Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny
This was a fantastic book, i bought it on a whim, just wanting to perhaps slightly increase my skill in this form of art..it turned out to make it into something much better, it contains pictures, diagrams(musculature and hand shapes, and much more), and detailed explanations and walkthroughs on how to change basic fantasy art and normal art into great, hugely succesful...
Published on 15 Dec. 2005 by gingerninja92

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the price
The Instruction in this book was very unclear and confusing . I also feel the drawings looked a bit amateurish and sloppy for a professional artist. To me this book just isn't worth the price.
Published 5 months ago by Robocat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 15 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
This was a fantastic book, i bought it on a whim, just wanting to perhaps slightly increase my skill in this form of art..it turned out to make it into something much better, it contains pictures, diagrams(musculature and hand shapes, and much more), and detailed explanations and walkthroughs on how to change basic fantasy art and normal art into great, hugely succesful pieces of amazing and unthought of creatures and heros..if you were even thinking of getting this, get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kick ass, 21 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
this is one of the best books on drawing ive come accross useing its techniques my skills in drawing people has trippled and am more confident (and after only three days)it is usefull and should be bought as every page contains simple examples and ideas. this bookj teaches like no other giving good examples for the finer detales as well as the main body
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touches on everything, 1 April 2008
By 
Christopher Walker "Pro" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
Having always been a keen artist, with a good but not great level of skill when it comes to figure drawing, I was looking for a book that would help me improve. I certainly got that. This book has revolutionised the way I draw. When drawing I have a much better understanding of just HOW to go about creating accurate humann forms.

The book touches on many areas to do with basic anatomy, it has tutorials, really great advice, some wonderful examples by various artists, it even has a section with a pose library featuring real models.

That's why I love this book; it packs a lot into a single book. Obviously it's not for fine art students who study anatomy in perfect detail, but that's why it's for "fantasy artists".

The majority of the second half of the book is dedicated to developing the skills you'e learned throughout the book. It has a cast of characters ranging from Sven the Barbarian to Orin the Ogre. On these pages the reader will learn to develop certain traits and features exclusive to many fantasy archetypes. There's also detailed breakdowns of how they're drawn.

If you're looking for a book to make you rethink the way you draw fantasy figures, and inspire at the same time...This book is for you.

Glenn Fabry's art and techniques are truly awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality little book, 1 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
I've got a few other anatomy guide books and fantasy art books, and this is a nice addition to the collection. It gives a nice amount of detail in how the anatomy of a regular human and fantasy human differ and work. Coupled with some greatly detailed illustrations and sketches, this book is definatley worth a look to both aspireing artists and established ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid illustration assistance, 10 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
Glen Fabrey has excellent credentials as a fantasy artist and he doesnt let down here. The book is well illustrated and explained, starting out with some anatomical structure and principles, then moving into case studies of different characters, with a full colour illustration of each character, followed by several drawings of the character in different poses and annotated with explanations around the design of the character. For me, the anatomy isnt as detailed as I would like (Jeno Barcsay's "Anatomy for the Artist" has never been bettered) but anyone wanting an academic study of anatomy would'nt approach this book anyway, and what Fabrey does include is sound and more than sufficient for the budding fantasy artist. The anatomical forms are based on the humanoid, I would have liked some of other, monster creatures such as dragons, but there are probably other titles for that kind of thing. Overall a solid guide for illustrators in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, love it, love it!, 24 April 2009
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
for a while now I've been searching for a book like this. Its full of helpful tips and is truely insightful, teaching you everything about how to create a character physically right down to clothing.Buy this book is all I've got to say and see for yourself. If your interested in drawing fantasy this is the only book you'll ever need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the price, 24 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
The Instruction in this book was very unclear and confusing . I also feel the drawings looked a bit amateurish and sloppy for a professional artist. To me this book just isn't worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
Great Book, well done.
Personally I found the anatomical part just a little short,
but this book is rich of good examples and full of good advices.
Anyway I reccomend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book met all my expextations. I have used it a lot and love it. I just wish I could draw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great improvement!, 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Anatomy for Fantasy Artists: An Illustrator's Guide to Creating Action Figures and Fantastical Forms (Paperback)
I learned so much from this book that my skills have improved by a lot !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews