Customer Reviews


16 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very recommendable introduction to Howard`s work., 29 July 2011
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
I`ve admired the work of Ken Howard for a very long time, particularly his studio interiors and figure paintings.
His work most reminds me of Sickert - an influence he acknowledges - in the controlled use of tone and often beautifully applied brushwork; just looking at these paintings is inspiring!
There is a great deal of useful advice here concerning drawing, watercolour and oils; I don`t work the same way he does, but it's interesting to me even so. More to the point, the book is highly recommendable to any serious student who wishes to learn their craft - this is no "how to" book with step-by-step instructions. This is a very skilled professional artist sharing his experience and working practice.
A useful investment for anyone with a desire to paint well and with its abundance of illustrations, a good book to look through no matter how much you think you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master, 17 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
Ken Howard taught me to draw at Harrow Art school in the very early 70's. I may be biased because I have a very fond memory of him as an excellent teacher and human being. This book is jut a delight, his work is a delight and if you are an artist or even if you just adore superb painting. Buy it it is just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence in every regard, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Patrick Brandon "PatriciaNJazz" (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a treasure - the artist himself is brilliant but he can also write about his techniques in a way that is not only easy to understand but also inspires a would-be artist to have a go! I am sure that continued reading of the book will stir me to more and better work in my attemps to paint well. The book is printed on quality paper, and the colours are vibrant and true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and useful, 4 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
Well written, it provides a lot of helpful insights and explanation. Most importantly, it has plenty of illustrations, drawings, watercolours, oils, mainly landscapes and interiors with figures. It makes the point of stressing the light-and-shade aspect in painting. However it requires a certain amount of previous knowledge and training to wholly profit from all the remarks and tips given.Inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Master of Light, 13 July 2012
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
The apparent simplicity with which Ken Howard captures the feel of light in both landscapes and internal scenes is masterly. No wonder he became an RA. Beats the modern conceptual artists hands down.

His work ethic also comes through and inspires other artist to work hard to become successful. A book you can always come back to and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light in paint, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
An excellent book for painters who like to see how good artists use light as a foundation in their work. His detail is interesting in that it is less then I expected on close analysis. He has an easy style to read and this is something I will dip into again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another of my favourite artists!, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
If you want to know how to paint backlit subjects, Ken Howard is your man! An absolute master with oils and watercolour..... and I envy him deeply in his skill..... and his fantastic studios! A lovely, informative and satisfying book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by Light, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
The guidance and information in the text is excellent as are the range of illustrations in the book. However the quality of the reproductions could be better. Hence only 4 stars. It is however, good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ken Howard, 16 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
It is as the title suggests ,an inspiration for those interested in the joy of light through the medium of paint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) (Paperback)
Great book, bought as a present for husband who paints, he loves it too!

Efficient service no complaints whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.)
Inspired by Light: A Personal View (Atelier S.) by Sally Bulgin (Paperback - 27 Sept. 2001)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews