Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do You like Drawing ? I mean, Do You REALLY like drawing?
Then you will DIE for this!
I first found this book in my local library. Entranced by the beautiful cover picture, I opened, expecting it to be either on watercolour techniques, or pictures of stick drawings being built up by pipes. How wrong I was!
Finlay Cowan has put his heart straight into this book. Each meticulous detail of fantasy drawings- people,...
Published on 28 Nov 2004 by E. Saul

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book of examples rather than instructions/how-to
This is not a book for beginners to drawing; in fact, it's not even for those who are intermediate to drawing but rather to background info on fantasy figures. Upon opening the book you will find a guide on what you need for drawing, e.g. pencil, paper ... (duh!). Then you get to the background info on fantasy figures such as possible facial expressions (rage, frowning,...
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do You like Drawing ? I mean, Do You REALLY like drawing?, 28 Nov 2004
By 
E. Saul "SalieriTheFish" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Then you will DIE for this!
I first found this book in my local library. Entranced by the beautiful cover picture, I opened, expecting it to be either on watercolour techniques, or pictures of stick drawings being built up by pipes. How wrong I was!
Finlay Cowan has put his heart straight into this book. Each meticulous detail of fantasy drawings- people, equipment, events, etc- is individually categorized. It unearths depths never added to in other books- for instance, the way artists draw Dragon scales, layer by layer- and punctuates it with examples of his own work.
Every page is filled with a bestiary of fanciful imaginings, labelled to demonstrate the exact techniques- and, just to show you it CAN be done, there is a work of art from a famous fantasy artist, including the illustrator for the Lord of the Rings books.
Plus, for those people fed up with trying to get the computer to obey, the book doesn't stop on paper. The book demonstrates exactly how to succesfully use photoshop-and even how to create CGI illustrations!
If you're sick of step-by step stick drawings, this book will stick with you all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for students., 23 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
I bought this book not quite knowing what to expect, leafing through the book I found various rich and detailed pictures, which the author uses as examples 'you can create this, eventually too'. And indeed you possibly could if you used this book as the foundation from which to launch into the illustration industry.

It covers techniques using traditional media, and beyond using computer based media, in that it even gives direction (eventually) on using 3D computer art and also artwork with a tablet and stylus.

I feel this is a good starting point for anyone who is curious enough to want to find out about digital art as a medium but was too scared to try, what with not having enough of a basis to propel you into it.

The first few pages seem a tad out of place, and indeed almost put me off when I first read this book, but I pushed beyond them and found they were just a basic discussion and weren't really meant as anything other than a 'this is something you might look out for and even try eventually, as you learn from this book' kindof thing.

All in all, I consider this book to be a very good buy. And indeed its been the one I have been using to break into figure illustration with, more than any of the various Manga and animé type reference books I have bought previously, this one comes out tops for me, especially as it takes a separate path compared to the more trendy Manga style, and teaches that you should develop your own style more than anything.

All in all, a very good buy, especially if you know someone who's interested in learning illustration or painting their comic book/film heroes etc.. You cant go far wrong by buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book of examples rather than instructions/how-to, 3 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
This is not a book for beginners to drawing; in fact, it's not even for those who are intermediate to drawing but rather to background info on fantasy figures. Upon opening the book you will find a guide on what you need for drawing, e.g. pencil, paper ... (duh!). Then you get to the background info on fantasy figures such as possible facial expressions (rage, frowning, etc.). You get plenty of info on possible weapons, a little bit on perspective, but NO instructions on how to actually draw the things. What you can find is two to three steps and then the entire fantasy figure and you have to figure out for yourself how to actually get there. If you're a beginner or intermediate or simply a pro but new to drawing fantasy figures you will be left annoyed because it seems more like the author is showing off his skills without trying to teach you anything.
I've seen plenty of drawing tutorials but this one is by far the worst. In fact, it's not a tutorial but rather a thin book crammed with info on fantasy figures that you would know anyway such as, as said, them being able to frown or look angry.
If you want to learn to draw look elsewhere because this book has too few examples and no instructions whatsoever to actually teach you that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near enough perfect, deserves 4.5, 27 Dec 2006
By 
Ms. E. Kemp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
The actual drawing work and information in this book is fantastic. It is packed full of all sorts of things that might be relevant to an artist. There is a very good section on building backgrounds to pictures as well as the guides of more famous subjects like people, dragons and such (and a nice little section on horses too). There is a good guide to perspective incorporated in that section too.

