Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic book
This book is excellent if you want to learn how to crochet. It explains all of the stitches, tells you about various fibers and has projects that are quite useful and good looking. There are well written instructions for increasing and decreasing stitches, working in the round, getting your tension correct, making button holes and much more. I looked at a number of basic...
Published on 9 Mar. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great patterns, expensive yarns!
This book has some really nice patterns in it, and it has some great descriptions of pretty stitches I noob like me didn't know yet.

The problem is, though, that I can't afford to make any of the patterns! Most of the yarns used are expensive. The gorgeous throw in the back of the book would cost £120 to make. Ouch. The patterns don't have a good explanation of...
Published on 2 July 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic book, 9 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
This book is excellent if you want to learn how to crochet. It explains all of the stitches, tells you about various fibers and has projects that are quite useful and good looking. There are well written instructions for increasing and decreasing stitches, working in the round, getting your tension correct, making button holes and much more. I looked at a number of basic books before picking this one out and use it as a reference book all the time. Instructions in the stitch library and in the projects are written out as well as shown in a chart so you can learn how to read a chart without too much trial and error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great patterns, expensive yarns!, 2 July 2009
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
This book has some really nice patterns in it, and it has some great descriptions of pretty stitches I noob like me didn't know yet.

The problem is, though, that I can't afford to make any of the patterns! Most of the yarns used are expensive. The gorgeous throw in the back of the book would cost £120 to make. Ouch. The patterns don't have a good explanation of what other yarn you could use, and there's not really an explanation of yarn substitution anywhere. On top of that, if you -do- have the knowledge, it can be really hard to find a substitute yarn anyway, since some of the yarns have odd properties you don't find in just any yarn (the cotton/microfibre yarn being an example).

Sometimes substituting isn't much of a problem: it doesn't matter if a throw turns out bigger or smaller. But when you do an item of clothing it's a different matter.

It'd be nice if the book could be edited with more (cheaper!) yarn suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware..., 10 Feb. 2012
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, but buyer beware.. this one seems to be the American version (spelling gives clues, fiber, color etc) and the American crochet terms are not the same as ours... dc becomes sc and trb becomes dc...
I bought this for a friend.. and to my dismay it was the American version.. not much use in the UK!!!
Luckily she is an expert Crochet person..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 9 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
I have knitted for 40 years but only started crocheting this year and this book helped me tremendously. its easy to use, diagrams easy to follow definately worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars title of the book misleading, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
Ta Bland (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
As a beginner i was hoping for a good all round book, for instructions and project ideas but i found the diagrams hard to follow, the title it self is very misleading, i have an old book given to me that has better pictures and easy to instructions. i would have sent it back but postage costs are just not worth it, i would not recommend buying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, 10 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
Bought this for a friend for xmas. She's a beginner and it was perfect. I am not a beginner and would also like a copy as it has loads of tips and ideas to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful resource!, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
Dr. P. A. Quant "Patti" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
Overall, I am delighted with this book which lives up to its description. I am a self-taught crocheter and needed to find out the names of the stitches I routinely use and how to read and interpret the crochet patterns. This book provided me with this essential information and I am now able to read and adapt patterns to suit my own creative urges! However, as I am left-handed, my only criticism is that no reference is made as to how to adapt the stitch instructions - not essential but would have been useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CROCHET, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
THIS IS A MUST FOR ANY CROCHETER THERE ARE PATTERNS AND SO MANY HELPFUL TIPS FROM BEGGINERS TO TIME SERVED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference Guide, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
I bought this because the only crochet I had done before was granny squares some 40 years ago and wanted to try something different. I love being able to dip in and find instructions for the things I don't know and the project ideas are a good inspiration to try something. I am not a complete beginner stitch wise but have no idea about shaping and making bigger items. So far it has proved very useful and to be honest I just love flipping through it and thinking about what I am going to attempt next as its all so interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
This is one of the very best crochet books I have. It gives detailed instructions about making the various stitches and extra tips along the way. Each process is accompanied by an appropriate project.
Although I am not a beginner I have enjoyed reviewing the instructions and tips. There is always something new to learn and you feel that the author has oodles of experience to impart. Not just a series of patterns but a real guide to learning/improving your technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews