Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a reference book
I now own 3 books by Lee Frost which surprises me because I was not a big fan of the first one I received as a present (Photos that sell). This one however is much better in my oppinion because it concentrates more on how to take good pictures rather than what you should use.

First, forget the idea that this is a handbook as it's almost A4 in size. The first...
Published on 10 July 2007 by Cp80

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unremarkable book
The many positive reviews do not reflect how I have found the book.

If you are an amateur like me who wants to seriously learn how to take better photographs this is not a worthwhile book.

It addresses the various styles of photography (landscapes, wildlife, interiors, people) and makes you aware of numerous fundementals that exist in photography,...
Published on 11 May 2008 by Colin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great present, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. T. Paterson (Largs,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
Fabulously written and well appreciated. It was a well described book giving great ideas and ways of taking photos differently, giving new learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at the film rather than digital photographer, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Bob (Onchan, Isle of Man United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
Whilst I blame myself for not choosing more carefully, I have only given this book one star because I feel that it is out of date in that it makes no mention of digital photography or processing.

There are over 200 photographs, all of which were taken on film and mostly on large format cameras. Nearly all involve long exposure and small aperture, using a tripod, cable release, and filters. There is advice on film selection, print-toning, hand-coloring prints, creating lith prints etc. in a 'wet' (as opposed to digital) darkroom. The author does take himself and his subject very seriously.

Of course many of the ideas and examples can be used to advantage by the digital photographer. Nonetheless the book is aimed at the serious film photographer who is willing to spend time in researching locations and then set off before dawn with tripod, selection of lenses, filters etc to get that perfect light. If that is you then the book may well suit you.

For people like me who simply want to take more interesting photographs with their digital camera, but without devoting the rest of our lives to the hobby, then there are probably better choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book on creative photography, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
This book explains lots of the technicalities surrounding the composition of picture taking with digital slr's in a way that's easier to understand than a lot of other books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
I purchased the book as a gift for a free d it arrived very quickly and was exactly what I had hoped for. My friend loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice!!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
I bought for my boyfriend and he really loves it. Very nice pictures and details in it!! we like it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very detailed book covering all the points i was specifically looking for. i'm a keen amateur photographer and this hellped me gain alot of knowledge i was lacking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative Photography, 30 Mar 2013
By 
P. Wightman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
Now here is a great book for ideas, Good reading and easy advice, if you are new to photography try this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guidance, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Isabel Moritz "Bidclinic" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
For the enthusiastic amateur this book provides easy to understand directions and background knowledge that will definitely increase your chances of taking more complex and subtle photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
A very useful book for stimulating the creative side of ones photography. Great range of images with technical data included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 7 Oct 2012
By 
S. Holter (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas (Paperback)
A great book that covers lots of different aspects of photography even for a novice like me. A good all rounder. X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Creative Photography Handbook: A Sourcebook of Over 70 Techniques and Ideas
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews