Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic book
This book is excellent if you want to learn how to crochet. It explains all of the stitches, tells you about various fibers and has projects that are quite useful and good looking. There are well written instructions for increasing and decreasing stitches, working in the round, getting your tension correct, making button holes and much more. I looked at a number of basic...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware...
This is an excellent book, but buyer beware.. this one seems to be the American version (spelling gives clues, fiber, color etc) and the American crochet terms are not the same as ours... dc becomes sc and trb becomes dc...
I bought this for a friend.. and to my dismay it was the American version.. not much use in the UK!!!
Luckily she is an expert Crochet...
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by turtle


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic book, 9 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
This book is excellent if you want to learn how to crochet. It explains all of the stitches, tells you about various fibers and has projects that are quite useful and good looking. There are well written instructions for increasing and decreasing stitches, working in the round, getting your tension correct, making button holes and much more. I looked at a number of basic books before picking this one out and use it as a reference book all the time. Instructions in the stitch library and in the projects are written out as well as shown in a chart so you can learn how to read a chart without too much trial and error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer beware..., 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, but buyer beware.. this one seems to be the American version (spelling gives clues, fiber, color etc) and the American crochet terms are not the same as ours... dc becomes sc and trb becomes dc...
I bought this for a friend.. and to my dismay it was the American version.. not much use in the UK!!!
Luckily she is an expert Crochet person..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great patterns, expensive yarns!, 2 July 2009
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
This book has some really nice patterns in it, and it has some great descriptions of pretty stitches I noob like me didn't know yet.

The problem is, though, that I can't afford to make any of the patterns! Most of the yarns used are expensive. The gorgeous throw in the back of the book would cost £120 to make. Ouch. The patterns don't have a good explanation of what other yarn you could use, and there's not really an explanation of yarn substitution anywhere. On top of that, if you -do- have the knowledge, it can be really hard to find a substitute yarn anyway, since some of the yarns have odd properties you don't find in just any yarn (the cotton/microfibre yarn being an example).

Sometimes substituting isn't much of a problem: it doesn't matter if a throw turns out bigger or smaller. But when you do an item of clothing it's a different matter.

It'd be nice if the book could be edited with more (cheaper!) yarn suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
I have knitted for 40 years but only started crocheting this year and this book helped me tremendously. its easy to use, diagrams easy to follow definately worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, 10 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
Bought this for a friend for xmas. She's a beginner and it was perfect. I am not a beginner and would also like a copy as it has loads of tips and ideas to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CROCHET, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
THIS IS A MUST FOR ANY CROCHETER THERE ARE PATTERNS AND SO MANY HELPFUL TIPS FROM BEGGINERS TO TIME SERVED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really useful resource!, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Dr. P. A. Quant "Patti" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
Overall, I am delighted with this book which lives up to its description. I am a self-taught crocheter and needed to find out the names of the stitches I routinely use and how to read and interpret the crochet patterns. This book provided me with this essential information and I am now able to read and adapt patterns to suit my own creative urges! However, as I am left-handed, my only criticism is that no reference is made as to how to adapt the stitch instructions - not essential but would have been useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
Excellent value and a great help for someone who has not crocheted for some time and lots of good ideas for projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete book to get started with crochet, 12 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
I'm very happy with this book, it's the best I've found on crochet. I'm not a complete beginner, but I'm self-thought and moreover being a foreigner living in UK I needed something to help me translate patterns in this country. I think this book is a very complete basic guide to get started with and really gives the possibility to start realizing beautiful projects from the very beginning. I also appreciate the fact that the suggested yarn to realize the project is always a "common" yarn and the beauty of the project itself doesn't depend on the use of a fancy, expensive yarn. It's very easy to adapt the pattern to different yarns. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crochet Bible: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crochet: The Complete Handbook for Creative Crocheting (Paperback)
Very nice book with many designs and patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews