Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2007
This book not only has photographs of Jane's private collection of antique samplers, it has stunning designs/ideas for creating your very own heirloom. It has a section on caring for antique needlework, a section on 'making up' for smaller projects like pillows, bags and sachets, and a stitch library with clearly diagramed stitches.
Jane talks you through the different styles of antique samplers, and shows you examples from her own collection as well as offering charts for you to follow or adapt - from spot-motif samplers, to Berlin Woolwork, from Maps to Band Samplers. Techniques include cross-stitch, blackwork, beading, withdrawn-thread, pulled thread, hardanger, bullion knots, needle-lace, and other counted stitches.
Jane has a superb sense of colour and she manages to convey a sense of the 'old' without turning her pieces muddy. Her enthusiasm for the subject shines through and leaves you with a real 'itch to stitch'. However, this book is lovely just to browse through, even if you never stitched anything from it! Definitely one for your needlework shelf!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2005
This is a lovely compilation of traditional sampler knowledge sparked with modern ideas. If you like the traditional, there are many, many motifs and stitches you can use in a traditional way, together with illustrations and designs for all the major types of classic sampler---house samplers, maps, band samplers, motifs etc. But there are also fresh ideas and combinations that make the traditional forms fresh and interesting. Everything is very clearly explained, with clear instructions even on techniques for finishing the various projects. A delight to pore over, and the projects offer immense scope both for stitching them as shown and for combining their various elements into original compositions. Any stitcher will love this one!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2006
The book is well presented and well illustrated but I found it rather lacking in originality and it had too few projects, not worth the money! If you own any other Jane Greenoff books, them you won't really need this one as I found that it re-capped on previous books and cd roms. The Samplers although very beautiful, most of their Motifs and lettering can be found on one of the many Jane Greenoff's CD roms . Anyone who doesn't own a book from the author, should buy this one as they will enjoy recreating one of these Fine Samplers from a very talented cross stitcher. Every cross stitcher should have at least one of these Samplers hanging on their wall!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
Found this book to be a great source of information having just found an interest in antique samplers lots of information and patterns to keep you busy that caters for all tastes I've completed one of the samplers and it looks fantastic patterns are very clear and easy to follow a great book for beginners or the more advanced lover of cross stitch a real must have
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Fabulous Book at a fabulous price!! I love the Antique style samplers and it has given me inspiration to configure one of my own. I have never bought a book from this author and usually go for another famous name. If you want to design your own sampler then this gives good advice and has a 'stitch library' (with pictures on 'how to'). You would need to practise on a spare piece of linen as some are quite complex!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
bought for my manic stitching wife
she likes it a lot
say no more...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
If you are serious about you Cross-Stitch then this book will give you some wonderful insights into how and what made it as popular as it is today.

Clearly written and well presented with good illistrations and patterns. Well worth having in your collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Like the other cross stitch books I have bought from you this book is wonderful and I can sit and look and look at it and dream.I will start soon to do more than just look. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
Another amazing book by Jane Greenoff. Stylish designs, with amazing instructions. A must if you are looking for an antique look sampler. A***** of a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
I was impressed with the explanations and briefs on the different styles. There was a "firing of the imagination".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)