Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2007
Although this is a very attractively produced book, with good illustrative images, I was disappointed in the text, much of which seems rather vague and lacking precision. The book addresses monochrome printing from the perspective of a darkroom worker who now wants to move to digital, and learn the photoshop techniques to replicate traditional darkroom processes.

This may benefit someone just getting into digital, but for an experienced digital worker I feel this is a flawed approach which can lead to a rather narrow view of the possibilities. In addition, many of the techniques are described merely in principle with too much general language (e.g. ..using a large brush..) describing the how, and not enough discussion of why. Also the section on colour to mono conversion, which really should be the core of the book, is the least satisfying.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
Another book that assumes everyone uses Photoshop, which is clearly not the case. All the instructions here relate specifically to Photoshop and no attempt is made to accomodate other image manipulation programs. If you are new to digital printing but don't have Photoshop, look elsewhere as this book will be of no help. If you have some other image manipulation program and are experienced in using it, you may be able to translate the instructions given here to relate to your own software - but if you are experienced enough to do that, there's little in this book that is likely to be new to you.

The whole book is very lightweight. It tries to cover too much and in doing so fails to cover anything in much detail. A lot of what is here is not specific to black and white but could be equally applied to colour and is probably covered better in other books on digital printing. The sections on alternative printing should have been left out. Changing the colour/contrast etc. of a digital image doesn't make a cyanotype or any other type of alternative print. If that's your area of interest, try making some genuine alternative prints.

The areas that this book could have excelled in, such as colour to black and white conversion and dealing with the problems of printing of black and white images, fall far short of what I was hoping for. For me, as a reasonably experienced digital printer looking for more information relating specifically to black and white printing, this book is a complete waste of time.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
I pre-ordered this book, even though I was slightly concerned, from the publishers synopsis, that this might be just another book bemoaning the move from film to digital. It's not. This is a superb twenty first century, forward-looking technique reference book, easy to read and follow. Needless to say the images are gorgeous. If you like your third millenium photographic technology, and yet, the look of 'black and white' imagery, past, present and future, then this is the book for you. One of the very best books in my photographic library! My only gripe is the lack of handsome, muscular male nudes to balance the female ones......

Very highly recommended - I will be looking out for more technique books by these authors.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
The authors have a bias towards PhotoShop. This doesn't prejudice me, but it might others, and it does worry me that other readers might think that there is only one photoprocessing package on the market. A skilled user can translate the ideas into practice into other packages. The book is full of stimulus ideas and worked examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
This was purchased second hand from Book Donors a charity organisation. It was in excellent condition and I would not hesitate to use them again. As this was published in 2007 the techniques were a little dated but I found plenty to inform and inspire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
I like this guys work, have bought Digital Artist also, another good book, you do need to know a bit about photoshop for some of his ideas, thats the only reason I gave it a 4*, well laid out and great photography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
I liked this book very much, it explained things in an easy manner which is what a beginner needs. I am looking forward to following it and printing off some nice work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This book is a must for any photographer interested in quality monochrome work, full of useful information written in a way that is is easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2008
This an excellent book, well laid out and easy to follow. I looked at several books on this subject and this is the one I bought. The only problem is this was written before CS3, Lightroom or Elements 6, so the monochrome conversion part is now out of date, maybe there will be an update soon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Some useful, interesting features, other areas I already know about, but still a nice book to have. Worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)