Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative and very easy to follow instructions., 28 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
looking for a hobby to persue for a person mature in years (58), I first stumbled across this book in my local W. H. Smiths. After reading the contents four times I then set about putting the information into practice. I was amazed at the ease in which I was able to follow Anne Youngs instructions. consequently I have never looked back on my hobby and now three years later I am able to produce items for sale quite efficiently. If I was to have a criticism of this book it would be on two accounts. 1)Insufficient Photos and dialogue on preparation. 2) Why no follow up via a video as a practical demonstration. Otherwise a first class book and to be highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOOKING AT THE PAST AND THE FUTURE, 15 Aug. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. V. White ""mamj"" (Daventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An extensive look into the age old art of narrow boat decorating. A wonderful manual for anyone artistic or otherwise wishing to delve further into this subject. The artist, namely Anne Young, clearly demonstrates the process of painting Roses and Castles. This was the traditional way that the workers along the canals of the UK used to make their homes unique. The author clearly enjoys sharing her passion for painting with others and I would urge anyone to HAVE A GO! This is not only a craft of the past but also for the future. There are still a huge number of narrow boats still in action and who knows, you might just be the person to use this book to decorate one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Susan Higginson ""inkeysue"" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
Paint roses & castles gives you all the information you need for painting. It explains everything on how to do the pictures from start to finish. Recommend to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roses and castles, 26 Dec. 2011
By 
B. Wilson "bryan brew" (kingston england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
This is a great book, it teaches you all you need to start painting. After 3 weeks of practice i sold my first item, a mug with roses and a boat name.

Iam a landsape artist by profession and this has added a new dimension to my art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paint Roses & Castles, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
Great illustrations, interesting background information and easy to follow guidelines for painting in the old Narrow Boat tradition. A lovely book even for those not attempting to paint anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars boat, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
my artist freind has started painting a narrow boat and looked every where for roses and castle designs this book has everything she needed to get the authentic designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
What a book full of bounty, clear instructions, lots of projects and examples. Will be reading this as a reference book for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canal boat painting, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
A well-received gift for a canal boat fanatic. Apparently a useful and colourful guide - haven't read it myself. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canal knowledge. :-), 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
I saw this book again after a fleeting glimpse long ago and forgetting the title. This is a comprehensive work in easy to follow stages from which the reader can design their personal projects. A must for all folk art fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paint Roses and Castles, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats (Paperback)
I chose this book because it was amply illustrated with relevant photographs and although I do not have it in mind to go painting narrow boats as such I do hope to learn a lot about painting in that style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paint Roses and Castles: Traditional Narrow Boat Painting for Homes and Boats
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews