Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable
I really enjoyed this short read. Full of sometimes quite amazing bit and pieces. Easy to read in short bursts. Bit expensive possibly for what it is, but overall I would certainly recommend it.
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Malcolm S. Watson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars yeah...it's OK
Was expecting more...but some of the information was quite revealing. However, the More Amazing Facts is, in my opinion, better and more diverse.
Published 23 months ago by Mr. J. P. Walker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Malcolm S. Watson "puckleman" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this short read. Full of sometimes quite amazing bit and pieces. Easy to read in short bursts. Bit expensive possibly for what it is, but overall I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Random railway trivia to dip in and out of, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts (Hardcover)
This small book mixes articles, lists, poems and anecdotes in no particular order, though there is an index at the back as well as the contents at the front.

I knew quite a lot of this stuff already, including how rats ruined a railway (one of Brunel's unsuccessful experiments). I had read very little about the Liverpool Overhead Railway and I found the article on the "dockers' umbrella" informative. Even though I have read a book about horses on railways, I was particularly pleased to find an article here. Not many people know this story.

Notable by its absence is any selection of clichés that originated on the railways. I suspect (for example) that a lot of people who say "firing on all cylinders" don't understand the true meaning. Still, I know that the author has done other books in a similar format to this one, so maybe he has covered the clichés elsewhere.

As a not-too-serious book to dip in and out of, this is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for railway enthusiasts, 8 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a train enthusiast as I really didn't know what to buy. It was received with enthusiasm and contained a lot of lesser known facts. The recipient thoroughly enjoyed knowing more about the railways he was familiar with and finding out things he had not known before. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in railways and trains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I Was Not Amazed, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very short book with many aspects some of which are just a few lines long, this illustrates how obscure they are. I was not amazed nor were they extraordinary. It briefly and i mean briefly covers the Tay Bridge disaster and Quintinshill (Britains worst railway disaster) Not enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I jusy love anything to do about railway facts. Although I knew most of these facts from other books it was good to have them all brought together in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars yeah...it's OK, 4 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. J. P. Walker "Billy Rabbit" (The wild Wood) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts (Hardcover)
Was expecting more...but some of the information was quite revealing. However, the More Amazing Facts is, in my opinion, better and more diverse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a train driver loved it. His sons fathers day gift to him, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts (Hardcover)
Hubby, a train driver loved it. His sons fathers day gift to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Railway Facts, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts (Hardcover)
No a bad book by any means, interesting but that's about all. Has some facts and figures in the book, but no real depth. In summary, a light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts
Amazing and Extraordinary Railway Facts by Julian Holland (Hardcover - 26 Oct 2007)
£8.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews