Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars celebrate with a cake
Lindy is fab! Her books start with the real basics and take you through the whole process without missing anything including what to do if things go wrong! Her directions can be followed to the letter, or there are lots of ideas to make things easier or harder! Absolutely fabulous, if you only buy one book about decorating cakes buy one of hers!
Published on 19 April 2005 by c m vincent

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Cakes
Nothing very special in the suggested cake ideas. A very basic guide compared to the descroption offered by the publishers.
Published 13 months ago by AlfieC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars celebrate with a cake, 19 April 2005
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
Lindy is fab! Her books start with the real basics and take you through the whole process without missing anything including what to do if things go wrong! Her directions can be followed to the letter, or there are lots of ideas to make things easier or harder! Absolutely fabulous, if you only buy one book about decorating cakes buy one of hers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!!, 4 April 2007
By 
Irene Gabellone "Eneri" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
Lindy with this book has given the best of her so far (looking forward to her next book about wonky cakes and beading work. She teaches you advanced techniques like dowelling and using cake separators. She experiments with beading and feathers decoration, dares with color and shape combinations. A lot of painting is also required on some designs which for some is an effort but belive me it is well worth it! The only downside (common in all of her books) is the use of special (therefore expensive) tools, but then again the end result is unique so as with any craftswork, the tools are essential...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really Beautiful book, 13 Oct 2009
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
I own two of lindys books and they are lovely but they are a little advanced. I managed to create what I wanted with the help and guidance of these books so good for reference, but if you wanted to create one of the cakes in the book you would need to spend quite alot of money on all of the equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Celebration Cakes, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
Nothing very special in the suggested cake ideas. A very basic guide compared to the descroption offered by the publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book...but not her best, 18 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
Like Lindy's other books this book provides step by step instructions on how to make her insprational cakes. Whilst it is not quite as eye pleasing (the pages are of a thinner quality, and not as bright and eye catching), you do learn some new skills such as sugarpaste marbelling.

I am glad that I purchased Lindy's Cakes to Inspire and Desire: Over 35 Unique Designs, from Mini-Cakes and Simple Shapes to Beaded Delights and Fabulous Flowers book first, as it made me love Lindy's style in a way that I don't think this book would have done if I had bought it initally.

That said, her designs are fabulous and inspirational as always, and will remain a well used cake book in my household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 1 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
This book is great!

There a 15 designs in total, a couple of christening cakes, a simple wedding cake (not an extravagant cake) a valentines cake, a couple of children cakes. Lindy gives you advise on dressing each cake up or down and cupcakes for each design.

It gives you a list of equipment needed for each design and a list of the ingredients.

For me personally, the best informative bit for me was the guide on how to make bigger and smaller cakes for a recipe.

The only down side is that the cakes don't have a filling i.e butter cream and jam, so it misses out on giving you advice on how not to make the filling ooze out, but overall a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Celebrate With A Cake, 18 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
I found this book a little disappointing compared to Lindy Smiths other books, I was expecting more exciting cakes. There are only 15 cakes in the book and they cover lots of different themes. I do think the cakes would be easy for a novice decorator to create though so if you are new to decorating this may be a good book to have on your book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
My most referred to book. Fool proof and amazing recipes. Easy guide for making bride and groom too which was my reason for purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
An absolute must for wedding cake makers and decorators! I loved this book and continue to refer to it time and again! Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars xmas present, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes (Paperback)
bought as a gift so can't really comment . The recipient seemed highly delighted though and assures me she will use it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa52d4f60)

This product

Celebrate with a Cake: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating 15 Memorable Cakes
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews