Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiration!
this is one of the best books i've bought for ages - such a relief to find a technically competent and aspirational book, no projects here, just raw and refined inspiration to make your mouth water!
the thought process, artistic journey and treatment of surfaces are all clearly explained and sensitively photographed.
Published on 26 Nov. 2007 by C. Purdy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The second book looks like a photo copy - the quality of the paper ...
This is the second copy of the book received, The first copy had 8 blank pages, so was returned. The quality of the second book is appalling. The first book had lovely glossy pages but had 8 missing pages. The second book looks like a photo copy - the quality of the paper is thin and not glossy and the colour of the print is faded as often photocopies look. Extremely...
Published 8 months ago by susan lloyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiration!, 26 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
this is one of the best books i've bought for ages - such a relief to find a technically competent and aspirational book, no projects here, just raw and refined inspiration to make your mouth water!
the thought process, artistic journey and treatment of surfaces are all clearly explained and sensitively photographed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and Inspirational, 13 April 2008
By 
Z. Taylor "Witchypoos" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
I have this book out in my workroom all the time either to try out another techique or idea ....but sometimes just to flick through for inspiration ! The Kemshall's work is stunning =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will be inspired!, 24 Feb. 2008
By 
Ann Gorman "justanotherfile" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
This book will have you wanting to sew whether you can sew or not you will be inspired! Some of the techniques shown in this book will have mixed media artists drooling nevermind the stitchers! If you only ever buy one book based on quilting or working techniques on fabric this is that book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 10 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
A very inspiring book even though my tastes when it comes to colours and motives are quite different from most of what is shown here. Still the book explains a variety of techniques that are beautifully illustrated and really worth exlopring. This book has given me a fresh approach to both sewing techniques and simple printing techniques. I liked the honest will to share what the authors themselves have discovered, that seems to be a motivation behind the book. It is not a book that covers all kinds of colouring and print techniques, it is more a book that tells what experiences artists themselves prefere. I am glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wide range of different ideas, and not just for quilters!, 20 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
This is a lovely book with lots of different ideas and techniques for creating colour and pattern on fabric, not just quilts. The techniques are approached in a sensible step by step way to enable anybody to try them out. The authors take you through all the different ways of painting, printing, dyeing, stencilling etc onto fabric, both before and after quilting. I would recomend this book to any textile or collage artist, not just quilters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to help your imagination, 1 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book, one of the best textile books I have bought. The authors share their vision and techniques, taking you through the stages of the designs and how they were achieved. There are no projects - just instructions and examples of how they achieve their effects. They share all the wrinkles too, and don't leave you lost halfway. There are few expensive things to buy. What this book does is stimulate the imagination - it gives you the tools to follow your own path and develop the images you may have in your mind but don't know how to realise. I shall refer to this very useful book again and again, and my work can only grow as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best, 14 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
This book does more than I hoped and fills in all the gaps that other books leave. It is beautiful, and the photography is clear and useful, showing stitches and definition - something else many book on textile arts fail on. In warm and readable text it clearly explains the use of all those mysterious 'ingredients' for altering fabric, you know - those things you buy that sit in the cupboard for years until they are too dried up to use, because you are not sure how to make the best of them and are afraid to mess up - this will give you 'permission' to play, and knowledge to make that play enjoyable and organic. I could kiss the Kemshalls for all that, but they go beyond my dreams in that, for every quilt depicted, the dimensions of the finished piece are given - why don't all publishers and authors realise what a huge difference it makes to the understanding of a work, to know its scale!
Thank you Momma Kemshall and daughter Kemshall for the detail and effort you put into this great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for quilts....., 9 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
This is a book which anyone who wants to colour fabric can use, not just quilts. The techniques and processes are clearly explained using accessible, available and affordable materials. At first glance the layout may appear a little wordy in places but there is plenty of eye-candy, and the words (when you stop drooling over the pictures)tell you exactly what you need to know to get started. This book encourages you to experiment and evolve your own techniques. The techniques can be undertaken in an artists studio or a domestic kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE PAINTED QUILT, 15 Oct. 2010
By 
Mrs. Maxine D. Rowlinson "MAX" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
A REALLY INSPIRATIONAL BOOK. LOTS OF INFORMATION ON PAINTING AND USE OF FABRICS. VERY GOOD ILLUSTRATIONS. MADE ME WANT TO START A NEW QUILTING PROJECT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The second book looks like a photo copy - the quality of the paper ..., 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts (Paperback)
This is the second copy of the book received, The first copy had 8 blank pages, so was returned. The quality of the second book is appalling. The first book had lovely glossy pages but had 8 missing pages. The second book looks like a photo copy - the quality of the paper is thin and not glossy and the colour of the print is faded as often photocopies look. Extremely disappointed. Not what I expect from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts
The Painted Quilt: Paint and Print Techniques for Colour on Quilts by Laura Kemshall (Paperback - 20 Aug. 2008)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews