Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !
This is, to date, my very favourite Christmas book, I've made SOOOO many of the crafts in here! The Guardian angels are to die for, the "potted" snowmen were quick and easy and so much fun to make, ( I had 5 orders for these within 2 days ! ) Full-size patterns are included too, making it a very economical book ( you don't have to get them enlarged like patterns in some...
Published on 27 May 2009 by S. Fullard

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book but
This is a beautiful Christmas craft book to look at. The photos are big and clear and festive with that scandanavian style. The instructions for craft projects/gifts are simple. There's quite a few sewing projects although some are very similar (the santa's and angels are much the same with different decoration/dressing) and also some painted crafts (like decorating...
Published on 10 Jan 2011 by rachelcreative


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !, 27 May 2009
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
This is, to date, my very favourite Christmas book, I've made SOOOO many of the crafts in here! The Guardian angels are to die for, the "potted" snowmen were quick and easy and so much fun to make, ( I had 5 orders for these within 2 days ! ) Full-size patterns are included too, making it a very economical book ( you don't have to get them enlarged like patterns in some books) I give this book 10/10 xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ho Ho Ho ~ Get Sewing!, 21 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
From the moment we opened the parcel and saw the super cover, my daughter and I were off.......Christmas is coming and the snowmen, angels and raindeer will be fat, colourful and hanging everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book but, 10 Jan 2011
By 
rachelcreative (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
This is a beautiful Christmas craft book to look at. The photos are big and clear and festive with that scandanavian style. The instructions for craft projects/gifts are simple. There's quite a few sewing projects although some are very similar (the santa's and angels are much the same with different decoration/dressing) and also some painted crafts (like decorating wooden boxes and garlands) based on the style of Tone's sewn characters.

The patterns are straightforward although what I found very annoying is they are slightly wider than A4. You will need to copy the patterns rather than cut from the book because cleverly they overlap to save space (colour co-ordinated for each item). If you want to photocopy (as recommended in the book) or scan and print this is irritatingly tricky as the patterns are just a couple of cms wider than A4.

As a novice I did struggle with some of the pattern because the instructions are so simple. I couldn't find out if I needed to leave a seam allowance on every part of the patterns because of the way it was worded so had to make a guess. Also I found my stitching didn't leave as smooth a join and my seams were a little bulky in places which although my problem the book doesn't have any tips about these particular things. For instance I found stitching the collar onto the dress really quite tricky and wasn't sure what to do with all that extra seam allowance which never gets tidied away. You could dismiss this as my skill being the problem or the book not covering all the aspects depending on your point of view.

Also Tone recommends using stiff fabric or using interfacing to stiffen lighter fabrics but I found this very difficult to work with for the clothes (I was handsewing) and they don't seem to sit well on the doll. Maybe I misread or maybe the instructions were too is general and I misunderstood.

Also worth considering that the fabrics she uses in the book (which are gorgeous) are not cheap to buy for yourself. I shopped aroung for cheap but stiff fabrics on ebay and it ended up costing quite a lot once I got all the colours for people and reindeers and clothing. Better if you're not a total novice and have material already I suspect. But the quality of the material is going to greatly influence the look of your own softies.

Not sure how many of the items in the book I would want to give as gifts as they are mainly decorative things - but perfect for me to expand on my own Christmassy themed decorations around the home.

So a mixed review for me. I still love to flick through the book and she certainly gives you easy to read instructions about how to make everthing in the book. But I found as a beginner some of a bit frustrating once I was trying to make something. Could be user error of course. I think if you're already quite crafty and you like the Scandanavian style this would be a good book for you.

You can also find forums and groups on Flickr dedicated to the Tilda books and crafts who seem to be a lovely bunch. I recommend using the Look Inside feature on Amazon as this will give you a really good feel for the sewing projects it contains and you can decide for yourself if it's what you're after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTABULOUS!, 14 Aug 2008
By 
The Angel on Duty (Made in Heaven, living on Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
I bought this book expecting the same old same old.. and was taken by suprise the moment I opened it. From the first page, the book had me hooked, and it just got better and better all the way through. Then to top it off, not just one cherry but dozens - were the patterns in the back of the book. There are patterns for everything you see in the book, all securely kept in the book, and all you do is trace them out. They are incredibly simple and easy to follow. This really is a treat of a book and I can highly recommend it for those who like doll type art, in a more Scandinavian folk type way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Christmas book, 27 Nov 2009
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
I wondered whether or not to get this book as I previously had another book by same author which had projects that were a bit too whimiscal and girlie for my taste. But I'm delighted I got it. The projects are cute and fairly practical as Xmas decorations. They're also fairly simple and fast. I've already done some cute penguins and can't wait to get started on the reindeer. At a fiver, its definitely worth it!! There are also patterns for Xmas stockings which I will be making and personalising next year for my kids and nieces/nephews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Christmas inspiration, 14 Aug 2009
By 
L. K. Daniel "Laura-Kym" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
If you're anything like me you'll be looking to buy this book for inspiration as well as specific projects - and I truly feel it provides both. I always anticipate the odd pattern that doesn't appeal to me, but I was so pleased with the book - I have shown it to numerous fabric loving friends and family members.
There are a high number of figures/animals including Reindeers, Snowmen, penguins, Father Christmas' and the obligatory angels. It also has the added extras such as varying 'stockings', hearts, gift bags, hangings, applique projects and a tea cosy!
It's a gorgeous book that I can't put down at the moment - trying to convince myself that I WILL be prepared for Christmas 2009. (I'm not taking any bets)
If you enjoy creating little festive items as gifts and/or to spread cheer around the house for guests then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UNCOMMON DESIGNS, NICE BOOK, 28 Sep 2009
By 
T. Nairn "avid crafter" (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
I bought this book from Amazon after buying the Springtime version from my local craft shop. It's a good priced book for a start, not particularly thick to look at, but it certainly has a lot of designs & different variations on certain designs. You could quite easily adapt the patterns to suit yourself & change them slightly should you wish. For example, if you wanted to make one for a child, you could replace the cocktail stick nose with a fabric one etc. It's just common sense really!

The main thing I liked is that the designs are different from most christmas craft books that I have seen before. They aren't your typical Santa or Snowman, they are rather quirky.

The main thing I dislike about it, are that the fabrics required are pricey. So unless you are willing to spend alot on those fabrics you may not get the same finish. Then again, that's one of the things I enjoy about making things, seeing how they turn out using different fabrics to what's suggested.

All in all, this is a great book & I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tone Finnanger is a star!, 12 Sep 2008
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
There are so many christmas crafts books which I have a look at and am, frankly, disappointed with. Not so this one! I'd say it has quite a folk art feel to it. All the projects are thoroughly and carefully explained - and they're inspiring. They don't seem overly complicated (I admit that I haven't made anything yet - am off to get some fabric on Monday!). There is a large patterns section so it's pretty hard to go wrong! I'll update the review once I've tried some of the projects - I'm not convinced they'll turn out as beautifully as the ones in the book, but half as good would still be thrilling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crafting for Christmas, 28 Feb 2009
By 
I. Hall (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book full of charming projects guaranteed to make you reach for your sewing kit and fabrics. The only problem is deciding which design to make first. The illustrations are appealing and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. I like the book so much i've already bought the companion volume Crafting for Springtime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Adorable!, 31 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crafting Christmas Gifts: 25 Adorable Projects Featuring Angels, Snowmen, Reindeer and Other Yuletide Favourites (Paperback)
This book is fabulous! The only problem you may have is choosing which project to make first. Highly recommended for all crafters with a passion for anything festive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews