Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed my own colours am so excited
A complete beginner but passionate artist, I wanted to take my painting to the next level and mix my own colours. All attempts failed and the more ambitious I became the worse the colour appeared. Until this wonderful book arrived. So easy to follow on my first attempt I managed to mix 9 different shades of purple! Delighted with my progress all thanks to an easy...
Published on 7 Oct 2011 by T

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the hype
"All you'll ever need to know about colour mixing" is a gross overstatement.
The colour values aren't good enough to show the minute variations in colour and tint and shade when pigments are mixed.
There's far more to colour combinations and perception of colour than is mentioned in the text.
There is no reference to the subtle greys to be obtained...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. P. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed my own colours am so excited, 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
A complete beginner but passionate artist, I wanted to take my painting to the next level and mix my own colours. All attempts failed and the more ambitious I became the worse the colour appeared. Until this wonderful book arrived. So easy to follow on my first attempt I managed to mix 9 different shades of purple! Delighted with my progress all thanks to an easy explanation of how to. Includes instructions for mixing various media including watercolour and acyllic. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour mixing bible is very accurate, 5 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Butler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
I was recommended to buy this book by a colleague that was teaching me about painting with acrylics and I am really glad that I bought it. It is so clear and takes a lot of guessing out of how to mix to get the shade you need. I would recommend it to anyone who starts out in art and to anyone that has been doing it for years too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COLOUR MIXING BIBLE, 5 Feb 2009
By 
P. Varley (CLEVELAND, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
THIS BOOK IS REALLY WHAT IT SAYS ON THE COVER. "ALL YOU'LL EVER NEED TO KNOW ABOUT MIXING OIL, ACRYLIC, WATERCOLOUR, GOUACHE, PASTEL, PENCIL AND INK. I HAVE FOUND IT INCREDIBLY USEFUL IN LEARNING ABOUT COLOUR THEORY, THE SCIENCE OF COLOUR AND COLOUR MIXING. AT THE BOTTOM OF EACH PAGE THERE ARE WATCHPOINTS MAKING YOU AWARE OF WHAT RESULTS FROM THE ADDITION OF VARYING AMOUNTS OF DIFFERENT COLOURS. ALL IN ALL A BRILIANT REFERENCE BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watercolour Beginner, 10 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
I was recommended the Colour Mixing Bible by a friend and I am really impressed with it. There is so much information in all mediums and more than I was expecting. I'm not very good with expressing myself with words, but this is definitely worth five stars!!!! thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding colour mixing., 4 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. It is very well written and clearly explains the art of mixing colours and is a must for any budding artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for any artist!, 28 Oct 2007
By 
P. J. De Mare - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has been a great help throughout my practise as an artist not just in painting.
This book truly is a 'bible' and is a must have for an artist at any level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colour Mixing Bible, 21 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
As an improving watercolour painter I needed some help with colour mixes and I found that help in this book. Arranged to give colour mixes for oils, acrylics, pastel and pencil I found that mixes for other media were of help to me. I would certainly recommend it to others in my position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour Mixing Bible, 16 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
For a beginner to painting such as myself one of the most difficult things to master is the mixing of colour. This book is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Colour Mixing Bible, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife to help her with her watercolour colour matching. Although it isn't quite as easy to use as another book she has, it does contain very useful information on colour mixing in other media such as acrylics, pencils and gouache. A very handy book to have around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good reference book, 21 Jan 2011
By 
kekhei (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Colour Mixing Bible (Paperback)
its a comprehensive book in showing you colour mixing techniques. Very useful when you are not an expert in painting and giving you different ideas of creating an array of slightly different colours of the same colour. I find its important to know the techniques because using only one colour from the tube can be boring. Mixing of colour gives you fluidity, continuity and spontaneity. It is worth buying such books. This book covers oil, watercolour, acrylic etc. essentially my focus is on oil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colour Mixing Bible
Colour Mixing Bible by Ian Sidaway (Paperback - 27 Feb 2004)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews