Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than most beginers' books about crochet
The book contains a series of sample designs to create 6" crocheted squares. A square is large enough to practice different stitches, techniques, colour combinations, and designs patterns. They can then be mixed and matched and sewn together to form blankets.

This book is better than two beginners' crochet books that I bought. It could be marketed as a...
Published on 29 Jan 2008 by Pink Gilbert

versus
82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book but its 125 patterns, 200 examples.
It has some wonderful ideas for blocks, mostly done by making coloured shapes with in it. However, disapointingly, there are not 200 unique patterns.

The first 100 are unique, after 100, they come in waves of 4, so theres only 25 different squares. However, it does show how to combine them to make interesting patterns using the same squares.

Im...
Published on 30 Jun 2006 by Liz


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, 21 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
Wonderful book with so many great ideas. Good for beginners are they are all squares and reasonably straight forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mouthwatering selection, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
I have recently received this book, and am keen to begin using it. The selection of patterns is attractive, and there are useful suggestions of how different patters can be grouped to make a lovely afghan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is just fantastic!, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
Pooh pooh to those of you who said there were not exactly 200 patterns for individual squares in this book.. Who cares? It's beautiful, inventive, inspiring, colourful and easy. What more could you possibly want? I am a novice crocheter and find this book has given me the gee-up I need to get going. Already, with the author's clear instructions and advice on colours, I have run up several squares with a view to creating something wonderful - it doesn't matter what, yet! Thanks, I love this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book at good price, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
Bright and colourful , patterns very easy to understand and follow. Well set out, great for inspiration and reference .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Purchase, 19 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
This is a very good book for the novice and the more experienced at crochet. The thing I like most is that all the squares make up to the same size so if you wanted to mix and match the patterns to make larger items you know they can be stitched together easily. Fantastic if you fancied doing a sampler type bedspread as a big project. I think I am being swayed in that direction as there are so many squares I want to do!!!
A great book to add to the information stash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic crochet blocks, 28 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
I love this book. I have been teaching myself crochet and been going through the many different blocks to discover more ways to use different stitches. It is well laid out and easy to read with great illustrations, there are a few suggested projects and help with colour schemes. However once you get going you will find you will want to design your own from all those wonderful blocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 200 crochet blocks, 24 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
I bought this book as a cheaper alternative to collecting the part-works magazine that came out at the beginning of this year, and i'm glad i did i was a complete beginner at the start of the year but this book has helped me hugely, i am absolutely hooked now and every time i open the book i see another square i want to have a go at. I would recommend this book to anyone but be warned it will take over your life ( who cares about housework anyway?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source book, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. C. E. Pearson (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
I think it has already been said that different colour combo's don't really constitute additional block designs, so there aren't really 200 different styles, BUT there are so many interesting and different blocks- some traditional "grannie" and many very modern ones- that this book is a valuable resource.
All the patterns state whether they are crocheted in the round or in rows, which is helpful for beginners, but I would say you would need a little experience reading crochet instructions to get the most from this book. There is a very helpful back section with well illustrated basic instructions for stitches and techniques- I found this useful for getting colour changes perfect.

I love the book- it is rather lovely just to look at!- with interesting colour combos and ideas for designing blankets/afghans too, but as someone relatively new to crochet, I am loving the fact that to create the block, I am learning really interesting techniques that I will be able to use in my future crocheting projects.

A very worthwhile buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 200 Crochet Blocks - a must for any crocheter, 15 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
This is a beautifully illustrated book with full easy-to-follow instructions for crocheting over 200 squares that can be used in many different ways. It has full colour photos of each square, along with suggestions for varying colours to give differing effects. The book includes essential information about the yarns and materials needed for the crocheter to create their own squares. This is a book that any crocheter should include in their library - you'll never be short of inspiration again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 31 May 2010
This review is from: 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans: Crochet Squares to Mix-and-Match (Paperback)
I started to learn crochet along-side this book and love it even though there are not 200 unique blocks - for that you may find 300 Classic Blocks for Crochet Projects more interesting. There's a fantastic table of contents which I wish they would do more regularly in other crochet books. I've made quite a number of squares both for the South African charity Knit-a-Square (they happily accept crochet squares) and for cushion covers. I'm really looking forward to starting some of the patterns in 200 Ripple Stitch Patterns even though the book is not entirely based on crochet - pity.

However I would suggest new readers to be careful as there are a number of errata required for this book - Tricolor Square springs to mind. The publisher's should do the author and reading public a favour and reprint the book with the necessary corrections so that this enjoyable book isn't disregarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews