Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars21
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2008
A superb book. Not too heavy on the text - you can read a few of the "100 ways" in just a few minutes, put the book down, then pick it up later. Short, to the point explanations, each one supported by a well explained example. An excellent read.

Ted
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
When I first got the book and started to read the it I was surprised to discover most, if not all the images, were taken on a film camera. I quickly came to realise it made a contribution to the way the 100 steps were put together. The focus is on getting the picture right first time rather than taking a digital image, then spending hours in front of a computer manipulating it.

What I got from this book was go back to basic, put the effort into preparing for taking the image, have the patience to wait till the conditions are right and then press the shutter.

Its a good read, a good reference and as far as I am concerned, its money well spent.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
Some wonderful pictures. Stunning landscapes. The 100 tips are very informative. I like the way that camera settings are shown for each photo and I like the fact that these photos are taken in the U.K. It makes you feel as though you could go out and achieve the same results. Information sections could have been printed just a bit larger.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you're looking for a book on Landscape Photography then you're spoilt for choice. Simply typing those words into Amazon alone will give you more than two and a half thousand results to choose from. The problem is some of these books are nothing less than fantastic and others are just plain rubbish. Thankfully "100 Ways To Take Better Landscape Photographs" by Guy Edwardes falls into the noting less than fantastic portion.

This really is an excellent book, that's easy to understand, well laid out with just the right amount of text, but most importantly overflowing with spectacular photographs and advice to help your own photography. I'm not an amateur photographer (while at the same time I wouldn't call myself a professional) but I still found a lot of the advice and tips throughout this book of real practical use, especially the section of lighting effects.

This is the kind of book that you'll find yourself going back to time and time again. It is of real use, and one of the best buys I've made recently.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
Great book for those new to landscape photography. Full of useful and thorough advice about composition, equipment and general tips, many of which beginners may not be familiar with. The book illustrates its points with largely attractive photographs and this helps convey the message on some occasions. By all means buy this if you are a budding landscape photographer as you will surely not be disappointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
Guy Edwardes certainly knows how to take a decent photo.This book is packed with useful tips on taking striking Landscape images.Some are common sense, some you would never think of yourself. All points are illustrated with a wonderful image, so that you can see what he is talking about. It should help a novice or even more accomplished photographers.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2007
There are plenty of books on landscape photography. Before I bought this, I took at look at several of the web sites of the authors. It was only Guy Edwardes images that I found consistently inspiring which is why I opted for this book. It is equally inspiring and will be hard to beat. Highly recommended - for the images AND the text.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
A very good book with some stunning and inspirational photographs, text is short and to the point, also entertaining and easy to take in.

Each picture lists the aperture and shutter speed used, but as usual one piece of useful information is left out, in this case the ASA (senitivity).

The pictures are taken on film, the type of which is listed without its ASA, so the book is probably not wholly applicable to digital photographers.

However, despite my slight gripe I would recommend this book to everyone, ASA is not really an issue, the general rule seems to be leave it set to 100 unless you really need fast shutter speeds.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
Not a bad book on the whole. It does have plenty of good advice and I quite like the way it's handed out in 100 separate points, probably makes it a little more digestible that way. The only criticism I'd make is the book isn't gripping or inspiring, more functional.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
The book is a little dated looking, but not overly so. The binding and quality are excellent. The prints inside are reproduced wonderfully and the paper is thick and glossy.

The book doesn't have too much writing in it, as another reviewer said, you can pick it up and put it down when you have time and get through it pretty quickly as it's mostly pictures. It's not overly heavy on the text.

The pictures are great quality, and VERY well taken, although some of them are beginning to show their age in the digital era, as they are all film photos that haven't been through the advanced digital processing that 99% of landscape photos you see these days endure, and as such don't look like what we are used to seeing in magazines and books these days.

I'd say that 90% of the text in here refers to film cameras, but it's not completely irrelevant to the digital age as you can still learn from his compositioning, filter usage (except the insistence on the use of UV filters to protect from the sun, as they are irrelevant in digital SLR's except to protect the front lens element), location tips, tripod techniques, weather techniques, timing, and basic hints and tips etc.

I do find it a little frustrating that it claims its for both film and digital users on the back, but almost all of the book is focussed around film. It's not helpful to us DSLR users as often we don't need to compensate on this that or the other to help the film develop in X or Y conditions, we don't have the same problems and as such a book that covers both would need a lot more text to cover both grounds for some subjects.

This book could do with a heavy update for the digital age, as it just doesn't cover it as a film and digital book. Either that, or the author should rewrite it as two separate books, one for film and one for digital. Lots of people still use film, and I'm not saying it's irrelevant at all, it's still a fantastic way to capture pictures, what I'm saying is that the two are quite far apart and this book hasn't managed to cover both grounds, the author is very much biased towards film. Having said that, if you're a film user, this book is ideal for you and will contain some lovely photo recipes, film recommendations and techniques to capture difficult scenarios without wasting your film.

As a digital user, I recommend Scott Kelby and his Digital Photography books as a better alternative. They are more up to date for digital users and offer some fantastic tips, and a few photo 'recipes' at the end. Even as an intermediate to advanced DSLR user I still found a few bits in Kelby's series to be helpful.

One great thing about this book is that he tells you the location of the beautiful shots he has taken, and the settings he used to take them so you can try to recreate them for yourself. That's a nice touch that you don't often get in photography books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)