It will cover your basic anatomy, it will cover character design, it will cover weapons, buildings, a good selection of various monsters, a little bit on battle scenes, and lots of other little goodies as well. Lots of illustrations and step-by-step guides are there as well.

The main problem I had with this is that, actually, the digital art section is very limited compared to my expectation, as well as compared to the amount of attention applied to other sections. There is a good little bit to begin with, but anyone who has exceeded the basic use of dodge and burn in photoshop will not benefit from that much at all. I strong advise against anyone buying it purely to learn digital techniques, when the methods shown in the book are very basic. The other topics in the book have been very useful to me however.

All in all however, I would recommend this to anyone looking to get a decent grounding in fantasy artwork. It would be useful to an anime artist, and maybe other genres too inspiration-wise as well. It may not be a digital art guide, but it is packed to the brim with useful information on loads of other things. It is great to learn how to build whole images rather than lone figures, and add great details to the work. It also has a very interesting, but entirely optional, set up of "Over to You" sections, which are great to get you practicing if you need a bit of a push or are running out of inspiration. I would say good for anyone up to medium/high intermediate, although total beginners to drawing may have a little trouble following it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 4 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
I bought this book after looking at many others on Amazon and i am extremely pleased with it. I could not draw to save my life but with this book i am now able to produce some fantastic character faces and heads and i improved considerably within only a few days. I do tend to analyse things very carefully and because throughout the book there are images done by professional artists it allowed me to see where facial features (or the body features) need shading. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn how to draw and paint, i would even recommend it to anyone who knows roughly how to draw and paint already, it will definitely make an extra contribution. Fantastic. Lovely Layout. Very clear instructions. Illustrated (which allows you to see the main important steps). Recommended! Shows a wide variety of techniques for the developing artist to try out, I am right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 1 Jun 2007
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
This is a nice book to complement the others on my bookself of a similar type. It has some nice walkthrough type sections and good ideas for different types of characters, aswell as some nice images.

Its worth a look if you're after a book to aid you like reference material which is kind of how i view these books, and has a nice way of making you put pencil to paper by way of short exersises.....nice little book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authors comment, 12 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
I loved writing and drawing this book and I put a lot into it but it was my first and it has been superseded in quality and content by my other books since - I recommend that readers go for my new books... 'Fantasy worlds' and the upcoming 'pocket reference series'.... they're just much better !

thanks
Finlay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantacy Figures Review, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Suzanne O'hara (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
This book is a great aid to drawing, it provides a clear, detailed, step by step diagram to each illistration. i enjoyed using the book because there are lots of different techniques to draw the same picture, it also gives good tips on utensils and colour pallettes.

For the more advanced drawer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hints and tips galore + Inspiration!, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Kevin Ward (Gainsborough, Lincs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
I found this book to be a great inspiration. It has so much in it, covering every type of Fantasy Figure. In doing so it has just 2-4 pages to cover each option. This is the only reason I did not give 5 stars. I suppose this keeps the book size and cost down. That aside, it is a real treat to get you going and enjoying you're own fantasy art. A wonderful collection of human figures, plus touching on fantasy worlds, weapons, costume, landscape, perspective and media usage plus 3D.
I often use for referance when I am drawing this type of work, and shall continue to use over and over I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy - the past - the present - the future, 14 April 2009
By 
Leslie Taylor (Sudbury,Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page (Paperback)
A review of any book, no matter what the subject is, is very personal and should only be used as a rough guide, by a reader or a purchaser.
Therefore my views on "Fantasy Figures" is based on my like and use of art, and the reference of books of this type, and this particular book, although limited to it's amount of pages, which is 128, is a very good source of information, both in it's content and it's layout. i would recommend this book for it's basic coverage of fantasy related subjects.
This book is a welcome addition to any growing library for people interested in fantasy art and drawing.
Regards...Les T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawing and Painting Fantasy Figures: From the Imagination to the Page
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews