Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Five Star Resource
This is an outstanding resource for anybody who is looking to use their photographic talents to make money. This book goes into great depth about what publishers would be looking for, presentation tips as well as some contact details. Thankfully this book specialises upon the UK side of the market, as opposed to providing a list of otherwise useless USA addresses...
Published on 31 July 2004 by D. M. York

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of Date
Whilst the content of this book relating to the title is still valid the areas of the book which are probably of most interest readers - internet based stock image libraries - is horribly out of date in this book; in fact they barely get a mention. The same problem applies to the coverage of digital photography in general. This book is in dire need of an update...
Published on 15 Mar 2008 by M. Songhurst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Five Star Resource, 31 July 2004
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photos That Sell: The Art of Successful Freelance Photography (Paperback)
This is an outstanding resource for anybody who is looking to use their photographic talents to make money. This book goes into great depth about what publishers would be looking for, presentation tips as well as some contact details. Thankfully this book specialises upon the UK side of the market, as opposed to providing a list of otherwise useless USA addresses.
There are in-depth tips about how different mediums can be explored as well as technical information with regards to what kind of film, filters and even lenses would be most appropriate for certain situations. It is a blessing that this book does not specialise upon Digital or 35mm photography, but rather focuses upon detailing upon how the image can be manipulated by the camera and not a computer. Additionally there are several comments upon certain legalities in photography, such as the use of models and especially children, both of which I was personally not fully aware of.
Overall this book is a stunning read for somebody who is looking to get into freelance photography, and in every respect there is no aspect that this book neglects to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of Date, 15 Mar 2008
By 
M. Songhurst (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photos That Sell: The Art of Successful Freelance Photography (Paperback)
Whilst the content of this book relating to the title is still valid the areas of the book which are probably of most interest readers - internet based stock image libraries - is horribly out of date in this book; in fact they barely get a mention. The same problem applies to the coverage of digital photography in general. This book is in dire need of an update!

There are many more up to date books on Amazon covering this subject in fresher, applicable detail. Some are even released on an annual basis. Until this book is updated, you'll see a much better return on your money from looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earning moneys from photography can't be bad!, 1 Sep 2001
By A Customer
If you've been thinking to yourself that you should be making some money from this hobby of yours, and that film costs too much, then this is the book for you.
Written by Lee Frost who has considerable commercial experience, the book takes you through the various markets available to photographers. If you were to combine this book with a copy of the BFP Freelance Photographers Market Handbook you could very quickly find a home for your images.
The first part of the book concentrates on these markets, and mainly on the picture library market, bound to be attractive to newcomers. It includes how to make an approach, what terms you should be looking for etc. Also included is a section on Digital and creating your own web site. It stops short of telling you actually how to construct your site...
The next section discusses the various subjects (such as portraiture, landscapes, stock imagery etc.) that sell to the market. It includes numerous examples from Lees own archive, and shows you how many times they have sold and how much they have earned. This gives you a good indication of what a good picture can do for you.
These examples of Lee's best sellers can prove quite eye opening. Photographs that he did not expect to find a market for, or took with no particular market in mind have done surprisingly well.
This book will certainly inspire you to take different pictures than your typical holiday snaps, and should help you find some return on investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photography - It'll never catch on, 28 Dec 2006
By 
Graham Mccarthy "gmccarthy15" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are two parts to this book, one (the largest) is very useful and details the subjects that sell and is complemented with examples, expert advice and technique tips, the other part deals with how to sell your 35mm slides (huh?). OK so there's a chapter dealing with digital photography, but this was written in 2001 and has not been updated since; so there are references to 1GB disk drives and 2.7 Mega-pixel cameras. It also states that it is probably not worth investing in a digital camera yet, of course it then gives no specific advice on how to sell digital images, which is what I was looking for.

This book would require substantial updating before I could recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt put it down once I had opened the cover, 31 May 2005
By 
J. Piper (Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photos That Sell: The Art of Successful Freelance Photography (Paperback)
A simply stunning book. Very well laid out, stacks of colour photos and loads of inspiration as to how you can get started with selling your photos. Geared towards the UK as well in particular. Talks about the sort of images stock libraries need.
I read the whole thing from cover to cover and then started reading again as it there is so much to learn from the book.
Really easy to read as well as he talks in a clear manner.
Cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you want to start making money from photos, 30 July 2001
By A Customer
Lee Frost gives a good overall picture of what kind of markets exist if you want to start to make some money from pictures. He covers all types of photography and gives lots of examples of what works and what doesn't. He also gives a list of agencies etc in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This book should be considered essential reading for anyone considering making money from their photography! Even if you're only looking at making your hobby pay for itself, BUY THIS BOOK!
For me, one of the most interesting points that this book makes is that you don't always need the most fantastic, medium format photographic equipment to produce saleable images -- you simply need to select the market appropriate to the equipment that you have, and adapt your style to suit. With this in mind, any photographer with a business mind should be able to generate an income to some degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must, 25 Jan 2004
By 
I have been studying photography for 4 years now and have had good reviews of my work through uni exhibitions ect and somebody asked if I had sold any of my work, and suggested I look into possible markets.
I liked the sound of this but didn't know where to start this is when I stumbled across the Lee Frost book which appeared in my Amazon recommendations list. After reading the synopsis I decided to buy the book as I have some books by Lee frost and have found them very clear, concise and overall helpful.
This book is no exception with information about where to start looking and who to send submissions to depending on your work. He also gives a guide price (although this is in US $)for images and what to expect.
Further sections in the book deal with subjects that sell these sections cover a wide range of topics, showing previously successful prints, with information about why they sold and the exposure details, as well as suggesting new innovative ideas for you to try.
The book contains a list of useful contacts situated around the world.
Overall I would suggest this book as a starting point for anyone wishing to start making money from their photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Years out of date., 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Photos That Sell: The Art of Successful Freelance Photography (Paperback)
This book is at least 10 years out of date and still refers to digital SLRs as new technology. The author states that he knows of hardly any pro photographer who uses a DSLR in favor of 35mm film! I complained to the publisher and here is part of their reply:

"I am very sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Lee Frost's
2001 book Photos That Sell. There is of course no arguing with the fact that camera technology and the picture industry have moved on hugely since its first publication. Lee has been updating a number of his popular books in recent years and we are planning to update this title for publication in
2011 or 2012.

As the publisher, the last thing we want is for customers to be disappointed with our books but, having invested substantially in the original publication, we are naturally reluctant to remove from sale any title which is still selling. If demand remains significant enough to warrant a reprint, we will generally keep a book in print until it is uneconomical to do so.

A reprint of an older book like this is not re-promoted through the book shops and sells mainly through amazon where the date of publication is clearly signalled. The entry also often carries independent reviews and in the case of this book, I notice, there are several recent reviews pointing out that it has become somewhat dated.

Of course amazon has made it possible for books to remain available almost indefinitely and many much older photography books by authors like John Hedgecoe are still offered and stocked by amazon (one, I notice today, showing a publication date of 1992!). Even when publishers withdraw them they remain listed and available from amazon marketplace vendors.

All books of this type date, some almost before they are published, but the subject matter of Photos That Sell - the photography market - is unusual in that it has changed not only quickly but radically in recent years, so I can understand your frustration. I would hope however that you would still find some useful advice in Part 2 relating to style and subject matter and the experiences of some successful freelancers, albeit in a somewhat different marketplace."

This is a disgraceful state of affairs with both Amazon and the publisher as guilty as each other of selling dated books to customers.

Avoid this books at all costs unless you view it as a historical document marking tyhe contrast between 35mm film and DSLR.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 17 Sep 2006
By 
M. Gurney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photos That Sell: The Art of Successful Freelance Photography (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone considering taking photography to another level and possibly making money out of their hobby. Useful hints and tips about what kind of images sell - makes you think of photos in a completely different light. I read the book in one sitting and have revisited several times since. Trust me - you will soon be setting up backdrops and photographing the contents of your kitchen larder or garden...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photos That Sell: The Art of Successful Freelance Photography
12.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews