Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and complete
This precious concise guide was a very pleasant surprise to me. Far from being a simple list of historical figures, it has revealed itself as a short, but exhaustive guide to the British history. Very well written and rich with beautiful images!
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by Troiero Enrico

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit small!
This book deceived me as i thought it was A4 size but it is more like the size of a dictionary. The pictures and content though are faultless. Would just like a bigger one!
Published on 13 Sep 2012 by Scarlet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and complete, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Troiero Enrico (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
This precious concise guide was a very pleasant surprise to me. Far from being a simple list of historical figures, it has revealed itself as a short, but exhaustive guide to the British history. Very well written and rich with beautiful images!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 3 Dec 2008
By 
Sylvia Reed (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
This is a book I keep going back to, both for information and for pleasure. It is very readable, whether starting at the beginning or just dipping into.
I especially like the timelines which put the monarchs into social and political context, and also the way their character and personality is brought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small pocket book, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
Its very small in page size. So like a small pocket book. But I should have noted the sizes shown. Compact good info on the Kings and Queens though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The right one?, 27 May 2011
By 
A. G. W. Dickinson (Weymouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
I looked at most of the books covering this subject and I think this is the best (not to say others aren't also well written). There is nothing important, as far as I can see, left out. It is concisely written with a sense of humour. There are some useful family trees at the back. There are also sections covering the main historical events of the time. The illustrations are first class. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Interesting Reference Book!, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
This little book is an amazing resource. It is handy when you want information about the Monarchy or British history. When I am reading historical fiction, I often use it to locate the current king/queen of the time. The copy is easy to read and the illustrations are colorful. There is an easy to access index. The infomation provided is just enough. The pages are printed on quality paper stock. I can't recommend this little book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what my Wife was looking for, 18 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
As the title suggests my Wife was very pleased to receive this for her Birthday, She has always been interested in history and is an avid reader of historical novels. This book provides her with factual information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kings and queens book, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
I have always been interest in History but could never get my head around what kings and queens reigned certainly in the early centuries. This book has given me an insight not only to monarchs but nto other parts of history that happened in their reigns a very good knowledgeable book that I keep picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a pocket a guide!, 27 April 2010
By 
Mr. I. E. Clowsley "oldgoldwolf" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
A colourful informative guide to Great Britain's wonderful history through the rein of it's Kings and Queens that almost fits in your pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 17 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
Fabulous purchase, very interesting read as the book goes back so far in history, was delivered on time and in excellent condition. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Book, 5 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide (Hardcover)
I wanted a book that showed all the Kings and Queens of England/Britain in succession with brief background notes as 'pointers' to period/circumstances to do more follow up reading on. Most people will know a handful of Monarchs such as the cover illustration of Henry VIII but as history is a "game of consequences" a handy quick reference to all, is pretty important to grasping the scope and richness of British history.

Physically a small hardback book, it is excellent for my purposes and a real 'steal' at the price, I didn't want a "coffee table tome" !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide
Kings & Queens: The Concise Guide by Cavendish Richard (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews