Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-Rounded and thorough resource.
This is an excellent book for anyone considering breaking into Low-Light Photography. It comes stacked with a range of chapters dealing specific subject types and a wealth of indispensable information. It arms any photographer to attempt the most adventurous shots. The frank and matter of fact writing style is also very refreshing in a world of maybes, which is always...
Published on 16 May 2003 by MARK A WALTON

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No more up-to-date
This book was once probably a superb guide. The problem is that it was not updated with the arrival of digital photography. Many pages dwell at great length on all kind of films and their characteristics and suitability for night photography, which is of no use (or even more a nuisance) for the vast majority that has a digital camera. The typography adds to the impression...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by J. C. Beentjes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Major Improvement Required, 27 Jun 2008
By 
T. Piper (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I read the previous reviews on this book and thought it would be a good buy, but I am not that impressed at all with its contents.

For one, this book is written with a film user in mind and not really geared towards the majority of digital users. Though the techniques can be applied to digital users I found most of the content slightly out-dated. This book was last updated in 2007, or at least re-published and I feel the author could have made some in roads to the techniques useful for digital users.

This book is destined for the charity shop or even ebay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for anyone wanting to take low light photo, 13 Feb 2004
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This is an essential book to own, i've learned more from this book than probably any other! The photos are great and the explainations easy to follow. It's opened my eyes up so much that i now feel compelled to go and buy a flash and tripod and get out more in the evening and early morning!! The book is well organised, and my only complaint if any is that the author sometimes repeats himself. Otherwise excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 10 Years Old and Showing Its Age, 19 May 2009
By 
Robert Groom (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This book has some good basic coverage on the *theory* of shutter speed & aperture, but it's focused 100% on film shooters. There is a passing mention of digital cameras in a para at the front, but that's about all. The text was originally written in 1999, and there's no evidence that it has been revised since. The rest is all about selecting and shooting film. There are a few vaguely decent shots in here, but to be honest you'll find far better inspiration by browsing through Flickr. I would not recommend this book to anyone shooting digital, as there's is just far too little relevant information. I have to rate it low because the product description in Amazon only hints that it's targeted at film shooters. It should be made more clear. This is the least useful of all my photographic books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfied, 8 Aug 2002
By 
Direct (Billingham, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
Of all the books I have purchased this one has had the most effect on my results, which were effectively instantaneous, and is the one book I wouldn't part with. With the basic equipment and this book you will be amazed how stunning your photographs can be. Low light photography is now my favourite subject. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 11 Jan 2008
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This book is one of the best photographic books I have read. Packed from cover to cover on just about every aspect of low light and flash photography. The theory of and how to achieve fantastic effects, it gave me loads of ideas and inspiration on possibilities I have never imagined. There is one downside to the book and that is it is based on film, but that is due to the age of the book when digital photography was very much in its infancy. However, don't let that put you off because the theory and techniques are just as valid for digital. If Lee reads this then an update to current technology would make this book perfect and I would buy a new one - my current copy is falling to pieces due to heavy use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 22 April 2006
By 
Pedro Velez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This is a useful book essentially for amateurs. For those who already have some knowledge of photography, doesn't reveal much. Really good pictures and some good advice but not much more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Helpful read, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This book is dedicated to film users of which I am one. I still use colour transparency film because I believe that it is superior to digital in the quality of reproduction..

To achieve the best results from film the execution of the shot is of vital importance and its' use in low light requires great care and attention to aperure and shutter speed settings.

The author has written a concise and helpful guide and also provides an invaluable description of the correct use of filters.

All in all it is worth every penny and whilst aimed at film users, digital users will find a wealth of good tips too.

An excellent book for those of us wanting a little more from our pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for digital shooters - lack of technical details, 28 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I just read this book, if you are a complete beginner it might worth reading but not for advanced. However, if you shoot on digital (beginner or not) you should try a book for digital low light photography. This book is all about film and photographing on a film camera and is lacking of technical details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has it all, especially for Night and Low Light., 4 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I only ever really started my passion for photography after reading this book. With a very comprehensive and diverse collection of colour photos each with a detailed description on how he took them, taking them yourself becomes easy. I took this book around Europe with me and found that I was seeing the same things that Lee was able to capture on film so perfectly. The decriptions allowed me to understand how to take the same shots. It helped with the visualising, composing and all the requirments to ensure you take the picture that you want. The use of all his own photos (apart from about 3) showed that he knew what he was talking about and ensured he was telling you exactly what you need to know. The book covers creativity in photography, techniques, film, cameras, exposure, lighting, sport, everything. I had friends who read this whilst going around Europe and they equally recommend it as much as I do. Don't hesitate go out and get it now. After reading this book I talk like a seasoned pro Photographer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Oct 2009
By 
Filipe Nunes "Infante" (Madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
Amazing book. Everything well explained. Best photography book I ever bought (and I have a few).
Very clear explanations. It really explains the techniques. All the pictures are illustrative of the proceses and no simpli there for aesthethic purposes.
The book focus a lot on film cameras instead of digital, but the thecniques are the same and is really blilliantli writen.
If you're interested in night and low light photography, this is the best book you can buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide
Night and Low-light Photography: The Complete Guide by Lee Frost (Paperback - 29 Jun 2001)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews