work, loaded with dozens of brilliant colour photographs covering every aspect of life on Lewis and Harris. A must for someone daring enough to visit, a delight to those you like to visit from their armchair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
Gail Prince (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lewis and Harris: Pevensey Island Guides (Paperback)
I lived on Lewis for many years and have never seen such beautiful photographs, I bought this book as a wedding present and was absolutely delighted with the variety and quality of the book. Excellent choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One Sided..., 20 Mar. 2010
By 
R. Wallace "Panthericus" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is quite an informative book if you are interested in Lewis, however be prepared to be dissapointed if you are interested in Harris. It spends most of its coverage on Lewis and devotes few pages to Harris. We are left with a sense of frustration as the history of Harris is barely mentioned whilst Lewis is dealt with in gushing terms. If the author had difficulty containing all the information within the one book then maybe they should have devoted this one just to Lewis. There are many interesting facts about Harris that were not touched upon and it would have been nice to learn a bit more about the history Harris. If you are interested in Lewis this is a good book to buy...but if you wish to know about Harris then do not bother as it just skims over it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lewis and harris history and pre history, 10 April 2009
By 
M. Cashill "me" (derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite the other two reviews, this book contains only the front page as a photograph. I bought it for ; 'This is simply a beautiful work, loaded with dozens of brilliant colour photographs covering every aspect of life on Lewis and Harris. A must for someone daring enough to visit, a delight to those you like to visit from their armchair. ' and there were none! Lewis and Harris History and pre-history is an informative book Im sure if I ever get round to reading it. God knows what book the others were reviewing, I think Amazon have mixed things upslightly so beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting little book, 9 Sept. 2010
Read this book whilst travelling up to the outer Hebrides. Some chapters could be a little better organised in that they sometimes leap about which can be confusing, but overall this is a very interesting book. The chapters on prehistory and reading the landscape were particularly useful in discovering hidden gems as not many sites are marked or even excavated on the Islands. Handy small size too. The other Lewis and Harris book by the same author is full of glossy photos and a shortened version of text, also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb photography, 4 July 2006
By 
Mr. R. Linney "rjlinney" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An interesting book with lots of excellent photography. Very well worth buying if you're considering a trip to Harris and Lewis.

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really informative read, 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lewis and Harris: Pevensey Island Guides (Paperback)
This is a great introductory book to the island of Lewis and Harris. Clear and informative content, super pictures and concisely presented. It tells the story of what proved to be a fascinating and beautiful island on a recent visit there. Both the book and a visit are recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must take for a trip to the Outer Isles, 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lewis and Harris: Pevensey Island Guides (Paperback)
Used this to plan a few days on the motorbike on these islands.
Great reference material and some very nice photos in the book.
Made all the difference and ensured we maximised our time to visit some great areas of stunning beauty.
Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review of the Guide to Lewis and Harris, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lewis and Harris: Pevensey Island Guides (Paperback)
The Guide was exactly what I required. It is short but sufficiently detailed for me to determine where exactly I want to go during my visit. The illustrations and pictures are First Class. If you want a brief introduction to the Isles this is perfect,

Dr Bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lewis and Harris: Pevensey Island Guides (Paperback)
A good guide to the area with some stunning pictures well printed , make sure its an original D and c publishers copy , and not an amazon reprint - check the details on inside of cover . ( the current Uist book is re print)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lewis and Harris: Pevensey Island Guides
Lewis and Harris: Pevensey Island Guides by Francis Thompson (Paperback - 27 April 2007)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews